www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-05-18, 17:59   #9971
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,558
Default

The Avalon level is getting out of hand...

I can't move the map around the 2D space anymore.
Not all space is used ofcourse, but still...
I should have planned the layout of the island before I started building.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-18, 18:00   #9972
TheLostSecret
Historian
 
TheLostSecret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Tehran , Iran
Posts: 396
Talking

Let me tell you a truth about myself ...

I NEVER PLAN ANYTHING BEFORE STARTING TO BUILD !
__________________
Egypt has many secrets and mysteries yet to be discovered ...
TheLostSecret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-18, 19:26   #9973
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,558
Default

Some things I do plan, but in most cases I just go with the flow.
As in this case... wanted to have a couple of areas for which I had written down ideas, but the rest just happens while building. In this case too much happened...
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-18, 19:52   #9974
TheLostSecret
Historian
 
TheLostSecret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Tehran , Iran
Posts: 396
Talking

That's something obvious ...

Anyway , can I help you ?
__________________
Egypt has many secrets and mysteries yet to be discovered ...
TheLostSecret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-18, 21:28   #9975
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,558
Default

No, I'll just have to figure out where to split the level.
That's all.
There are places where it can be done. I knew I'd have to split at some point, so I already created places for it.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-18, 21:35   #9976
bagas
Archaeologist
 
bagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wherever home is
Posts: 1,542
Default

#Hyped

How did you manage to build such large open areas in TRLE? I assume that it was open areas since it eats up too much space. It's hard and too much of a hassle for me, especially trying to make everything look super good and realistic. I hate it when I have to build inaccessible areas just as to make it look appealing and not cut off abruptly. Inaccessible mountain range, I'm looking at you.
__________________
So you say, all you wanna be is remembered. I'll make you go down in history.
bagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-18, 22:22   #9977
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,558
Default

Open areas, yes, but not all one large space though, unlike the coastal level I've made.
That one is pretty much all open. I ran into the boxlimit in that one...

There is still room for more rooms, but...
You start the level in the upper right corner (a beach with extra rooms to the right to get a bit of an open sea look, upper right corner has not been added yet). Left through some corridors to a courtyard area. Houses embedded in the rocks around, so that one is kinda large when it comes to the 2D map.
The large square at the bottom is a bit of a hub area: you have to go in three directions to activate something so you can proceed in the hub.
One of those directions should be to the left, and preferably further down.
But no more room there!
Right of the large square at the bottom is a hill, so there's only a few caves there. The lower right corner is a no-go zone ofcourse. The room in that corner is for applying animating textures and rollingball slopes for the rollingball trick if needed.
The red square is the room where the cutscene first starts, before reaching the island. I may need to turn that into a seperate "level".



Since I do not know yet where I want the second part of the cutscene (when actually arriving on the island) to take place, so not sure if I want to split in the corridors from the beach to the houses or from the houses to the hub area.
Both are possible.
So even though things got a bit out of hand with creating the landscape for this, at least I managed to think of places to split.


I do indeed make quite a few inaccessible areas to make the place look good and not cut off.
All those large squares are mainly stacked rooms to make the rocks look nicely rounded.
These make the rooms/areas where Lara can run through look bigger than they actually are. And they take up a lot of the space...
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-18, 22:31   #9978
bagas
Archaeologist
 
bagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wherever home is
Posts: 1,542
Default

Oh my god, that is gigantic!
I can already hear the TR4 engine sobbing in a dark corner of a room, fearing for dear life
And then you're still going to meta2tr-ify everything. To say that you're pushing the engine to its limit is an understatement. You're pushing it way above its limit. I can also think many other talented builders that are pushing it way past the limit. Teme9, Maax, Maati, Psiko, are some of the names that pop up in my head I can only imagine the things that you guys could've achieved if you guys try to build TRLE levels using more modern engines! But yeah, maybe some of you are actually liking the retro feel of TRLE better than the modern kinds of stuff...
__________________
So you say, all you wanna be is remembered. I'll make you go down in history.
bagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-18, 04:45   #9979
Wolf 7
Student
 
Wolf 7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wolves' Heaven
Posts: 103
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
Woooow! That's gigantic!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
The Avalon level is getting out of hand...

I can't move the map around the 2D space anymore.
Not all space is used ofcourse, but still...
I should have planned the layout of the island before I started building.
You could split in more sections as you did in Croft manor! (For example: Avalon - Beach; Avalon - Underground ...)
__________________
<3 Wolves!
Wolf 7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-18, 04:47   #9980
TheLostSecret
Historian
 
TheLostSecret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Tehran , Iran
Posts: 396
Thumbs up

Wow , it's a really giant level !
__________________
Egypt has many secrets and mysteries yet to be discovered ...
TheLostSecret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.