www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-18, 15:02   #1
Alex Chap
Hobbyist
 
Alex Chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: France, Oise
Posts: 10
Default Desynchronized Ripples

Hi everyone,

I'm building a level with some large connected water rooms, the problem is that despite choosing the same number of the ripples' intensity for each of them, you can see the connections between these rooms because the waves aren't synchronized with the others, so you can see some "holes" on the doors.
I was told to use the Refresh button but it didn't solve the problem, I even tried to disconnect the rooms, remove the water and refresh everything, but nothing change.

This is something I never faced, anybody knows a solution about this ?
__________________
Need a helping paw ? :3
Alex Chap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-18, 15:16   #2
matrix54
Tomb Raider
 
matrix54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 19,603
Default

Both water and reflection rooms need the same numbers.
__________________
Check out "Checkout: Journey to Employee of the Month!"
matrix54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-18, 23:55   #3
Boobandie
Professor
 
Boobandie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,390
Default

Peiga figured this out a while ago. It has to do with the size of the rooms and how the ripples algorithm divides it up. I'll try find the post when I get to my computer.
Boobandie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-18, 01:40   #4
Craig Michaels
Explorer
 
Craig Michaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berkeley, California
Posts: 939
Default

Oh interesting. I guess Iíve noticed that water reflections are off from one room to another, creating apparent desynchronized light and shadow on doorways. I thought this was unavoidable but it would be great to fix if itís possible.
__________________
archaeologist in Berkeley
Craig Michaels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-18, 02:27   #5
Boobandie
Professor
 
Boobandie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,390
Default

Okay I found the thread. Though I remembered incorrectly. Piega asked about the issue and TR-Freak solved it on page 2.
Boobandie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-18, 11:26   #6
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 8,113
Default

From Piega's post is sounds like he thinks what TR-Freak wrote is right, not that he confirmed it.

The explanation with the room size sounds plausible, but I do remember testing Coastal Ruins in TombEditor and at some point the water surface didn't match either despite no changes to geometry or room sizes...
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.