www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-04-08, 17:37   #1
stranger1992
Professor
 
stranger1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Leicester :)
Posts: 3,575
Default Demonware Port mapper......

wtf is it?

my route has been playing up. Suddenly it loses connection and the ADSL light just flashes and the internet light turns off.

I went to network connections, right clicked "internet gateway>>properties >>>>Settings.

On it i had "demonware port mapping" running as a service for it. I deleted this off it but I want to know how to prevent it and what exactly it does.

Thanks

__________________
"Here one day, gone one night". RIP Michael Jackson
stranger1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-08, 17:40   #2
jamieoliver22
Technical Cheese
 
jamieoliver22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: My own little world
Posts: 8,463
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DemonWare

Quote:
DemonWare is a maker of network middleware for the gaming industry. Their products are used in titles for the console and PC market. Their clients include many of the biggest games publishers including THQ, Sega, Activision, Namco, Treyarch and Empire Interactive. Games featuring DemonWare's middleware include Starship Troopers, Call of Duty 2: Big Red One, Call of Duty 3, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, Splinter Cell: Double Agent and Rainbow Six: Vegas.
That would be a port mapping service for a number of online games, so you shouldn't have deleted it if you want to play games online that use it.
__________________
I love cheese =]
jamieoliver22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-08, 18:21   #3
stranger1992
Professor
 
stranger1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Leicester :)
Posts: 3,575
Default

f**K bugger...can i get it back? I poaly Cod4 all the time online
__________________
"Here one day, gone one night". RIP Michael Jackson

Last edited by stranger1992; 13-04-08 at 18:28.
stranger1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-08, 18:23   #4
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,221
Default

You can try Install > Service from connection properties window, if you're lucky it's still in the list
__________________
The Truth Is Out There...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.