www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-08, 18:55   #1
Jordan_Boi
Explorer
 
Jordan_Boi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 965
Default Windows XP will simply not start even in safe mode.

I recently had a problem involving Windows Live Messenger where it wouldn't work properly on my mum's account. I searched on the internet and ran a program that was apparently supposed to fix my problem, but I reckon it changed a lot of system files. I restarted the computer to see if MSN would work. Well, when loading up, the PC froze at the login screen, didn't show any usernames or pictures or shut down options. I restarted again and it still would not work. So I inserted my Windows XP disc and repaired it. Now, when I boot the PC up, it goes as far as the "Welcome to Windows" screen. It's all blue with 2 dark blue bars, one at the top, and one at the bottom. The Microsoft Windows XP logo is in the middle, and the cursor is shown. But it just hangs there, and won't load. I tried booting in Safe Mode, but all it did was go to the same screen as normal boot, then it restarts the PC. I've also tried booting on the last known configuration, still nothing. I'm so sorry for all these threads...
Jordan_Boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 19:34   #2
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,189
Default

Can you first tell us what program exactly have you run to bring your PC to this condition?
__________________
The Truth is out there...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-08, 06:38   #3
Jordan_Boi
Explorer
 
Jordan_Boi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 965
Default

I followed the steps on this page. It was SubInACL that I downloaded.
Jordan_Boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-08, 07:34   #4
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,189
Default

SubInACL is a command line tool. So what exactly command line did you pass to it before your system got "crapped"?
__________________
The Truth is out there...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-08, 14:33   #5
Jordan_Boi
Explorer
 
Jordan_Boi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 965
Default

Well, as the tutorial told me, I created a Notepad file, and pasted this into it:

subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=administrators=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=administrators=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=administrators=f
subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=administrators=f

subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=system=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=system=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=system=f
subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=system=f

After, I saved it as "reset.bat" and saved it into C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools. Then, I ran the reset.bat file. It did some stuff, which I can't remember for the life of me. But all I remember is I added nothing to the bat file. Then after, I reset. I'm sorry for the lack of information, I have a bad memory.
Jordan_Boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-08, 21:20   #6
Jordan_Boi
Explorer
 
Jordan_Boi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 965
Default

I managed to fix the boot problem, luckily. I made myself a Linux Live CD, booted it, and moved all the files I wanted to the second harddrive. I completely formatted the C: drive and reinstalled XP, it's working fine. Although a lot of drivers are missing. And I can't connect to the internet. My modem is connected the same way as it was before, the lights are turned on, and it's working fine. I downloaded the drivers for it from the Acer website and sent them to my PC using a memory stick. I installed the drivers, and they're installed as "Agere Systems PCI Soft Modem". Yet the PC doesn't recognise the modem whatsoever. By the way, the modem is connected to a router which my sister's laptop uses, and her internet is perfect. It's an NTL 100 modem I think.
Jordan_Boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-08, 01:26   #7
spikejones
Tomb Raider
 
spikejones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 13,020
Default

you need drivers for your ETHERNET card

btw, those commands you ran looks like it was a registry tweak.
__________________
when the field's wide open, Ill pick the horse that's got biggest heart
spikejones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-08, 05:26   #8
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,189
Arrow

First you got full rights over vital Registry sections - wrong move, if you don't know what you're doing/going to do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan_Boi View Post
It did some stuff, which I can't remember for the life of me.
Have you done anything in the registry manually?
Then obviously you killed/messed some keys by accident.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikejones View Post
you need drivers for your ETHERNET card
YES.
__________________
The Truth is out there...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 15:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.