www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Video-Games, Consoles and Related Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-06-09, 13:51   #1
michaeldt
Tomb Raider
 
michaeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia, WA
Posts: 13,058
Default is there an update for PS3 that allows compatibility with PS2 games?

I was just wondering

I am trying to free up some space in my room by getting rid of the PS2, is there a download update for PS3 to play PS2 games? or have sony not released one?
__________________
"I keep touching things that i shouldn't, I can't help it" - atlanta73, 2014
michaeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 13:53   #2
MrCroftAndre
Archaeologist
 
MrCroftAndre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,339
Default

No.

You know, there's this magical thing called Google.
MrCroftAndre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 13:57   #3
michaeldt
Tomb Raider
 
michaeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia, WA
Posts: 13,058
Default

from google
Quote:
The 80 gig Sony PS3 supports PS2 games through software emulation.
The success of this emulation was poor at first, but Sony has improved it with several generations of firmware upgrades.
If you are experiencing difficulties with PS2 emulation, it is recommended that you upgrade to the latest firmware.
The 60GB PAL model also utilizes software emulation.
where can I get this software emulation?
__________________
"I keep touching things that i shouldn't, I can't help it" - atlanta73, 2014
michaeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 14:06   #4
MrCroftAndre
Archaeologist
 
MrCroftAndre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldt View Post


where can I get this software emulation?
They should already come with the 60 GB and 80 GB PS3.

Do you have one of those?

Last edited by MrCroftAndre; 30-06-09 at 14:10.
MrCroftAndre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 14:08   #5
Spong
Legend
 
Spong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 45,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldt View Post
from google


where can I get this software emulation?
Have you got either the 80 or 60GB PS3? If you have, it downloads the firmware (that contains the PS2 emulation software) automatically when you go online with it.

If you haven't got one of those models, bad luck.
__________________
Only lies have detail...
Spong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 14:09   #6
michaeldt
Tomb Raider
 
michaeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia, WA
Posts: 13,058
Default

I have a 80GB PS3 whenever I put in a PS2 game it comes up saying 'unsupported data'
__________________
"I keep touching things that i shouldn't, I can't help it" - atlanta73, 2014
michaeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 14:11   #7
MrCroftAndre
Archaeologist
 
MrCroftAndre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldt View Post
I have a 80GB PS3 whenever I put in a PS2 game it comes up saying 'unsupported data'
Go online and download the latest PS3 firmware. If you haven't an internet connection, bad luck.
MrCroftAndre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 14:13   #8
Spong
Legend
 
Spong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 45,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldt View Post
I have a 80GB PS3 whenever I put in a PS2 game it comes up saying 'unsupported data'
Like MrCroftAndre said, go online and download the latest firmware. But even doing that is no guarantee that the PS2 games you've got will work as not all games are supported. Good luck though.
__________________
Only lies have detail...
Spong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 14:19   #9
michaeldt
Tomb Raider
 
michaeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia, WA
Posts: 13,058
Default

I just downloaded the latest firmware 10 minutes ago. I'll give it a try.

Edit: nope, I used TRU PS2 as a test game to put in after the download, it still says 'unsupported data' am I doing something wrong?
__________________
"I keep touching things that i shouldn't, I can't help it" - atlanta73, 2014

Last edited by michaeldt; 30-06-09 at 14:22.
michaeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 14:22   #10
Bellacima
Explorer
 
Bellacima's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pennsylvania-Dunbar: PlaystationNetwork ID: bell694
Posts: 604
Default

Its obvious that his 80gb isnt backwards compatible.

Not all 80gbs work with ps2 games.
__________________
This forum is my 2nd home. PSN-bell694
Bellacima is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 00:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.