www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Software Development (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   FLEP custom patches: updates, testing and discussion (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=196854)

Krystian 26-07-21 19:01

^ Since the reverb update, FLEP works with slightly different mechanics compared to before.

The tomb4.exe isn't directly patched by FLEP, but it patches the patches.bin file instead. This patches.bin file is the "vessel" that holds the applied patches, while the tomb4.exe remains mostly unchanged by the patching process. flep.dll is the mediator between patches.bin and tomb4.exe. It allows to process the patches.bin and communicate it to the tomb4.exe, or send data from tomb4.exe to the patches. However, to allow this communication, tomb4.exe itself also had to be modified, but fortunately this is just a one-time modification and no further patching of the executable is required.

This was done to reduce the risk of FLEP-patched tomb4.exe to be picked up as malware by anti-malware programs, and seemingly it does this job quite well. The only downside is that you must include patches.bin, flep.dll and the special tomb4.exe (with a winking Lara as the icon) to ensure everything can run properly. Missing just one of these components will result in the game not launching or the patches taking no effect :)

justin 26-07-21 19:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Krystian (Post 8311991)
^ Since the reverb update, FLEP works with slightly different mechanics compared to before.

The tomb4.exe isn't directly patched by FLEP, but it patches the patches.bin file instead. This patches.bin file is the "vessel" that holds the applied patches, while the tomb4.exe remains mostly unchanged by the patching process. flep.dll is the mediator between patches.bin and tomb4.exe. It allows to process the patches.bin and communicate it to the tomb4.exe, or send data from tomb4.exe to the patches. However, to allow this communication, tomb4.exe itself also had to be modified, but fortunately this is just a one-time modification and no further patching of the executable is required.

This was done to reduce the risk of FLEP-patched tomb4.exe to be picked up as malware by anti-malware programs, and seemingly it does this job quite well. The only downside is that you must include patches.bin, flep.dll and the special tomb4.exe (with a winking Lara as the icon) to ensure everything can run properly. Missing just one of these components will result in the game not launching or the patches taking no effect :)

Yes exactly, this is why it wasn't working for me. I foolishly had the original tomb4.exe which won't work with the new patching :)

Caesum 27-07-21 05:08

I must admit that I am worried by how many people decide to copy patches.bin straight from my repository instead of patching a clean FLEP bin file. I always try to update FLEP on my repo the moment a new version appears (so it shouldn't make a difference), but I wonder why people have problems with making reverb work without my patches file. I tried applying reverb on a clean FLEP already and it worked each time for me. :ponder:

justin 27-07-21 12:20

Yeah I thought it was weird that none of the reverb options showed up in my Flep until I used your patches.bin, since I assumed patches.bin has nothing to do with how Flep operates until you hit modify :ponder:

Axell 06-08-21 18:23

Hi everyone, I was hoping someone could help me resolve an issue I'm having with FLEP.

I've finally managed to get FLEP to work by switching my antivirus off while launching the patcher (and while patching). However, I am getting near constant crashes. It doesn't matter what I do with FLEP, or Tomb Editor. Even if I've added something new to the room in the editor, the game will crash--and this is only when the game has been patched with FLEP.

For the record, I am using the most recent patch. So, I've used the tomb4 and patches file that came with the Reverb patch.

Has anyone else run into the same issues? Its getting pretty frustrating trying to work.

Krystian 06-08-21 18:49

It's hard to say what the problem is, so I'll ask for some more details.

First of all are you using all of the components required for the new patches? You mentioned the special tomb4.exe, but you also need to have patches.bin and flep.dll. Both of these components must be in the main TRLE folder alongside tomb4.exe.

Secondly, which patches are you applying?

Also, giving the contents of the crash log could give a clue for finding the issue. It's not always helpful, but it's worth a shot. :)

Axell 06-08-21 19:29

^ Thanks Krystian! Yes, the flep.dll and patches.bin are in the main TRLE folder.

I've added the crash log in quotes below for you to look through.

Quote:

Version=1.3.0.7
Date: 6 April 2017 (22:34:20) Size=2760704 bytes
CRS=Disabled
Last diagnostic mexage:CreateSample %d of %d
Last directX error:

MEMORY CODE MAPPING:

BASE START END ID PluginName (PluginVersion - TrngVersion)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
10000000 10001000 1014A000 0 Tomb_NextGeneration (1.3.0.7 - 1.3.0.7)
6C530000 6C531000 6C54F200 1 Plugin_AkyVMix01 (1.0.0.0 - 1.3.0.7)
6C4E0000 6C4E1000 6C516C00 2 Plugin_AkyVMix02 (1.0.0.0 - 1.3.0.7)
6C4B0000 6C4B1000 6C4CD200 3 Plugin_AkyVMix03 (1.0.0.0 - 1.3.0.7)
6C3F0000 6C3F1000 6C45AA00 4 Plugin_ClassicInventory (1.2.0.0 - 1.3.0.7)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
............... QUICK DIAGNOSTIC LOG ...............
At moment of crash the program was managing:
.................................................. ..
CRASH REASON: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
EXTRA_INFO: VIOLATION ON READ AT OFFSET 0x0
RECOVERABLE : YES
CRASH OFFSET: 0x77D54544 (Outside of all tomb4, trng or plugin engines. Probably windows APIs)
REGISTERS:
EAX=0
EBX=FD80BA0
ECX=0
EDX=FDC0C10
ESI=FDC0C08
EDI=5750000
EBP=F5CFDF0
EIP=77D54544
ESP=F5CFCA0
Stack=0xF5CFCA0 pContesto=0xF5CF7C0 pInfoEccezione=0xF5CF770
PRIMARY_STACK:
ESP=0xF5CFCA0
STACK_TRACE:
0x49E307
0x471B23
0x47464F
0x47491B
0x49E67C
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE

SECONDARY_STACK:
ESP=0x19B0DC
STACK_TRACE:
0x48FB31
0x48FB31
0x48FB31
0x48FB31
0x48FB31
0x48FB31
0x48FB31
0x48FB31
0x48CC6B
0x48CC6B
0x48D323
0x48CC6B
0x48D323
0x48CC6B
0x48CACE
END_STACK_TRACE

OTHER_STACK:
ESP=0xED6B14C
STACK_TRACE:
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE


LoreRaider 06-08-21 19:47

Perhaps you're using "Clear menu backgrounds" patch?
This patch doesn't work anymore from TRNG 1.2.2.7 dll version up to the most recent one because the clear backgrounds can be obtained by using cust_background script command along with keep_game_screen flag
It was kept in case someone uses a TRNG version which is older than the one written above

Axell 06-08-21 19:52

I can see that its in one of the options in FLEP, but I haven't selected it... I've got my own script line in TRNG for that. Does it still execute it regardless?

LoreRaider 06-08-21 19:58

If it's disabled it won't for sure
Can you give us a list of the patches you're applying like Krys asked?


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.