www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider II (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Best way to run TRII PC (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=225217)

Arsunt 21-02-21 11:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by EpicRaider (Post 8281096)
Is Lara slightly shorter in TR2Main? She looks a bit taller and skinnier in PSX. Is there a way of using the game's original proportions?

TR2Main gives game's original proportions. PS1 proportions depend from your TV propotions, or your PSX emulator proportions, so they are variable for everyone.

EpicRaider 21-02-21 13:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arsunt (Post 8281101)
TR2Main gives game's original proportions. PS1 proportions depend from your TV propotions, or your PSX emulator proportions, so they are variable for everyone.

Oh... that explains why the menu typeface in TR3 looked so ugly. Apparently duckstation output is widescreen-ready by default. I changed the config and it looks much better now. Thank you again!

Kirishima 21-02-21 18:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by EpicRaider (Post 8281096)
Is Lara slightly shorter in TR2Main? She looks a bit taller and skinnier in PSX. Is there a way of using the game's original proportions?

That's an aspect ratio/FOV issue the console versions had that Core never decided to fix since it didn't distort the image too much. Lower resolution mode in TR1 also had that narrow look when played on a 4x3 display, forcing it into its pixel aspect ratio (320x200) causes the display to match the higher resolution settings. My guess is those versions still think they're also displayed in 320x200, regardless of different resolutions.

HeroBrineR 09-03-21 21:03

I've just installed Tomb Raider II after a long time, and noticed that the audio seems muffled. Is this a common problem, and how do I fix it? I've already installed Arsunt's patch.

laravision 10-03-21 00:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by HeroBrineR (Post 8284500)
I've just installed Tomb Raider II after a long time, and noticed that the audio seems muffled. Is this a common problem, and how do I fix it? I've already installed Arsunt's patch.

Can you clarify what exactly you mean by muffled? Some common problems with TR2 audio include tracks looping/repeating, volume adjustment or even tracks refusing to play altogether. These issues can also depend on what audio solution you're using. Arsunt's TR2Main was designed to use PaulD's audio fix by default (audio folder with cdaudio.mp3 and cdaudio.dat), but it can use other solutions as well.

HeroBrineR 10-03-21 07:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8284562)
Can you clarify what exactly you mean by muffled? Some common problems with TR2 audio include tracks looping/repeating, volume adjustment or even tracks refusing to play altogether. These issues can also depend on what audio solution you're using. Arsunt's TR2Main was designed to use PaulD's audio fix by default (audio folder with cdaudio.mp3 and cdaudio.dat), but it can use other solutions as well.

Compared to TR1 and future games, the audio of Lara's movements all seem to be muffled. (Jumping, stepping sounds, gunfire). Furthermore, there is no music playing in the main menu.

I have installed the game on my phone, and all the audio is crisp. I'll attempt to record some footage of the muffled audio on my pc today.

laravision 10-03-21 14:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by HeroBrineR (Post 8284649)
Compared to TR1 and future games, the audio of Lara's movements all seem to be muffled. (Jumping, stepping sounds, gunfire). Furthermore, there is no music playing in the main menu.
I have installed the game on my phone, and all the audio is crisp. I'll attempt to record some footage of the muffled audio on my pc today.

Oh, so you're referring to the actual sound effects (main.sfx) being muffled. I'm assuming you're using the original main.sfx file and not an botched modified one? I'm not sure what the issue could be in this case so yeah, a video may help. What is the source of your TR2 installation - Steam, GOG or CD version? As for the music itself not playing, this can depend on a few factors. A screenshot of your game folder contents may also be helpful.

HeroBrineR 11-03-21 12:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by laravision (Post 8284720)
Oh, so you're referring to the actual sound effects (main.sfx) being muffled. I'm assuming you're using the original main.sfx file and not an botched modified one? I'm not sure what the issue could be in this case so yeah, a video may help. What is the source of your TR2 installation - Steam, GOG or CD version? As for the music itself not playing, this can depend on a few factors. A screenshot of your game folder contents may also be helpful.

I got the game from GOG a few years ago, and installed the patch two days ago. I have not tried to run the game before installing the patch, so I have no idea if the problems were there prior to running the patch. Although I do remember opening it once, and hearing the music. But that was a long time ago.

https://media.discordapp.net/attachm...020&height=124
Files in the game folder


Video comparing the ingame audio of TR1, 2, and 3. The audio in TR1 and TR3 are crisp, in TR2 it's muffled. Please excuse the framerate, I am using display capture which is very laggy because my recording software cannot record TR1-5 for some reason.

Defrago 11-03-21 13:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by HeroBrineR (Post 8284894)
Video comparing the ingame audio of TR1, 2, and 3. The audio in TR1 and TR3 are crisp, in TR2 it's muffled. Please excuse the framerate, I am using display capture which is very laggy because my recording software cannot record TR1-5 for some reason.

I watched your video and haven't noticed any problem except no sound at the Title. And looks like I see why. TR2Main is based on Steam exe and Steam version has audio folder with files cdaudio.mp3 and cdaudio.dat. It's PaulID solution. There is no folder music with Steam version. Every game on your video sounds exactly as it supposed to be.

Robsters85 11-03-21 13:15

playing tr2 at the mo from steam using 7 64bit but i find it doesnt always launch from steam so sometimes have to select tr.exe from the folder and using widescreen patch working well so far half way through the game


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:53.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.