www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-04-10, 05:15   #1
Johnnay
Tomb Raider
 
Johnnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cupertino
Posts: 17,682
Default how do i enable Turbo Boost on a Intel Core i5.

hello Alex my dear.

i have a laptop which has a i5 processor but when i go to the Intel website to know how to enable turbo boost it says to go to BIOS. What is BIOS. How do i go to it. and im using a Acer laptop

should i use Diagnose exe.


thanks
__________________
roll the dice and make the sacrifice and I will follow you.....
Johnnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-10, 05:36   #2
Agent Dee
Archaeologist
 
Agent Dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chilling out in one of Lara's rooms in her mansion.
Posts: 1,459
Talking

http://i39.************/2n85yti.gif

could not resist, sorry

[Mod edit: AFAIK we have come to an agreement that GIFs over 500Kb are not welcome here. So if anyone wants to crap their traffic, feel free to click the link ]
__________________
PSN ID: davemcfly85 LIVE ID: davemcfly85

Last edited by EscondeR; 21-04-10 at 05:42. Reason: 2.3 Mb GIF converted to link
Agent Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-10, 05:46   #3
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,194
Default

Press Del or F2 (depends on the model) at boot screen to enter BIOS settings.
Don't change anything other than Turbo Boost setting.
__________________
The Truth Is Out There
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-10, 12:20   #4
Sgt BOMBULOUS
Relic Hunter
 
Sgt BOMBULOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,221
Default

What gives you the idea that is isn't on? Any i5 motherboard should have turbo-boost enabled as a default in the bios. The only way it is disabled is if you set the overclocking mode to XMP (It's normally set to automatic). No offense but if you don't even know what the bios is you shouldn't be in there changing settings as you could seriously harm your computer if you do something wrong. I have a Core i5-750, so I'm speaking from experience.
__________________
I saw video of fat man eating sandwich

Last edited by Sgt BOMBULOUS; 21-04-10 at 12:31.
Sgt BOMBULOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-10, 15:54   #5
nomedo
Professor
 
nomedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Norrland
Posts: 3,584
Default

^^ as said above it should be active by default. If it for some reason is deactivated, turn it on from the BIOS.
But Turbo Boost isnt something you turn on and off when u think its needed, its activated when you are running applications that for example dont take advantage of all cores and when the power comsumption and temperature is good, then the processor will increase the speed (MHz) on the active cores instead of using lower speed on all cores. But it should be done automatically and seamlessly when its possible to use. Just make sure that your laptop gets enough power and that the cooling is good for you to take advantage of the Turbo Boost feature.
__________________
Just because everything's changing, doesn't mean it's never been this way before
nomedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-10, 19:39   #6
Agent Dee
Archaeologist
 
Agent Dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chilling out in one of Lara's rooms in her mansion.
Posts: 1,459
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Dee View Post

[Mod edit: AFAIK we have come to an agreement that GIFs over 500Kb are not welcome here. So if anyone wants to crap their traffic, feel free to click the link ]
sorry my bad, i meant to post that with URL not IMG tags last night but I was tired and was not thinking when I did it, I am sorry .
__________________
PSN ID: davemcfly85 LIVE ID: davemcfly85
Agent Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 23:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.