www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider II (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   High quality sound effects for tr2 (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=152684)

noname 31-05-09 21:55

High quality sound effects for tr2
 
2016 update: Go here for the latest version: http://nonametr.webuda.com/tr2hqsfx.htm

I edited the main.sfx file for Tomb Raider 2 a while back to replace some of the sound effects with higher quality ones that I found in TR3 and a desktop theme that came with Tomb Raider Gold. Here's a video of it:

And here's the modified main.sfx: http://nonametr.110mb.com/TR2HQsfx.zip (Get the no cd patch from here and put it in the data folder)
For The Golden Mask (TR2 Gold):http://nonametr.110mb.com/TR2GHQsfx.zip (Again put it in the data folder)

So what do you guys think? And does anyone know where else I can get a high quality version of a TR2 sound effect (like from another game)?

Phoebe_Croft 01-06-09 00:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by noname (Post 3688641)
I edited the main.sfx file for Tomb Raider 2 a while back to replace some of the sound effects with higher quality ones that I found in TR3 and a desktop theme that came with Tomb Raider Gold. Here's a video of it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wi8KkqxEoJQ

And here's the modified main.sfx: http://nonametr.110mb.com/TR2HQsfx.zip (Get the no cd patch from here and put it in the data folder)
For The Golden Mask (TR2 Gold):http://nonametr.110mb.com/TR2GHQsfx.zip (Again put it in the data folder)

So what do you guys think? And does anyone know where else I can get a high quality version of a TR2 sound effect (like from another game)?


Is it possible that you can use it on a legal version of the game? My game is multipatched with all it's needs on vista, so if I get another crack, etc. it may not run properly.

EDIT: I haven't tried it, but may you list some of the changes?
Thanks..

noname 01-06-09 01:24

The patch I linked to works for me on Windows 7, so it should work on Vista too. The changes I made were replacing 20 sound effects with higher quality ones (If you want to know what those 20 are, download them seperately here: http://nonametr.110mb.com/ReplacedSounds.zip).

Phoebe_Croft 01-06-09 04:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by noname (Post 3688817)
The patch I linked to works for me on Windows 7, so it should work on Vista too. The changes I made were replacing 20 sound effects with higher quality ones (If you want to know what those 20 are, download them seperately here: http://nonametr.110mb.com/ReplacedSounds.zip).

Oh, the cd crack you linked me to is not really a cd crack, it's an audio fix. It's included in the multipatcher, so I should be fine :)Thanks.

noname 02-06-09 00:26

Yes but it also allows you to have the data and fmv folders on the hard drive instead of the cd so that you can change the files in there. So did you get it working yet?

Phoebe_Croft 02-06-09 02:10

Yes, it's pretty cool. If you want, I suggest you get some sounds off Tomb Raider : Angel of Darkness, the sounds are nice.

EDIT: But the thing you call a "crack" is legal, and is supported on our forums, so it is not really a crack, just a tool.

Dents 02-06-09 11:07

Great idea, but it still evidently needs a lot of work. :D Gimme a shout if you need some help finding sound effect replacements.

I would suggest taking all of Lara's grunt sound effects from TR3 - that way they're all Judith Gibbins clips instead of the bizarre meld of voices from TR2.

noname 02-06-09 11:26

Well I'd rather have high quality versions of the same TR2 sound effects. I'm not trying to change the sound effects, just make them better.

Dents 03-06-09 14:29

Ahh...well, most of the sounds are taken from TR1, and are signficantly higher-quality there. The "Aha" sound can be taken from the audio for the first TR2 cutscene.

Since there are a few TR2-exclusive sounds that can't be substituted, maybe you could complete this version of main.sfx, and then also develop a main.sfx with TR3 sounds as replacements. ;)

noname 03-06-09 21:12

Yeah, I've thought about using TR1 sound effects. The only problem is that they're 8 bit and staticy, so I'm not sure they'd sound that great. Ripping sounds from cut scenes is also hard because you have to get rid of the background sound. Thanks for the help though. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.