Tomb Raider Forums

Tomb Raider Forums (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider Next Generation (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   TRNG - Bugs & Limitations Thread (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=165980)

AkyV 03-08-13 10:14

[QUOTE=Suikaze Raider;6869070]That encoding are supported, but you must put the encoding number (For Central European is 238), later a colon mar and the name of font, like that:[/QUOTE]

Yes, I've tried 238 before. The solution:
without 238 - only some Hungarian characters are supported,
with 238 - some more Hungarian charactersets are supported, but still not all the ones, ő, Ő, ű, Ű are still not. (ő, Ő, ű, Ű is not , , , .)
In the game, with 238: ő= ,Ő= , ű=, Ű=
Hungarian characters are: , , , , , ő, , , ű, , , , , , Ő, , , Ű.
---------------------------------------------
[I]
NOT YET WORKING. DO NOT USE![/I] - says Paolone in NG Center about BKGDT_TITLE.

Suikaze Raider 03-08-13 16:41

[QUOTE=AkyV;6869587]Yes, I've tried 238 before. The solution:
without 238 - only some Hungarian characters are supported,
with 238 - some more Hungarian charactersets are supported, but still not all the ones, ő, Ő, ű, Ű are still not. (ő, Ő, ű, Ű is not , , , .)
In the game, with 238: ő= ,Ő= , ű=, Ű=
Hungarian characters are: , , , , , ő, , , ű, , , , , , Ő, , , Ű.
[/QUOTE]

I know it :) Check the next message please. I added a test script showing Hungarian and another Central European special chars :)

[URL="http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?p=6869921#post6869921"]http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?p=6869921#post6869921[/URL]

Cheers :)

Paolone 03-08-13 19:11

[QUOTE=Suikaze Raider;6869070]
[U]Edit[/U]: I'm testing the new cust_background with the title, but the volume bars aren't showed. Only is here, when I load a level and I go to "Options" they are showed :confused:

Cheers :)[/QUOTE]

Really the cust_background with title doesn't work and in fact I had also typed in docs to do no use it. :o
Anyway it's true that, using in according with defaultwindowsfont (the only way to see the texts) it's work enough fine.
I've not noticed this problem about sound bars in options screen, also because I had suspended the release of this skill for the title.
Anyway I can check if I can fix this problem and modify the description of BKGDT_TITLE, explaining that it works only togheter with defaultwindowsfont command.

Paolone 03-08-13 19:45

[QUOTE=AkyV;6869009][B]New revelations (with 1227d):

Supporting Hungarian charactersets[/B]
You said I should try F363 instead of DefaultWindowsFont. But the problem is the same: ő, Ő, ű, Ű are still not supported.
I didnt use UNICODE or UTF8 constants.
[/quote]
I believe that omitting those constant is not possible having supports of charset different than western in game.
The UTF8 is sometimes confused for a common ascii set (8 bits) but it's more complicated and it's able to support many easter charset.
Anyway about the eastern text, since I'm not able to test it on my computer, the best expert is suikaze raider that, in fact, helped me also some month ago to do work japanese texts in game.

[quote]
Missing descriptions of these new Script constants in the history file:[/B]

CUST_DISABLE_PUSH_AWAY_ANIMATION
FAN_DISABLE_PUSH_AWAY
FTYPE_SETTINGS it talks about external binary setting files. What is that?
TS_BINOCULAR_LIGHT
TS_BINOCULAR_ZOOM

By the way the binoculars light/zoom seems totally dumb for me. Either with the original or with the customized sounds. (Yes, the sounds are in my WAD.)
[/quote]

It's true, I forgot to insert in the history above constants and about the TS_BINOCULAR_LIGHT and TS_BINOCULAR_ZOOM constant I have own forgotten to handle those sounds. :(
I'll fix in next beta release.
[quote]
[B]Binocular bug[/B]

CUST_BINOCULARS/CUST_BACKGROUND[/B]
You say in NG Center at Cust Binoculars that you can have not only fullscreen sized background for the binoculars if you dont want Cust Binoculars.
But Cust Background images are always fullscreen sized for me, Image command position parameters will always be ignored.
[/quote]
I don't remember where I typed that.
I find this sentence in the description of BKGDT_BINOCULAR constant:
[quote]
Since the image has to be in full screen (other settings will be ignored) you have to use transparent settings for the image.
[/quote]
Really the image for binocular has to be always and only in full screen.

[quote]
[B]CUST_BINOCULARS[/B]
Sometimes the compass strip will disappear right away or after more or less moments after I open the binoculars. Probably it depends on the directions: if Lara faces north or east when extracting the binoculars, that seems problematic. (Btw the compass seems a bit slow to follow how the player turns with the binoculars left/right.)
BINF_SUPER_ZOOM: it says 8,4 is the max. But it is 40.
[/quote]
I'll check these problems.
About the wrong description I had another problems of mine.
Yesterday I discovered to have lost last version of my internal list of command and constant descriptions, so I tried to recover a backup but it's possible (like you discovered about x8.4 and x40) that some description was old.
Now I have to find and fix these un-updated descriptions. :(
[quote]
[B]Added the url of new website to detect further new update from [update] pane;l of ng_center[/B]
Are you sure? When I click on available updates then it says internal error.
[/quote]
This is because I removed from both webistes the little file for automatic download of updates. This is a temporary measure to avoid that LE users download beta-release instead by the final 1.2.2.7 version.
I'll place that file for automatic updated when we'll have the final version.
[quote]
[B]#INCLUDE only in main script[/B]
So it is not true any more, right?:
[I]- In spite, theorically you could use an #include directive in another included source, upto 19 level of depth, I don't suggest to use this chance because the F1 command to find the free ID could not work, and it becomes difficultous navigate between the sources since the F6 command allows only to come back to main script.txt.[/I]
[/quote]
Pratically no, it's not.
Probably that is one of that old description that I had changed and then lost.
The include method can work only with main script call one (or more) include file, but it's not foreseen that included files can includes other files.
[quote]
[B]Millions of updates ago there was a FAN_USE_EXTRA_SLOT constant but it disappeared without a trace (not now but Ive forgotten to ask so far). Was it intentional or not?[/B]
I ask that millions of years ago and you said that:
[I]About the FAN_USE_EXTRA_SLOT I removed it a lot of time ago but I believe to have said the reason: the animations of extra slots of lara don't wont work, so I removed it.
Anyway, own in last days I discovered a bug in the extra slot animations, so pheraps they could work but I've to verify it.[/I][/QUOTE]

I had forgotten that matter.
I can give a look in my notes to see if it's possible add newly that fan_ with a fixing, in short time

AkyV 04-08-13 11:39

[QUOTE=Suikaze Raider;6869922]I know it :) Check the next message please. I added a test script showing Hungarian and another Central European special chars :)

[URL="http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?p=6869921#post6869921"]http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?p=6869921#post6869921[/URL]

Cheers :)[/QUOTE]

I downloaded your setup, and tried it. Then I made a similar, new setup, using your description.
Unfortunately, none of them worked on my computer.

[QUOTE=Paolone;6870068]

I don't remember where I typed that.
Really the image for binocular has to be always and only in full screen. [/QUOTE]

CUST_BINOCULARS:
[QUOTE]IMPORTANT NOTE: while when you use CUST_BACKGROUND for binoculars, alone, the binocular image for background can have any size, when you wish customize advanced features for binoculars with this CUST_BINOCULARS command, you have to use as background image for binoculars an image with size 1024 x 768.
This requirement is necessary to work on a well-known size to grant correct alignment between the background and the different values, bars or strips that will be added to it.[/QUOTE]

Dino14 04-08-13 18:50

When I updated TRNG I started to see in game lines which goes down to up (like in old VHS). Looks like those doesn't appear in screens (haven't try video yet). I don't know what causes it. I don't see those lines in levels which haven't this new update. Is it only my computer or this new update?

Suikaze Raider 04-08-13 19:59

[QUOTE=AkyV;6870685]I downloaded your setup, and tried it. Then I made a similar, new setup, using your description.
Unfortunately, none of them worked on my computer.[/QUOTE]

[B]@AkyV[/B]: That's so strange :confused: Did you test my script without changes?

You could try test it with the charset 1 too:
[QUOTE]DEFAULT_CHARSET 1[/QUOTE]

[B]@For All[/B]: Somebody with a no West European, American or Australian PC Configuration (Central European, Turkish, Greeks,...) could test it too? :confused:

Cheers :)

AkyV 05-08-13 16:35

[QUOTE=Suikaze Raider;6871168][B]@AkyV[/B]: That's so strange :confused: Did you test my script without changes?

You could try test it with the charset 1 too:[/QUOTE]

New tests
- either just saving a TXT in Script folder (i.e. without choosing Central European Windows) for a diary (OK, probably my computer default is Central European Windows...),
- or just typing Hungarian characters directly in ExtraNG to print them with PARAM_WTEXT:

1. Characterset 1 (Default) was useful, ő, Ő, ű, Ű now was OK!

[I]But it didn't work with "usual" Text Flipeffects, using DefaultWindowsFont. (Still not using UNICODE or UTF8.) [/I]

2. I tried Set 238 in another Hungarian XP SP3 computer - and ő, Ő, ű, Ű worked there!
So my Set 238 problem for ő, Ő, ű, Ű is not a system language/OS problem, but caused by something else.

Titak 05-08-13 17:56

[B]RUBBER_BOAT[/B]
When Lara climbs or jumps into the rubber boat, it goes either backwards or forwards a bit.
[I]When repeated it can even go into a wall this way!
And it also causes issues when it is placed in a corner, back towards a wall.[/I]

The animations of both the rubber-boat and rubber-boat-lara do not show any going back or forth so it must be coded into the behaviour of the rubber boat in another way somehow.

I also checked the MOTOR_BOAT and this boat does NOT show the same behaviour: it keeps its position when Lara climbs or jumps into it. :D


[I]I think the RUBBER_BOAT should act the same as the MOTOR_BOAT: stay in position when Lara climbs or jumps into it.[/I]


[SIZE="1"][B]Note:[/B]
This might not be a strictly 1.2.2.7 issue.
But it's the first time I noticed it since I have been working on a puzzle involving the rubber-boat.
And I'd like to keep using the rubber-boat instead of switching to the motor-boat. :p[/SIZE]

AkyV 06-08-13 17:19

I tried BMP5 (the binoculars image) of Paolone's lightning demo as an inventory background being transparent in the middle.
I tried it on two different XP SP3 computers, using the same (i.e. non JPG-converted) BMP.
However, one of the computers couldn't handle it, performing the original TR4 menu background instead.
The problem should be not the size, because the much larger - but not transparent - BMP1 (Lara in the storm with jungle ruins) worked properly.
And the problem is not the transparency, because removing IF_TRANSPARENCE didn't help. Or, on the other hand, another, transparent BMP (with less kilobytes, btw.) worked properly.
JPG-converted BMP didn't help either.

EDIT:
Is there a way to synchronize the new lightning function with the flash/thunder of the classic Lightning command? That would be more realistic.


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Tomb Raider Forums is not owned or operated by CDE Entertainment Ltd.
Lara Croft and Tomb Raider are trademarks of CDE Entertainment Ltd.