www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-11-15, 16:33   #1
Suikaze Raider
Historian
 
Suikaze Raider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Almeria (Spain) Type: Crazy TR Fan.
Posts: 469
Talking TR1 & TR1Gold (ATI): Locale Pack.

Introduction:
Thanks to barracuda415 for add this feature in his TR1 & TR1Gold ATI Solution; Translation Team could port our (Used and unused) iOS/Android translations in this game version with the collaboration of b122251 We hope you all enjoy our translations! Sampler Tool was created by b122251

Languages (Game Texts):
Catalan, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Latin, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Spanish, Swedish & Valencian.

Credits:
Alejandro Cambronero Albaladejo, Andreu O.R., b122251, barracuda415, Dankó Roland, Daviz, Eurico Andrade, Fernando D.S., Gyurka Balázs, Joey79100, Joonas, JvR, Kerrie B., Kevin Villar, Riccardo Galeotti, Rubén V.C., Rui Cassio Camisão, Taufan Atalarik & Ville Reinikainen.

How Apply It?
1. The first of all, TR1 & TR1Gold ATI Solution by barracuda415 must be installed. Later, Locale Pack must be uncompressed where TR1 and/or TR1Gold ATI is/are installed inside of "patches" folder.

2. Being inside of "patches" folder, open the file "tombati.ini" (For TR1) and/or "tombub.ini" (For TR1Gold) with a text editor as Notepadd++, find the text "localization" and change its value "false" by "true".
Quote:
; Experimental localization patch.
localization = true
3. Find the text "localization_locale" (In these files too) and later of "=" symbol type a space and a valid language code (Check "locale" folder for this)
Quote:
; Locale used for localization.
localization_locale = en_GB
Downloads - Barracuda's Solution:
Download: TR1 & TR1Gold ATI Solution.
Download: WinMM Wrapper (In soundtrack section)

Downloads - Game Texts & Images:
Download: Locale Pack - Game Texts (29/11/2015)
Download: TR1Gold Localized Title Screens (29/11/2015)

Downloads - Music & Samples:
Download: TR1 Samples Packs (01/12/2015)
Download: TR1 Audios in *.flac Format (04/12/2015)

Downloads - Others:
Download: Pointers - Only For Development (15/08/2016)

Regards
__________________
Working in TR1 & TR2 Translations.

Last edited by Suikaze Raider; 05-01-18 at 18:21. Reason: Updating.
Suikaze Raider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-15, 16:58   #2
AODfan
Archaeologist
 
AODfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,501
Default

The second and last link both lead to the same file I think?
AODfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-15, 17:07   #3
Suikaze Raider
Historian
 
Suikaze Raider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Almeria (Spain) Type: Crazy TR Fan.
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AODfan View Post
The second and last link both lead to the same file I think?
I'm sorry I just fix it. Thanks for report it

Regards
__________________
Working in TR1 & TR2 Translations.
Suikaze Raider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-15, 17:31   #4
AODfan
Archaeologist
 
AODfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,501
Default

Works great
I noticed "Secrets" and "Time Taken" don't get translated in UB while they do get translated in TR1. Is this a bug?

I also noticed that, in the german translation, the "Ornate Key" was translated to "Der antike Schlüssel".
It should either be "Verzierter Schlüssel" or "Ornament Schlüssel".
The former would be the correct translation but the latter was used in TR2 for the Ornate Key in Opera House

Speaking of the german translation, someone should update it. We've had a few changes since the game was released and it's hurting my eyes
I'll try to do it when I get the time
AODfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-15, 19:11   #5
Suikaze Raider
Historian
 
Suikaze Raider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Almeria (Spain) Type: Crazy TR Fan.
Posts: 469
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by AODfan View Post
Works great
I noticed "Secrets" and "Time Taken" don't get translated in UB while they do get translated in TR1. Is this a bug?
You're right, it's a bug, I didn't notice this error

You can fix it manually: Open the file "locale\strings.txt", go to lines 156 and 157 and replace this:
Quote:
0056 453F40 41D40D 41D449
0057 453F50 41D4EA
By this:
Quote:
0056 453F40 41D40D 41D446
0057 453F50 41D4AE
Or you can re-download the Locale Pack

Quote:
Originally Posted by AODfan View Post
I also noticed that, in the german translation, the "Ornate Key" was translated to "Der antike Schlüssel".
It should either be "Verzierter Schlüssel" or "Ornament Schlüssel".
The former would be the correct translation but the latter was used in TR2 for the Ornate Key in Opera House
I ripped the original texts in German. Only "Lautstärke Einstellen" & "Detailstufe Wählen" were changed to "Lautstärke" & "Detail Wählen" (Because they were so long) "Auflösung: %s", "Bilinear: %s" & "Perspektive: %s" were translated by barracuda415

Quote:
Originally Posted by AODfan View Post
Speaking of the german translation, someone should update it. We've had a few changes since the game was released and it's hurting my eyes
I'll try to do it when I get the time
I didn't know about it You can do a revision or a re-translation if you want We can keep both versions If you need some help ask to me

PS: Remember the game "Encoding":
Code:
)a  -> á (Acute accent)
$a  -> à (Grave accent)
(a  -> â (Circumflex accent)
~a  -> ä (Dieresis/Umlaut accent)
=   -> ß (Eszett)
Regards
__________________
Working in TR1 & TR2 Translations.

Last edited by Suikaze Raider; 29-11-15 at 19:30.
Suikaze Raider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-15, 12:45   #6
b122251
Explorer
 
b122251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 528
Default

I like what you did with this, Suikaze.
b122251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-15, 21:30   #7
LateRaider
Archaeologist
 
LateRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default

I still have no idea what the ATI pack is, or how I use it. I asked for an explanation in the other thread once, and I got told "Read the thread, LOL." I already had and I was still confused. I reread it a second time last week and I still have no idea what the ATI patch is. Can someone please tell me?
__________________
"TRForums: Where happiness goes to die." - Soma Holiday
LateRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-15, 22:27   #8
SLAYER
Archaeologist
 
SLAYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jordan
Posts: 2,101
Default

@LateRaider: In 1999 a patch was released for TR1 so it would take advantage of certain ATI graphics cards (which used a technology called CIF, think something similar to DirectX/Opengl). That patch was a Windows 95 program, unlike the previous releases of TR1 which ran on DOS. CIF didn't become a standard and the patch was incompatible with newer versions of Windows.

What barracuda415 (and others) did was patch the ATI exe to be compatible with newer versions of Windows and translate (for a lack of a better word) the CIF stuff into Opengl which is compatible with modern hardware.

The main advantage: you don't need Dosbox to emulate TR. It runs as a native Windows program. Other advantages are various graphical enhancements, like high resolution and widescreen support.

More info and installation instructions are found here.

Now back on topic
__________________
Right now, I'm losing patience
SLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-15, 00:29   #9
LateRaider
Archaeologist
 
LateRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default

Let's not get back on track quite yet, please... does it work with the Steam and GOG versions of Tomb Raider I, or is it CD-only for now?
__________________
"TRForums: Where happiness goes to die." - Soma Holiday
LateRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-15, 01:21   #10
b122251
Explorer
 
b122251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateRaider View Post
Let's not get back on track quite yet, please... does it work with the Steam and GOG versions of Tomb Raider I, or is it CD-only for now?
You need the level files. It includes a NoCD option so you don't need the disc.
b122251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.