www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   The Last Revelation (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   The tomb4 project (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=227037)

ATombRaiderFan 17-05-22 06:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei (Post 8356062)
I feel confident in my reply...but also not, but I BELIEVE this can actually be edited in TR4s script file by changing the UVrotate value in its line, for this levels script entry :pi:
Scripter4 can do this.

Alas, sadly the UVrotate value won't affect the water textures because it's hardcoded, info taken from here.

BTW if anyone is interested, I was inspired by mizuno_suisei and decided to correct the "Separate" word for The Times Exclusive bonus level. Grab the file here.

Joey79100 17-05-22 07:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATombRaiderFan (Post 8356076)
Alas, sadly the UVrotate value won't affect the water textures because it's hardcoded, info taken from here.

Actually no, it says it is hardcoded to 7 for objects, so for example that roundish waterfall for which the speed is correct. The flat waterfall, which is too fast, is a room geometry texture, which should be affected by the script command.
Here is the direct link to the relevant section.

In theory it should work. In practice I have no idea.
According to this page, the original scripts did have an UVRotate command of 8 for that level. Maybe just lowering it would be enough? (faces are much bigger on room geo than on the waterfall object, so the speed has to go faster, that might be the reason).

ATombRaiderFan 17-05-22 09:46

Ah, I stand corrected, thank you for explaining @Joey79100. In the video below, the UVrotate value is changed to 4, in vanilla it's 8.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWr3Go5YkyQ


I've made the change to mizuno_suisei's script file. These are the changes in full for both Script and English DAT files:

-SEPARATE, the correct spelling (mizuno_suisei)
-Added Golden Skull text value to, Race to the Iris (mizuno_suisei)
-Flat waterfall animation slowed down, Angkor Wat (ATombRaiderFan)

Edit: Removed download link because the modified DAT files prevented Fmv03 from playing.

.snake. 19-05-22 13:18

This is such a cool change! Thank you ATombRaiderFan! :D

I'm just trying to think now, is Angkor Wat the only level in TR4 with waterfalls like these, which are part of the room geometry as opposed to objects?

The waterfalls in Temple of Poseidon are objects. I'm not sure though about the light beams from Inside the Great Pyramid and Temple of Horus - those are also the same waterfall effect, but not sure if they're objects or room geometry. The reason I wonder is it would be interesting to see if anything else is running at the wrong speed because of a too high UVrotate value. :ponder:

Gerald Ulysius 21-05-22 20:44

Been getting back into the TR series lately, so it's nice to see this project has added some neat features and Qol additions. Though I seem to be having some issues that I've been trying to figure out.

I seem to be unable to alt+TAB out while the game is running, which isn't really the end of the world, just a minor issue due to having made it a habit of switching between the game and a guide on firefox.

The other issue I've noticed is something I'm not sure is due to the the Tomb4 Project .exe or just due to my own stupidity.

The game seems to shut down just fine from what I can tell, using either the exit option in the main menu or the alt+F4 method, but according to my Reliability Monitor tomb4.exe seems to crash every time at some point during shutdown.
Not really sure what the problem is, just a bit worried since I haven't seen any of the previous titles exhibit this behavior... I'm using the GOG version of TR4 if that helps narrow it down.

Woops 22-05-22 01:35

Hello, I've been very very very busy recently, sorry for the lack of updates here :p I will release a hotfix that fixes that crash really soon. it is indeed my fault. I haven't done anything else in tomb4 for the time being because I've just been super busy. sorry about that!

mizuno_suisei 22-05-22 01:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by .snake. (Post 8356330)
This is such a cool change! Thank you ATombRaiderFan! :D

I'm just trying to think now, is Angkor Wat the only level in TR4 with waterfalls like these, which are part of the room geometry as opposed to objects?

The waterfalls in Temple of Poseidon are objects. I'm not sure though about the light beams from Inside the Great Pyramid and Temple of Horus - those are also the same waterfall effect, but not sure if they're objects or room geometry. The reason I wonder is it would be interesting to see if anything else is running at the wrong speed because of a too high UVrotate value. :ponder:

You could use Scripter4 to, scroll through TR4s level entries to spot any that contain the UVrotate line ticked, therefore dumbing down which levels use it, and you could experiment from there :)

Gerald Ulysius 22-05-22 02:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8356710)
Hello, I've been very very very busy recently, sorry for the lack of updates here :p I will release a hotfix that fixes that crash really soon. it is indeed my fault. I haven't done anything else in tomb4 for the time being because I've just been super busy. sorry about that!

Oh, that's all right. Don't overexert yourself on my part. I'm happy enough you took the time to respond, so I definitely appreciate your efforts. Looking forward to seeing how this project will continue to improve. :tmb:

LateRaider 24-05-22 10:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8356710)
Hello, I've been very very very busy recently, sorry for the lack of updates here :p I will release a hotfix that fixes that crash really soon. it is indeed my fault. I haven't done anything else in tomb4 for the time being because I've just been super busy. sorry about that!

take your time troye :) thanks for your hard work.

i hate to ask but will you also fix that controller glitch? it's pretty egregious

Kirishima 24-05-22 18:42

@Woops

I guess I'll send a bit of late feedback. That update you sent me hasn't given me a single crash on exit since testing, or at least given me any messages on exit.

Woops 24-05-22 22:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by LateRaider (Post 8356991)
take your time troye :) thanks for your hard work.

i hate to ask but will you also fix that controller glitch? it's pretty egregious

I don't have the time to look into this atm, but sometime in the future yes-edit: nvm, fixed it

I will post the hotfix very soon, just need to make sure the earlier crash is really gone

mizuno_suisei 26-05-22 01:37

Possible bug report. Admittedly I'm really not too familiar with TR4 in full.

I suggested the tomb4 project to a friend of mine who isn't a member of TRF and hes advised the following

"the only I've found playing the entire game. Is that in the Mastabas level, Lara is unable to put the Bag of Sand into the scale where the sand goes. She just says "no" when attempting. I swapped back to original tomb4.exe configuration and it works fine so I think it's a bug in the new dll project perhaps"

Sorry if this has already been mentioned before and is pending fixing but I cant seem to see a mention :)

.snake. 26-05-22 01:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei (Post 8357274)
"the only I've found playing the entire game. Is that in the Mastabas level, Lara is unable to put the Bag of Sand into the scale where the sand goes. She just says "no" when attempting. I swapped back to original tomb4.exe configuration and it works fine so I think it's a bug in the new dll project perhaps"

That's odd because I didn't encounter this bug when I recently played it with the latest dll. Try to act fast and see if your friend still has a savegame because I believe that is helpful for Troye.

mizuno_suisei 26-05-22 02:10

He does have the savegame but cant supply until later today or maybe even tomorrow sadly. I did suggest to him to try it again anyway but maybe to just make sure he was correctly rotated to the object for its action to occur etc as some small things like this can make a difference in these game hah. I will report back with either the savegame or a "nevermind!" :vlol:

EDIT. His savegame shouldn't probably be needed now because of curiosity I downloaded some mastabas savegames to test it on my own end. "Savegame.4" from Stella's Steam/GOG savegame set for the Mastabas. Indeed, she refuses to pour the bag of sand :( tried at all angles around it too. the Jerry can and waterskin pour fine. I then tried the "multipatch" save versions and the same result. I then moved the new exe/dll out and moved back the unpatched versions and, voila, she pours the sand no problem.

While trying this- I actually encountered two other issues oh no!

1. When assigning joypad keys to my gamepad in the options menu- when trying to assign the JUMP key, the game crashes. All other buttons can be assigned fine. I tried assigning a few different gamepad keys to JUMP just to test the Waters and it is indeed just the JUMP entry that crashes the game. Tested on original tomb4 unpatched and, no crash occurs.

2. While testing out that above gamepad issue, the title screen was playing in the background naturally. I noticed the intermittent cutscenes within, stop at various points and continue onto the next flyby cam before the cutscene is meant to finish.
The first time as Lara was walking up the stairs to the skull, not 3 or so seconds in, the cameras cut to the next flyby.
Then the second time, she managed to get to the top or the stairs and as the skull is rotating, the cameras cut to the next flyby.

Woops 26-05-22 04:12

I'll check the sand, and joystick is already fixed.
as for the cutscenes in the title, stop skipping them :p cutscene skipper works in the title too!

mizuno_suisei 26-05-22 07:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8357280)
I'll check the sand, and joystick is already fixed.
as for the cutscenes in the title, stop skipping them :p cutscene skipper works in the title too!

Well I feel stupid :vlol: I must have been exiting the control config menu, during the cutscene then *facepalm* good old ESC key huh.

Re the joypad, do you mean it was fixed in the most recent release? (April 28?) As that's the version I'm using. Or do you mean you've fixed it now - and its then pending for a new release? :)

Woops 28-05-22 11:41

sorry for being late :o

here it is
small hotfix:
-Fixes the exit game crash
-Fixes the joystick key mapping crash
-Fixes joystick input

Gerald Ulysius 28-05-22 13:41

Excellent! Thanks for all your hard work. :D

LateRaider 29-05-22 09:43

works great, love you my liege

Gerald Ulysius 29-05-22 17:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei (Post 8357274)
Possible bug report. Admittedly I'm really not too familiar with TR4 in full.

I suggested the tomb4 project to a friend of mine who isn't a member of TRF and hes advised the following

"the only I've found playing the entire game. Is that in the Mastabas level, Lara is unable to put the Bag of Sand into the scale where the sand goes. She just says "no" when attempting. I swapped back to original tomb4.exe configuration and it works fine so I think it's a bug in the new dll project perhaps"

Sorry if this has already been mentioned before and is pending fixing but I cant seem to see a mention :)

Not much to add to this except that I've also made it to this point in the game and I seem to be having the same issue. Lara still interacts with the water and sun scales just fine, but she refuses to use the bag of sand item with the earth scale.

Jathom95 31-05-22 18:50

^ Yeah, ran into the same during my last playthrough. Just used one of Stella's saves to skip past it for the time being.

Woops 31-05-22 19:38

would anyone like to post a save

Gerald Ulysius 31-05-22 20:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8357861)
would anyone like to post a save

I don't really have much experience uploading files through this service, but hopefully this works.

https://mega.nz/file/C0MGlQKL#lONVx5...qAmSKMxuf5WMRU

mizuno_suisei 01-06-22 07:50

Stella's Savegame.4 for the mastabas (at the puzzle area) presents the glitch :)

Woops 01-06-22 14:51

Fixed, thank you for the save :)
please redownload from the same link, here- I didn't think this would need its own update.
old saves will still work, so if you were stuck on a save before this, it will work now :tmb:

Vitin_96 01-06-22 23:01

I know you are really busy, troye, just take your time. But I just would like to know if it's possible to fix the way the items you collect, when they appear spinning at the bottom right of the screen, fade in and out. It's kinda hard for me to explain, but on psx the items fade in and out offscreen, but on pc they just "pop" in and out. I think it's a bug, because at lower resolutions it works as intended.
Just for comparison, I will link these videos:

PC, at 0:13:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dM_Lbz8_qvQ

PSX, at 1:49:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSG5bSWyAtE&t=24155s

These other ones are a bit silly lol, but is it possible to add the letterboxes at the end credits, and add the title splash screen in the first loading screen? To match the console versions?
https://imgur.com/iDFt4EM
https://imgur.com/2H3A17s

Woops 02-06-22 01:11

I'll check the pickups
Not sure about the letterboxes, people usually ask me to turn them off :p will consider an option in the future :)
you can have the title splash screen if you place a bmp image in the folder (not sure of the specifics, the Times level uses this), it should be called language.bmp, for me it's uk.bmp

LateRaider 02-06-22 02:44

I whipped up some quick legal splash screens.
Credit to McPherson for the original The Times Level.

Download

1. These are at 4:3 (1440x1080)
2. The archive contains NTSC-U and PAL variants for TRIV and The Times Level, and and a PAL-Ger variant for TRIV exclusively
3. Choose your logo and rename it uk.bmp for it to work in-game
4. They go at the root game folder, e.g. "C:\GOG Games\Tomb Raider 4"

If you want to make your splash screen 16:9, be sure to save it as a 24-bit Bitmap in MS Paint. The easiest way to make my screens 16:9 is to add 240 pixels of black on the left and right edges of the image.

I originally wrote more detailed instructions, but accidentally refreshed. Oops.

Examples: (DO NOT SAVE THESE, THEY WON'T WORK!)
https://i.imgur.com/f5BLKBV.png
https://i.imgur.com/F7AXy5f.png
https://i.imgur.com/AYsIowI.png

Vitin_96 02-06-22 17:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8357971)
I'll check the pickups
Not sure about the letterboxes, people usually ask me to turn them off :p will consider an option in the future :)
you can have the title splash screen if you place a bmp image in the folder (not sure of the specifics, the Times level uses this), it should be called language.bmp, for me it's uk.bmp

Thank you!




Quote:

Originally Posted by LateRaider (Post 8357974)
i whipped up some quick legal splash screens

uk logo https://i.imgur.com/cXEaJsM.png
us logo https://i.imgur.com/zRRFB2h.png

save them as uk.bmp and plop them in the folder

edit 1 - actually i can't find uk.bmp in my the times installation??? idk where these go lmfao

edit 2 - these don't work currently sorry. need to get the proper format

Cool splash screens! No problem.

Joey79100 02-06-22 18:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vitin_96 (Post 8357962)
I know you are really busy, troye, just take your time. But I just would like to know if it's possible to fix the way the items you collect, when they appear spinning at the bottom right of the screen, fade in and out. It's kinda hard for me to explain, but on psx the items fade in and out offscreen, but on pc they just "pop" in and out. I think it's a bug, because at lower resolutions it works as intended.
Just for comparison, I will link these videos:

PC, at 0:13:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dM_Lbz8_qvQ

PSX, at 1:49:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSG5bSWyAtE&t=24155s

This is because of the aspect ratio isn't it? I remember it looking like PSX when playing in 4:3 a long time ago.

.snake. 02-06-22 18:34

I was actually wondering why this always happens in TRLE levels that use the ring inventory, and thought it just an automatic part of the plugin? Or maybe it can be adjusted?

I personally prefer how in TR4 the object slides in and out of frame as it does itís rotation vs the fade-in/fade-out since this often shows strange faces to the objects mesh.

LateRaider 02-06-22 19:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vitin_96 (Post 8358054)
Cool splash screens! No problem.

Thanks for the kind words, Vitin. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by LateRaider (Post 8357974)
i whipped up some quick legal splash screens

Download them from here: https://www.mediafire.com/file/6d7dc...reens.zip/file

These are at 4:3. Rename them uk.bmp for them to work. Also includes a Times Level splash screen with the US logo.

If you wanted to make them 16:9, be sure to save them as 24-bit Bitmaps in MS Paint for them to work, and name them uk.bmp. They go at the root game folder, e.g. "C:\GOG Games\Tomb Raider 4".

These are updated now.

There is also a UK-logo TRIV and TLR in there (also at 4:3), but I don't care much about it lol

.snake. 02-06-22 23:50

^ These are so beautiful. :cln:

What can I do to talk you into making one with the German logo of the game? :pi:

It's the one with the Roman Numeral IV.

.snake. 02-06-22 23:52

*Double post, sorry*

LateRaider 03-06-22 01:57

Yeah, sure. Here, downloadable from the same link as above

.snake. 03-06-22 04:44

Beautiful!!! Thank you so much! :D :tmb:

ATombRaiderFan 03-06-22 09:51

Thank you LateRaider for making the splash screen, it's nice to have a logo instead of a blank loading screen on startup :)

BTW Troye, I wanted to ask if you're aware of the bug when the flare stops working in Temple of Horus, this happens after Lara exits the 2nd scale room and won't work again until the boss battle starts. I've figured it's an OG bug because it's also mentioned in Stella's guide. Would you be able to fix it?

Kirishima 06-06-22 00:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joey79100 (Post 8358060)
This is because of the aspect ratio isn't it? I remember it looking like PSX when playing in 4:3 a long time ago.

Pretty much. Widescreen wasn't widely available at the time IIRC. Resolution probably also has something to do with it since the game didn't like being played at anything higher than 640x480 unmodded. Speaking of collecting items, the only thing about them I'd like fixed is that weird after image of the item that's usually solid black, but sometimes other colors. Doesn't show up in software mode.

Woops 08-06-22 06:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATombRaiderFan (Post 8358165)
Thank you LateRaider for making the splash screen, it's nice to have a logo instead of a blank loading screen on startup :)

BTW Troye, I wanted to ask if you're aware of the bug when the flare stops working in Temple of Horus, this happens after Lara exits the 2nd scale room and won't work again until the boss battle starts. I've figured it's an OG bug because it's also mentioned in Stella's guide. Would you be able to fix it?

yes, Joby forgot to antitrigger his flame emitters ;) there is a limit of 32 dynamic lights in the original. I can safely lift it up to 64 without causing any trouble, it contains the problem in the level. from my tests, the highest number of dynamic lights active in the level is about 45-49, well under the new 64 limit. will be in next release :tmb:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirishima (Post 8358431)
Pretty much. Widescreen wasn't widely available at the time IIRC. Resolution probably also has something to do with it since the game didn't like being played at anything higher than 640x480 unmodded. Speaking of collecting items, the only thing about them I'd like fixed is that weird after image of the item that's usually solid black, but sometimes other colors. Doesn't show up in software mode.

I don't directly know what causes it off the top of my head, it has to do with the way the game clears the zbuffer. i.e it's probably wedged deep in the renderer. I will look into it but it will probably take a while before I reach the bottom of it

also, @LateRaider, thank you for the loading screens, they make the game feel more complete :)
Speaking of the loading screens, for most people uk.bmp works, but the name will be different for each language of the game, here is a list:

-English (UK) and Dutch: uk.bmp
-French: france.bmp
-German: germany.bmp
-Italian: italy.bmp
-Spanish: spain.bmp
-English (US): usa.bmp
-Japanese: japan.bmp

(I personally do not know if the game was actually localized to all these languages (Japanese? I know PSX got one, did PC? my physical JP copy just uses Latin letters iirc, this list is what the code does.)

ATombRaiderFan 08-06-22 08:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Woops (Post 8358617)
yes, Joby forgot to antitrigger his flame emitters ;) there is a limit of 32 dynamic lights in the original. I can safely lift it up to 64 without causing any trouble, it contains the problem in the level. from my tests, the highest number of dynamic lights active in the level is about 45-49, well under the new 64 limit. will be in next release :tmb:

Thank you for fixing the flare bug, and for giving a technical explanation for why the bug occurs, I find this fascinating :tmb:


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.