www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-08-10, 19:40   #1
midnightgirl
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default Tomb Raider 'The Greatest Raids' - Not Actually All That Great.

Hello! Having been an avid player of the original TR series, and having also made the mistake of letting my stepkids borrow the CDs (which promptly got lost) I went out and bought the new Mastertronic 'Greatest Raids' collection.

And found that:
-TR1 is basically unplayable due to very poor graphics
-The music files are still absent, ruining much of the atmosphere
-no revisions or updates or patches have been made - these are unimproved 1996 era games

and, worst of all, none of the technical patches work, including the XP/Vista/7 Multipatch Installer, because they do not authenticate the Greatest Raids DVD as the 'TR2' CD etc.

I wanted to warn potential buyers of the serious issues with this re-issue, and wonder if anybody has updated or hacked the patches so that they can be used with this disc?

cheers
mg
midnightgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-10, 19:49   #2
Sgt BOMBULOUS
Relic Hunter
 
Sgt BOMBULOUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightgirl View Post
Hello! Having been an avid player of the original TR series, and having also made the mistake of letting my stepkids borrow the CDs (which promptly got lost) I went out and bought the new Mastertronic 'Greatest Raids' collection.

And found that:
-TR1 is basically unplayable due to very poor graphics
-The music files are still absent, ruining much of the atmosphere
-no revisions or updates or patches have been made - these are unimproved 1996 era games

and, worst of all, none of the technical patches work, including the XP/Vista/7 Multipatch Installer, because they do not authenticate the Greatest Raids DVD as the 'TR2' CD etc.

I wanted to warn potential buyers of the serious issues with this re-issue, and wonder if anybody has updated or hacked the patches so that they can be used with this disc?

cheers
mg
I'm pretty sure there have been fixes, though I don't have firsthand knowledge of them... Someone will be along soon to help though.
__________________
I saw video of fat man eating sandwich
Sgt BOMBULOUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-10, 20:07   #3
aktrekker
Relic Hunter
 
aktrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,235
Default

You'll get a faster response in technical support.

And no, the graphics are not updated. These are the original games. What did you expect?
But there is a function key that will make the graphics more detailed in TR1. I don't remember which one it is, F4, or something.

Download Diagnose.exe run it and post the report. It will help determine what the problem is.
__________________
Don't bother me, I'm busy.

Last edited by aktrekker; 17-08-10 at 20:11.
aktrekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-10, 20:13   #4
Dustie
Professor
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,817
Default

If the collection is on a single DVD disc, then indeed it's probably going to kick out the music, since it was in CD-Audio format...


In this situation you could prepare yourself your custom copies of the games on separate CD-Rs, with both game data as well as CD-Audio tracks (they can be downloaded, I believe). It takes a bit effort to properly burn hybrid discs like that, but it's worth it. Or you can just burn the game data and use multipatchers (which should recognize your burned discs) to run the games with properly prepared Audio played from the hard drive.


As far as Tomb Raider 1 -- it was made in 1996. Cut it some slack.
You can get it to run better using Glidos or DosBox. There's tutorials on running Tomb Raider 1 on XP/Vista/7 on TRF, I believe.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-10, 22:21   #5
Laras Dream
Archaeologist
 
Laras Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,681
Default

To imrpove the graphics in TR1 press F1.
__________________
If any 3D modellers are looking for something to do, I got work. :)
Laras Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-10, 09:34   #6
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,223
Default

Use TR1 Advanced solution installer v1.6 from THIS page to solve your TR1 issues. If any remain still, then:
Quote:
Originally Posted by aktrekker View Post
Download Diagnose.exe run it and post the report. It will help determine what the problem is.
__________________
The Truth Is Out There...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 21:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.