www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   The Lost Artifact (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   tr3gold.exe crash on Win 10 (on main menu load) (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=224913)

Sardoc 04-08-20 01:17

tr3gold.exe crash on Win 10 (on main menu load)
 
EDIT, got a solution to my problem. Posting this above the original post.

What helped was editing the config.txt file and disabling MMX (setting it to 0).




Now, back to the original opening post.






Hi!

I wonder if anyone else has this problem. tr3gold.exe launches fine, the title is displayed, the intro video plays fine, but as soon as the menu loads, the game crashes.

I've got no idea what causes it (... well, apart from Win 10 being garbage), especially since TR3 works just fine. Everything worked fine on an older PC with Win 7.

Any ideas?

I've tested this with and without compatibility layer, with/without dgVoodoo, and with/without the "Use AGP mem" option in the settings.

charmedangelin 04-08-20 06:44

Works fine on my PC running windows 10. You ran the setup and made sure everything is correct there?

Also rightclick on the exe and make sure overide screen optimization is unchecked or checked I think.

Also what resolution are you running it at? I've had this problem before with other classic games and most of the time it came down to resolution issue.

Sardoc 04-08-20 08:39

As far as I know, I'm not doing anything different to what the old PC (Win 7) did. Everything is unticked on the "Compatibility" tab, will try fiddling with it a bit more after work.

I did indeed go through the installer. I suspect it's some core difference between W7 and W10, or maybe some component, a driver, something like that. I just haven't found out what it is yet.

I also have TR2 running, but not playing any music. I use an audio solution from someone on TR Forums (Link), been using it for years and never had issues with it, but it looks like on W10 the library just doesn't load. And the funniest thing is, the exact same solution works fine in TR2 Gold. Again, none of these issues were present on Win 7.

ATombRaiderFan 04-08-20 09:26

Have you tried Arsunt's exe file? It works for Lost Artifact on Windows 10 for me.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arsunt (Post 7733224)
As I promised, here are patched EXE files with the automatic FOV fix and the new FMV player for TR3 and The Lost Artifact. Also it includes sunglasses bugfix.

This version of the game supports a great many video formats, thanks to the built-in ffmpeg codecs, including support for RPL and MP4. You do not need to install any codec, driver or wrapper packages. This is the implementation of fully native support for any FMV, including HQ. The volume level of the videos is set in accordance with the volume of in-game music.

I've disabled old videoplayer files, so you can delete them if you want: dec130.dll, edec.dll, winplay.dll, winsdec.dll, winstr.dll. Instead, I created a single video player file ffplay.dll. It is based on ffmpeg player source code, but also includes a simple and reliable game interaction interface. SDL 1.2 required, so I include SDL.dll too.

Do not combine this patch with other Widescreen patches and Peixoto's patch. They will break the correct work of the game.

P.S. These are just a few small nice patches from the already implemented arsenal of features and bugfixes. I hope you enjoy them.

UPD. I've updated the patch. Old links deleted.


Sardoc 04-08-20 19:25

Hi!

Thanks for the link! Unfortunately there's no difference in TR3Gold, still crashes as soon as the main menu shows up.

charmedangelin 04-08-20 20:07

^This indicates that something is wrong with the installation of Tomb Raider 3 Gold. Any way you can reinstall it?

puristic jink 04-08-20 21:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sardoc (Post 8226412)
Hi!

Thanks for the link! Unfortunately there's no difference in TR3Gold, still crashes as soon as the main menu shows up.

You might need a new PC.

ANoDE 05-08-20 05:48

I've heard that audio hardware acceleration can cause older games to crash.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...nd-src-sliders

It's a long shot, but I've heard it can work.

ATombRaiderFan 05-08-20 09:38

Hey Sardoc, I found a thread with someone who had the same problem i.e. crashing at menu. Maybe take a look at this solution below.

Quote:

Originally Posted by laracroftswest (Post 8184428)
Might not be appropriate to bump this relatively "old" thread, but I found my old copy of TLA and ran into the same issue. Really odd there's no definitive fix to this when all other classics/expansions seem to work perfectly.

Edit: For those interested, it appears by creating a new config.txt file in the installation folder for the game allows it to work. I found this courtesy of laravision in the technical support section. If anyone is still seeing this problem, just paste this in the .txt file:

Quote:

DD 0
D3D 1
D3DTF 1
DS 0
VM 18
ZBUFFER 1
DITHER 1
FILTER 1
AGP 0
SOUND 1
JOYSTICK 0
MMX 0
SFX 10
MUSIC 5
GAMMA 10.000000
DEFKEY 200 208 203 205 52 53 54 184 157 57 51 82 207 1
USERKEY 72 80 75 77 83 79 54 184 157 57 76 82 207 1

Hope this helps others running into issues with this hidden gem of a game :)


Final Count 05-08-20 16:18

Something that happens in my game, after installing Peixoto's patch to get rid of blurry textures and that vertical line on the title screen, is that when I open Lara's inventory in-game, the background is transparent. And if I exit the game to the title screen, the title screen icons do pop up, as well as the main theme, but the background is still the moment in the game I exited it.

Like, if I exited the game while Lara was hanging in mid-air, I'm at the main menu of the game, but instead of the Lost Artefact title screen in the background, it's the in-game moment from when I exited the game.

Dermahn 05-08-20 18:59

A friend of mine and I had the same issue. We never found a fix for it :o
I ended up using the default tomb3 game to play it but I had edit some of the levels to make it playable. The submarines in Sleeping With the Fishes move too fast to get one of the secrets so I had to use FexInspect to move it allll the way back. I also had to get rid of the Sophia fight by putting her in the pit because she was impossible to kill.

Oddly, on my current machine (which also runs Win10) the game works fine :ponder:

Sardoc 06-08-20 01:00

Yea, none of the proposed solutions worked. I suspect it has to be some driver or some compatibility change in Win 10 which I haven't found yet.

Shame, cos it's a new machine, and modern games run very well so far. It's the older games that so far have been really iffy.

SophieAyase 06-08-20 03:42

It sounds like the menu file itself (title.tr2) might be corrupted.

Sardoc 06-08-20 08:35

I don't think it is corrupted. It's exactly the same as the one on the CD (I've hex-compared them), plus as I've said, all of this worked absolutely fine on the old PC with Win 7.

I was doing some research on Win 10 compatibility, because I also have a problem with TR2 not loading the libs required for the audio solution to work. If I rename Tomb2.exe to anything else (Game.exe for example), suddenly the .dll files load and the game works perfectly fine. Maybe there's some built-in database which identifies programs/games by name, and applies some pre-defined settings?

Unfortunately changing the name doesn't do the trick for TLA. Still crashes as soon as the menu loads.

tomblover 06-08-20 13:28

If deleting the config file doesn't do anything - try running the game with dgVoodoo?

I use dgVoodoo along with Arsunt's .exe patch, and the game works a treat for me...

ackamonk 06-08-20 17:10

Had exactly the same problem and nothing I tried worked, ended up using my Steam tomb3.exe to play it. Worked fine but I did have to use downloaded savegames to get past the sub in SWTF and to deal with Sophia.

Sardoc 06-08-20 18:02

I'm using DgVoodoo already and have been for the last couple of years, but even if I disable it, the problem still occurs.

Well, will keep digging in the next couple of days. I'll probably dig deep enough to get to China.

Sardoc 07-08-20 20:05

I've tested Arsunt's patch for TR2, and I gotta say I'm really impressed. Everything works fine: the music, the aspect ratio, the HP and air bars are scaling correctly... Everything is smooth, no need for dgVoodoo, no crashes even on Win 10.

I hope he does the same for the other TRs, because this is lovely!

Unfortunately still no good news for TR3 TLA.

ATombRaiderFan 08-08-20 10:34

^ TR2Main is indeed impressive. I read that Arsunt will be working on TR1 and TR3 next. So that's something to look forward to :o

laravision 08-08-20 15:47

If the crashes still occur after trying all the usual steps (config.txt placement, avoiding program files/bypassing VirtualStore, using Arsunt's exe, running the setup etc), then try setting WinXP compatibility mode with a fresh launch of the game (without config.txt present). Once the config.txt file has generated, you can try turning off WinXP compatibility. I guess you could also try with an existing config.txt being present should one not generate, although I assume you already have.

If crashes still persist, another thing you could try is using DxWnd. This helped a streamer who was experiencing menu crashes with this game.

Nickelony 12-08-20 08:02

I just installed TR3LA from my disk and I'm having the exact same issue. The game crashes as soon as the main menu title image shows up. I'm using Windows 10 ver. 2004. None of the compatibility settings worked. Has anyone found a solution for this issue yet?

laravision 12-08-20 13:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nickelony (Post 8229125)
I just installed TR3LA from my disk and I'm having the exact same issue. The game crashes as soon as the main menu title image shows up. I'm using Windows 10 ver. 2004. None of the compatibility settings worked. Has anyone found a solution for this issue yet?

I've lost track of the amount of times I've given instructions on how to run this game. Apart from compatibility settings, can you outline what exactly you have done so far? If you haven't patched the game and copied folders over from the CD, you will face problems.

I've never had an issue running this game, even on Windows 10. There must be some variable which prevents this game from running...perhaps with high-end systems. :confused:

Nickelony 12-08-20 16:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8229174)
I've lost track of the amount of times I've given instructions on how to run this game. Apart from compatibility settings, can you outline what exactly you have done so far? If you haven't patched the game and copied folders over from the CD, you will face problems.

I've never had an issue running this game, even on Windows 10. There must be some variable which prevents this game from running...perhaps with high-end systems. :confused:

Basically everything which was mentioned here.
None of the compatibility settings (Win95...Win8) have worked.
DxWnd didn't work.
The config.txt file doesn't even exist in either my TR3 or TR3GOLD game folder. Is there something I'm missing? The settings are getting saved though. TR3 runs perfectly fine and it's from the same physical copy (a bundle with the first 6 TR games + GOLDs)
Peixoto's patch didn't work either.

I ran out of ideas at this point. :/

I remember I ran the game without any issues on Win10 a while ago, but I'm not sure if that was before or after I upgraded my PC.
I'm currently using a Ryzen 2600x + GTX 1070Ti combo, dunno if that info would help.

laravision 12-08-20 20:38

Okay, where do you have the game installed? If it's in Program Files, this could explain the absence of config file in the games folder. See the following quote:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sardoc (Post 6952729)
If both of these are true:

- the game is installed in C:\Program Files or Program Files (x86)\........... ;
- AND you have User Account Control turned on (those yes-no questions which appear every time you install something),

then your saves will be in
C:\Users\*insert username*\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Core Design\Tomb Raider

Otherwise (UAC turned off and/or the game installed anywhere but C disk), it will just be in the game location.

This also pertains to the config file in addition to savegame files. This is an older quote, so things work a little differently on Windows 10, but the VirtualStore location is still utilised. Perhaps try moving your Lost Artefact folder to another location such as the documents folder, and try all troubleshooting steps again, including running the setup. It may not make any difference, but it's worth a shot.

Nickelony 13-08-20 09:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8229294)
Okay, where do you have the game installed? If it's in Program Files, this could explain the absence of config file in the games folder. See the following quote:


This also pertains to the config file in addition to savegame files. This is an older quote, so things work a little differently on Windows 10, but the VirtualStore location is still utilised. Perhaps try moving your Lost Artefact folder to another location such as the documents folder, and try all troubleshooting steps again, including running the setup. It may not make any difference, but it's worth a shot.

The VirtualStore directory is empty... There's nothing there.
I have reinstalled TR3GOLD onto my second drive, outside Program Files and I've got the same main-menu crashing issue.
My friend also sent me one of his 100% working TR3GOLD copies and even that copy doesn't launch for me.
I then tried installing the game on my brother's Win10 PC and... it doesn't work there either.

I guess I won't be replaying TR3GOLD anytime soon. :<

ATombRaiderFan 13-08-20 10:15

^Just to put here how I got TLA up and running on windows 10. Maybe it will help.
  1. Go into 'Documents' and create a folder. This will be your TLA directory.
  2. Open the disc and copy the following folders; audio, data, fmv, pix, script and support, and paste all these into the new TLA directory.
  3. Put Arsunt's exe and dll files into the TLA directory.

laravision 13-08-20 12:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nickelony (Post 8229350)
The VirtualStore directory is empty... There's nothing there.
I have reinstalled TR3GOLD onto my second drive, outside Program Files and I've got the same main-menu crashing issue.
My friend also sent me one of his 100% working TR3GOLD copies and even that copy doesn't launch for me.
I then tried installing the game on my brother's Win10 PC and... it doesn't work there either.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nickelony (Post 8229229)
The settings are getting saved though.

This is strange. How do you know the settings are being saved if the game crashes? I don't think TR3 uses the registry to save settings like the other games do; it's done via the config.txt file. This config file doesn't seem to be generating and could be the culprit of the crashes.

As you mentioned TR3 works fine, then locate your TR3 config file - is it present in your TR3 folder or its VirtualStore location? If you find it, copy and paste it into your TLA folder. You can also refer to the following config settings (you may have done so already).

Save the following as config.txt and place it in your TR3 LA folder:
Code:

DD 0
D3D 1
D3DTF 1
DS 0
VM 18
ZBUFFER 1
DITHER 1
FILTER 1
AGP 0
SOUND 1
JOYSTICK 0
MMX 0
SFX 10
MUSIC 5
GAMMA 10.000000
DEFKEY 200 208 203 205 52 53 54 184 157 57 51 82 207 1
USERKEY 72 80 75 77 83 79 54 184 157 57 76 82 207 1

Also, have you tried running the game as administrator? If all else fails, you may be facing a similar issue as Sardoc, although he hasn't specifically mentioned about the config.txt file missing...

My folder contents (Documents) on Windows 10:

https://i.postimg.cc/rygFwzsK/tla-folder.png

I'm assuming you've tried Arsunt's patch and/or the generic No-CD patched exe's?

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATombRaiderFan (Post 8229352)
  1. Go into 'Documents' and create a folder. This will be your TLA directory.
  2. Open the disc and copy the following folders; audio, data, fmv, pix, script and support, and paste all these into the new TLA directory.
  3. Put Arsunt's exe and dll files into the TLA directory.

What are those files in bold? They are not present in my folder/sub folders. As far as I know, TLA doesn't use a file called "script". As for "support", I highly doubt some HTML file from the year 2000 is vital in getting the game to run. :p

ATombRaiderFan 13-08-20 13:08

^Ah okay thanks. The 'script' folder contains a file called trtla.dat - I don't know if it's necessary for running the game so I just did the 'devil you know' thing and tried covering all bases. :o

[Update] Just checked and trtla.dat is also present in 'data' folder as well.

Nickelony 13-08-20 13:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8229364)
This is strange. How do you know the settings are being saved if the game crashes? I don't think TR3 uses the registry to save settings like the other games do; it's done via the config.txt file. This config file doesn't seem to be generating and could be the culprit of the crashes.

I just want to point out that the TR3GOLD build I have is from 2011 and it's from the polish publisher Cenega. Yes, you heard it right, it's a BUILD from 2011. It's a bit different from the original because it doesn't have the usual game folder structure. Instead of all the folders being in the main directory, there's a cd folder, which contains all the game files.

Going a bit off-topic, that disc also has a very interesting TR2+Gold build, where you choose which game (TR2 or TR2GOLD) you want to play at the start... but it's not like an additional window, it's an in-game choice. This basically makes it impossible for me to apply any external patches to that .exe file, because it's not the original build. It's from 2011 as well and even the .exe file name is different this time.

But going back to TR3GOLD, I tried everything at this point. Moving folders and even getting a different build to see if it runs. Sadly, the same issue happens to that other build too.

Creating the config file manually doesn't help, but at the same time, as I already said, the TR3 build from that disc works perfectly fine. All the settings in that game are getting saved, but... the config.txt file is nowhere to be found. Neither in the game folder nor in the VirtualStore folder. (keep in mind that this is also a build from 2011)

Also neither Arsunt's patch nor the No-CD patch helped. (On both my version and my friend's more "authentic" version, which doesn't even support 1080p screens)

RIP I guess.

EDIT: I think I have a theory... can it be a sound driver / sound device related issue? The game crashes when the main menu song starts playing. I tried disabling the sound entirely, but that didn't fix it, although I remember having a similar issue once and doing something with my sound devices helped. I will try to investigate.

laravision 13-08-20 15:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATombRaiderFan (Post 8229369)
^Ah okay thanks. The 'script' folder contains a file called trtla.dat - I don't know if it's necessary for running the game so I just did the 'devil you know' thing and tried covering all bases. :o

[Update] Just checked and trtla.dat is also present in 'data' folder as well.

Okay. To my knowledge, the trla.dat file should be placed in the data folder, not the root folder. I've just checked the TLA CD contents (Premiere Collection), and it's in a folder called Script. It is a required file. I wonder why it's not located in the data folder on the disc? Maybe this is how the file structure was pre-patch days?

@Nickelony

I think I have heard of this classic bundle edition. Perhaps they are indeed structured a little differently as you pointed out with TR2+Gold.

So, when you play TR3, do you need the CD in the drive with that edition? Doubtful, but I wonder if this edition saves its settings using a different method (like a .reg entry), seeing as you cannot find any config file. Have you tried an actual search on your PC for that config file?

Can you show the contents of your TR3/TLA game folders? Where are the tombpc.dat (TR3) & trla.dat (TLA) files located? As there might be some build/structure differences, it's worth comparing to mine. Also, your friends "100% working TR3GOLD" copy that you tried and was still faced with a crash - was that from one of these newer bundle builds? If not, that points to this issue being some other variable, not related to builds.

Who knows. This whole bundle edition thing has thrown a spanner in the works, but it may not even be related.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nickelony (Post 8229372)
EDIT: I think I have a theory... can it be a sound driver / sound device related issue? The game crashes when the main menu song starts playing. I tried disabling the sound entirely, but that didn't fix it, although I remember having a similar issue once and doing something with my sound devices helped. I will try to investigate.

Hmm...interesting. Earlier in this thread, Sardoc mentioned that he had audio issues (with TR2) in addition to the Lost Artefact crash problem.

Nickelony 13-08-20 15:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8229391)
Okay. To my knowledge, the trla.dat file should be placed in the data folder, not the root folder. I've just checked the TLA CD contents (Premiere Collection), and it's in a folder called Script. It is a required file. I wonder why it's not located in the data folder on the disc? Maybe this is how the file structure was pre-patch days?

@Nickelony

I think I have heard of this classic bundle edition. Perhaps they are indeed structured a little differently as you pointed out with TR2+Gold.

So, when you play TR3, do you need the CD in the drive with that edition? Doubtful, but I wonder if this edition saves its settings using a different method (like a .reg entry), seeing as you cannot find any config file. Have you tried an actual search on your PC for that config file?

Can you show the contents of your TR3/TLA game folders? Where are the tombpc.dat (TR3) & trla.dat (TLA) files located? As there might be some build/structure differences, it's worth comparing to mine. Also, your friends "100% working TR3GOLD" copy that you tried and was still faced with a crash - was that from one of these newer bundle builds? If not, that points to this issue being some other variable, not related to builds.

Who knows. This whole bundle edition thing has thrown a spanner in the works, but it may not even be related.

My friend's version didn't look like it was from a bundle. It basically looks like yours from the screenshots.

BTW here's how my version (from the bundle) looks like:
https://ck2dqg.db.files.1drv.com/y4m...9kr.png?psid=1
cd folder content:
https://ck2gqg.db.files.1drv.com/y4m...4OD.png?psid=1
data folder content:
https://ck2fqg.db.files.1drv.com/y4m...t4l.png?psid=1

EDIT: I can confirm the game is working on my friend's PC. I sent him the .iso I created of the disc and it's working perfectly fine for him.

laravision 13-08-20 15:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nickelony (Post 8229392)
I can confirm the game is working on my friend's PC. I sent him the .iso I created of the disc and it's working perfectly fine for him.

Strange. Are you still investigating the audio driver/sound device theory?

Nickelony 13-08-20 15:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8229405)
Strange. Are you still investigating the audio driver/sound device theory?

I did, nothing really helped. I can confirm though that there's like 1ms of the main theme playing before it crashes. This is soo odd...

laravision 13-08-20 16:19

I'm leaning towards it being related to the config.txt file, absent or not. We need Sardoc to report back on his progress, if any. I wonder if his config file is visible.

If the crash issue is CD/build related, or some Windows variable, then I'm not sure what that could be.

Sardoc 13-08-20 21:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8229413)
I'm leaning towards it being related to the config.txt file, absent or not. We need Sardoc to report back on his progress, if any. I wonder if his config file is visible.

If the crash issue is CD/build related, or some Windows variable, then I'm not sure what that could be.

No, the config file is one of the very first things I've tried. Present or not, copy-pasted values from TR3 or not, multi-patched or not, compatibility or not, even Arsunt-patched or not, it doesn't matter, the game still crashes.

It has to be related to Win 10 version 2004, or some driver or something of the sort, because on my old PC with Windows 7 every single classic TR works flawlessly. No crashes, no freezes, nothing of the sort.

Sardoc 13-08-20 21:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nickelony (Post 8229409)
I did, nothing really helped. I can confirm though that there's like 1ms of the main theme playing before it crashes. This is soo odd...

Hm, what's your hardware? Maybe graphics card? Mine is Evga GF 1080 TI, 11GB, driver version 451.67.
Also AMD Ryzen 9 3950X.

Mek 13-08-20 21:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sardoc (Post 8229490)
It has to be related to Win 10 version 2004, or some driver or something of the sort, because on my old PC with Windows 7 every single classic TR works flawlessly. No crashes, no freezes, nothing of the sort.

You wouldn't want to restore your system to Win 10 version 1909 and then check, would you?

Sardoc 13-08-20 23:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mek (Post 8229493)
You wouldn't want to restore your system to Win 10 version 1909 and then check, would you?

No, especially since this machine had 2004 right from the start.

I mean, I can still play TR3 Gold on the old PC, so it's not too big of a deal, but it would be nice if the new PC was cooperating.

ATombRaiderFan 14-08-20 05:58

Interesting. Just checked and I'm still using 1909 too.

Nickelony 14-08-20 08:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sardoc (Post 8229491)
Hm, what's your hardware? Maybe graphics card? Mine is Evga GF 1080 TI, 11GB, driver version 451.67.
Also AMD Ryzen 9 3950X.

Well, I already gave my specs earlier, but here is the full thing:
CPU: Ryzen 5 2600x
GPU: Zotac GeForce GTX 1070Ti Mini (Driver version: 451.67)
MOBO: MSI B450M Gaming Plus
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4, 2x8GB, 3200 MHz, CL16

OS: Windows 10 2004

Someone should update to Win10 2004 and check if it works for them.
I tested TR3GOLD on 2 Win10 2004 PCs and the game doesn't launch on either of them.


EDIT: My friend who is running Win10 2004 managed to run TR3GOLD without issues, so I guess that theory is now invalid.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.