www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider Chronicles (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   PC cheats (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=226010)

Woops 25-04-21 19:09

PC cheats
 
Hi everyone :D

For years, everyone thought that the PC version of TR5 doesn't have cheats. but during my decompilation project, ChocolateFan and I stumbled upon a few of them, that don't seem to be documented anywhere. so here goes!

a video:

Recorded on the Steam exe.


There are two cheats.
The first one simply unlocks the "special features" menu in the title screen. simply load any level, highlight the timex and press and hold "BITS" for a split second, then go back to the title and the special features menu will be unlocked :)

note: this cheat can give you all items/keys etc. in the level but only on the JP or demo exes!! it was removed from Steam/GoG exes. but on those exes you can also simply hit "I" anywhere in-game and you will get all items/keys etc. but the "I" on its own does not unlock the special features menu

The second cheat allows you to start at the beginning of any section in the game.
In the title, press and hold "FILTHY" (yes) for a split second, then (letting go of FILTHY) hit a number.
1 will load Rome
2 will load Russia
3 will load Ireland
4 will load VCI


Try them yourself :)

Hope you enjoy :D

klona 25-04-21 19:47

This reminds me of the PS1 cheat where you can go to any section you want from the main menu. Great find Woops!

UroshUchiha 25-04-21 23:07

Don't have TR5 installed atm to test.
When you say press and hold BITS/FILTHY you mean like press those keys on the keyboard at the same time?

Woops 26-04-21 02:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by UroshUchiha (Post 8294893)
Don't have TR5 installed atm to test.
When you say press and hold BITS/FILTHY you mean like press those keys on the keyboard at the same time?

For BITS, doesn’t matter. For FILTHY, I’m not sure. I had reports of someone saying it only worked for them to press the keys consecutively. I’ll have to recheck the code to be 100% sure. I just naturally press the buttons in order when do them..


edit: I can confirm that FILTHY requires you to press each button consecutively.

ANoDE 26-04-21 05:03

Very cool find :tmb:

The jump to section code is especially useful :)

Wooxman 26-04-21 12:12

Interesting! Chronicles on PC also has medipack cheats that have been known since release: https://www.ign.com/wikis/pc-cheats/...onicles_Cheats

Quote:

Infinite Medpacks

For this cheat you must have less than 100% health and only have one medpack in your inventory.
  • In the inventory screen, press “look” and 9 and use your last medpack unlimited Large Medpacks.
  • In the inventory screen, press “look” and 0 and use your last medpack for unlimited Small Medpacks.


Woops 26-04-21 14:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wooxman (Post 8294926)
Interesting! Chronicles on PC also has medipack cheats that have been known since release: https://www.ign.com/wikis/pc-cheats/...onicles_Cheats

That’s actually an underflow glitch :o that depends on a bug with the hotkeys

Wooxman 27-04-21 09:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8294941)
That’s actually an underflow glitch :o that depends on a bug with the hotkeys

Interesting! Probably makes sense, why else would they only put medipack cheats in the game and not weapon cheats and also have you cheat small and large medipacks independently from each other. :D

lance6439 27-04-21 21:27

this is amazing

tomblover 28-04-21 12:08

Speaking of hotkeys, this is unrelated - but I put in the FILTHY cheat to go to Russia, and when I picked up the uzis, I wasn't able to quickly select them by hitting the 3 key? :confused:

Does this have to do with the cheat, or do the weapon hotkeys just not work in TR5, and I simply forgot? :vlol:

(I didn't try the medi hotkeys - plus I believe my .exe is customized, so that might be part of the problem, but I thought I could ask anyway...)

Great find, by the way. It's lovely to be able to revisit individual sections of the game without having to keep a savegame. :tmb:

Wooxman 28-04-21 14:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomblover (Post 8295248)
Speaking of hotkeys, this is unrelated - but I put in the FILTHY cheat to go to Russia, and when I picked up the uzis, I wasn't able to quickly select them by hitting the 3 key? :confused:

Does this have to do with the cheat, or do the weapon hotkeys just not work in TR5, and I simply forgot? :vlol:

Unfortunately Chronicles never had weapon hotkeys.

Woops 28-04-21 15:54

^ Yeah, no weapon hotkeys unfortunately. Core removed them because they can cause a crash (hit 1 in TR4's title, and it will crash) instead of fixing it :(

tomblover 28-04-21 15:57

Huh!



Thank you guys for reminding me. :p

Wooxman 29-04-21 06:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8295281)
^ Yeah, no weapon hotkeys unfortunately. Core removed them because they can cause a crash (hit 1 in TR4's title, and it will crash) instead of fixing it :(

Huh! I never had this crash happening because I never got the idea of pressing 1 in the main menu. And all these years I thought that Chronicles was just a lazy port. :o

mizuno_suisei 10-05-21 01:45

Nice thread! Check out this video of my Japanese PC port of TR5 goodies.



-DOZY unlocked unlike any other language internally (bar demo) Not switched off by Eidos Japan. Still requires 06 to 0F script.dat edit as per tr4/trle

-press i for items (all levels keys)

Love this game and all it's weird releases xD

SrDanielPonces 27-05-21 23:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei (Post 8297191)
Nice thread! Check out this video of my Japanese PC port of TR5 goodies.



-DOZY unlocked unlike any other language internally (bar demo) Not switched off by Eidos Japan. Still requires 06 to 0F script.dat edit as per tr4/trle

-press i for items (all levels keys)

Love this game and all it's weird releases xD

cool features, but honestly not worth those 599$

I guess collectors pay whatever it's necessary to have it

mizuno_suisei 28-05-21 08:29

Not a collector really - I just love Tomb Raider and Japanese language - they were expensive when they surfaced in online stores but...whatever. I can play them endlessly and learn something new every time ^^

TheBlueFox 29-05-21 12:32

Those features are present in Tomb Raider Chronicles Demo aswell (for free) the exe is compatible with the Retail version of the game.

mizuno_suisei 29-05-21 17:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBlueFox (Post 8301231)
Those features are present in Tomb Raider Chronicles Demo aswell (for free) the exe is compatible with the Retail version of the game.

I don't believe I for Items is however.

I wouldn't run full TR5 with the demo exe anyway...not the final build so I wouldnt necessarily trust it hah.

Woops 29-05-21 20:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei (Post 8301257)
I don't believe I for Items is however.

I wouldn't run full TR5 with the demo exe anyway...not the final build so I wouldnt necessarily trust it hah.

The I button works in the demo.

mizuno_suisei 30-05-21 03:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8301304)
The I button works in the demo.

Cool to know! Still wouldn't use it for a full play. Demo exe vs final build. Japanese exe does well :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.