www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Software Development (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   Meta2tr update. (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=135733)

Symsi 17-07-10 23:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by meta2tr (Post 4753585)
New version now available :)

This latest release comes with a demo level and an in-game guide to explain how to get the most out of meta2tr. It's been a lot of fun building this level and there are many tricks and new possibilities. Everything can be done using free tools.

[...]

Ooooh, that horse with Doppie looks cuuute. http://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/liebe/a044.gif

And that level plus all the work is amazing and so well done, truly made by a genius.

mudkip25 18-07-10 01:29

^YES! Exactly what Symsi-Chan said!

Nausinous 18-07-10 08:44

Can someone explain what this program does, does it mean uv mapped characters?

TR-Freak 18-07-10 08:59

I wanna ask something^^

Is it possible to import a non TR-Mesh into Meta2TR,replace it with an old Moveable and then create the Meshtree?
How do I add a Meshtree?

-Roli- 18-07-10 09:04

Going to downloading the demooooo :D:jmp::jmp::jmp:

meta2tr 18-07-10 09:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nausinous (Post 4754328)
Can someone explain what this program does,

It converts to and from Metaqsequoia files. Metasequoia is 3d editing software.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nausinous (Post 4754328)
does it mean uv mapped characters?

Yes.

Nausinous 18-07-10 09:23

Just downloaded the demo, what the hell, doppleganger in the TR4 engine? What does this all mean?

julien 18-07-10 09:30

just amazing!:jmp: good work:D
I found some bugs in the river
She swim and she can't go out the river

meta2tr 18-07-10 09:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by TR-Freak (Post 4754343)
I wanna ask something^^

Is it possible to import a non TR-Mesh into Meta2TR,replace it with an old Moveable and then create the Meshtree?
How do I add a Meshtree?

You can import any mesh, I got most of mine from Google Warehouse :
Lara
Horse
Table

You add an object with a mesh tree in the original Wad. Then in Metasequoia, you replaces the meshes and adjust the pivot points if needed.

TR-Freak 18-07-10 09:57

cool,and how do I change the Pivot?

meta2tr 18-07-10 10:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by TR-Freak (Post 4754409)
cool,and how do I change the Pivot?

Click on Local in Metasequoia. Then click on the mesh that has the pivot point that you want to move (in the object list).

Nausinous 18-07-10 10:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by meta2tr (Post 4754391)
You can import any mesh, I got most of mine from Google Warehouse :
Lara
Horse
Table

You add an object with a mesh tree in the original Wad. Then in Metasequoia, you replaces the meshes and adjust the pivot points if needed.

So do you need WADmerger or can you import objects into the WAD through Meta2?

meta2tr 18-07-10 10:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by julien (Post 4754379)
just amazing!:jmp: good work:D
I found some bugs in the river
She swim and she can't go out the river

LOL that shouldn't happen. It's because there is a static with collision that overhangs the bridge. Anyway, I've fixed it, either download this file, and drag it onto meta2tr.exe that's in Data, and the level will update,
or download the entire demo level.

meta2tr 18-07-10 10:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nausinous (Post 4754414)
So do you need WADmerger or can you import objects into the WAD through Meta2?

You can't import to the wad. The wad file format doesn't support uv-mapped objects. Only the TR4 file format does. So that's why meta2tr imports to the TR4 file.

For example, to import a new a uv-mapped horse, you need the horse object in your wad, as a place holder. Then when you have your level (the tr4 file), you can replace the old horse with a the new one.

Titak 18-07-10 10:41

Psiko once stated that it is better to have one huge object instead of multiple smaller ones to prevent lagging.
Well, my Croft Manor is lagging in some areas and a large cave I made is also lagging.

Since I haven't used Meta2TR yet or looked at all the info this might be an obvious question... :o But...
My manor is pretty much finished. I have all the objects made and placed, etc.
Now, my idea was to delete some of the placed statics, lets say one particular plant, leave at least one in and convert to tr4.
Then use Meta2tr to open the level files with that one plant left in. All textured and lit, so those things are done.
Now, could I take that one leftover plant, copy it multiple times and make it part of the room geometry without having to texture each and every one of them all over again?
And would making them part of the room geometry indeed reduce the lagging?

psiko 18-07-10 10:54

building it as room geometry will reduce the lagging, but in case you use a fake invisible static to reproduce the collision, we're back at the same problem.. :)

Titak 18-07-10 11:24

Well, I already deleted all the faces but the floor one of those invisible static objects. That already helped. :D
And those plants don't have collision so that will not be a problem in the greenhouse. :D

So my idea will work then?
I mean the part about leaving one plant and copying it and all that.

*PH* 18-07-10 11:34

Just seen the ingame doppelganger! OMG! :tmb: The whole level looks so awesome

Nausinous 18-07-10 12:04

I still don't understand this, so you create rooms in NGLE and then edit them in Meta2tr but then how do you get Lara as that other character and all uv mapped? I'm so confused by it all.

Titak 18-07-10 12:19

You can use Meta to UVmap objects and room geometry.

As on how to do it, there's an entire website about how to do things with Meta2TR on the Meta2tr website. :D

Sharon_14 18-07-10 13:03

this is just so amazing, the demo level is 100% awesome, even doppie looks like she has joints! well done :tmb: :D :D

TR-Freak 18-07-10 13:10

And what about import the new TR4 in Wadmerger?:o

meta2tr 18-07-10 13:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by TR-Freak (Post 4754707)
And what about import the new TR4 in Wadmerger?:o

AFAIK you can import the meshes into a wad, but if you have uv polygons that are not rectangles or right-angled triangles, then they are approximated, and usually don't look good.

TR-Freak 18-07-10 13:44

http://npshare.de/files/c8e8f625/Unbenannt.jpg
That message opens when I import my own Baddy.

meta2tr 18-07-10 13:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by TR-Freak (Post 4754783)
http://npshare.de/files/c8e8f625/Unbenannt.jpg
That message opens when I import my own Baddy.

That's strange... I'll check this.

Walrus 18-07-10 14:02

This happens every time I try to import an object. The object, in this case, is modeled and mapped in 3ds Max 2009, and use a 256x256 texture.

http://www.aspidetr.com/forum/downlo...7450&mode=view

In order to import and use the texture, I imported it with WADMerger, then I applied it on an object, and finally converted the level. After the extraction with meta2tr, I open the MoveAll.mqo on Metasequoia, and inserted the object in an animating slot (importing from 3ds Max preserves the original mapping) deleting the original mesh and renaming this one with the name of the old mesh. I added to Meta2tr the skin for the object and all the moveables and/or all the tiles and/or only the object textures, but in game this is what I always see:

http://www.aspidetr.com/forum/downlo...7449&mode=view

So, as you can see, the object and Lara herself are totally crap... I tried changing wad, level and the object, but the result is the same... I tried with my own wads, with original trle wads... nothing... Suggestions or methods to solve this problem?

Edit: one more thing, what have I to do to download the demo level? Sometimes mediafire says that the file is private, or the link is invalid or simply the page doesn't load anything...

meta2tr 18-07-10 14:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by TR-Freak (Post 4754783)
http://npshare.de/files/c8e8f625/Unbenannt.jpg
That message opens when I import my own Baddy.

I believe you are running version 4. This message no longer exists in v5. Maybe you can check the file size, v5 is 149kb.

meta2tr 18-07-10 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walrus (Post 4754822)
one more thing, what have I to do to download the demo level? Sometimes mediafire says that the file is private, or the link is invalid or simply the page doesn't load anything...

It says it's private because I've updated it, the new link is here.

And if you just want the program without the demo level, it's here.

Walrus 18-07-10 14:34

Still the page doesn't load the demo file... I tried with Mozilla and explorer, too. I downloaded the v5 hours ago, and the problem above happens just with v5 (the v4 had the UV points too near or crossed problem and the conversion was aborted).

Barry Matharoo 18-07-10 14:50

wow its amazing:tea:

just played the level:jmp::jmp::jmp:

i just love the earring on lara
and river bank was jaw dropping:yik:

one question though
how did u imported google sketchup file in meta

meta2tr 18-07-10 15:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walrus (Post 4754822)
This happens every time I try to import an object. The object, in this case, is modeled and mapped in 3ds Max 2009, and use a 256x256 texture....

I *think* that when you are importing the object into moveall, it also imports a new material, could you check? The material list in Metasequoia should have Tile001 first, Tile002 second and so on. Is there a new material added to the end?

Walrus 18-07-10 15:22

Yes, when I import the model, a new tile is added at the end of the list, but usally I delete it and I apply the tile imported with the level.

meta2tr 18-07-10 15:59

Well you are doing everything right in Metasequoia, as far as I can tell. In any case, don't change the order of the materials in the material panel, as this is what meta2tr uses to determine the tile number, eg the 5th material in the list is taken to be Tile005, etc.

Importing the object into the level should now be very simple. With your new object highlighted in the object list, click on Misc then Show only current, so only the object is visible (this saves time in the next step).
Then save the file. Then drop it onto meta2tr. It should say importing ANIMATING5 or whatever slot you've chosen. No need to import any of the tiles, because they haven't been changed. Then run newlevel.tr4, and everything should be ok. Does that work?

meta2tr 18-07-10 16:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walrus (Post 4754888)
Still the page doesn't load the demo file... I tried with Mozilla and explorer, too. I downloaded the v5 hours ago, and the problem above happens just with v5 (the v4 had the UV points too near or crossed problem and the conversion was aborted).

OK, I'll create an object with the same uv points as yours and test it.

Walrus 18-07-10 16:20

Yes, it works! :jmp: So, it was only the visibility flag on the model? :confused: Man...

http://www.aspidetr.com/forum/downlo...p?id=17454&t=1

meta2tr 18-07-10 17:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walrus (Post 4755085)
Yes, it works! :jmp: So, it was only the visibility flag on the model? :confused: Man...

http://www.aspidetr.com/forum/downlo...p?id=17454&t=1

:jmp:Looks great !

The visibility flag is used by meta2tr to determine whether or not to import the object. It's just to avoid importing objects that haven't changed therefore saving time.

I *think* that your Tile list was out of order in your first moveall file, anyway that would explain why the room textures were ok (they have tiles with lower numbers) and Lara's textures were not (she has tiles with higher numbers). For example, this could happen if you take an added material at the end of the list, and you drag it up the list, it gets inserted, and bumps half the existing tiles down.

meta2tr 18-07-10 17:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walrus (Post 4754888)
Still the page doesn't load the demo file... I tried with Mozilla and explorer, too. I downloaded the v5 hours ago,

I'll upload the demo to a different server and post a link here shortly.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walrus (Post 4754888)
the problem above happens just with v5 (the v4 had the UV points too near or crossed problem and the conversion was aborted).

It's strange, I haven't been able to reproduce the problem you're having. So I don't think it's related to the uv points.

I've created a BADDY_1 object, with UV points like yours.. in Metasequoia it looks like this:
http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/5...od3metaseq.gif

Checking the mqo file in Notepad shows exactly the same uv coordinates (1,0 0,0 0,0 1,0):
http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/8...y1mod3text.gif

The conversion happens with no errors:
http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/607...mod3import.gif

And in game it worked:
http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/5...y1mod3game.gif

So can you give me the exact error message you have? If it scrolls off the screen, just open report.txt, go to the bottom of the file, and look for the error there.

Thanks.

Walrus 18-07-10 17:33

Ops, sorry, I think that there was a misunderstanding :hug: I was talking about my problem with the bad texturing, not about the baddy with the UV Points too near or crossed of TR-Freak. I had that error using the old version, but now the problem there isn't anymore with the new one. As you said him, probably he was using the v4. I tried with one of my model that meta2tr doesn't import 'cause the Uv problem, and it works great :D

meta2tr 18-07-10 17:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walrus (Post 4754888)
Still the page doesn't load the demo file... I tried with Mozilla and explorer, too

Try here as an alternative.

TR-Freak 18-07-10 18:27

Thx for the help!
But...
http://npshare.de/files/50d9fcd9/Unbenannt.jpg
But I can't change the Pivot! The whole Mesh will move,too!


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:13.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.