www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Next Generation Level Editor (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   TRNG - Bugs & Limitations Thread (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=165980)

justin 18-11-21 00:45

A bug certainly makes sense. I had an issue where I couldn't recreate the Shatter8/9 object (only breakable by templar). No matter what OCB I used, or which slot it was in, Lara could break it with the pistols, or sometimes the shotgun.

What I had to do was create a dummy static object that was a bit bigger than the shatter object to prevent Lara from shooting the Shatter, while still allowing the Templar to break it (bullets won't go through the Dummy Static, but Templar's sword will).

Then I just triggered the dummy to disappear when the shatter shattered. It was a convoluted workaround that shouldn't have been needed, but it worked for my application (luckily).

This may work for you, since explosives should also get past any dummy static collision.

maati139 18-11-21 01:03

Thanks, I will keep that solution in mind but still I'm looking for some more global, scripted solution because I need to implement this to the whole game, in many places. :(

update:

It seems that I can use CUSTOMIZE= CUST_SHATTER_SPECIFIC, CROSSBOW_AMMO3_ITEM, GRENADE_GUN_AMMO1_ITEM, GRENADE_GUN_AMMO2_ITEM and ocb8192 to have effect like with old ocb 1024.. or at least I didn't find at moment any further problems with that solution. If this will not work, I'll make another update with solutions.

justin 18-11-21 03:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by maati139 (Post 8331485)
update:

It seems that I can use CUSTOMIZE= CUST_SHATTER_SPECIFIC, CROSSBOW_AMMO3_ITEM, GRENADE_GUN_AMMO1_ITEM, GRENADE_GUN_AMMO2_ITEM and ocb8192 to have effect like with old ocb 1024.. or at least I didn't find at moment any further problems with that solution. If this will not work, I'll make another update with solutions.

Ah nice! I never even noticed that useful customize :)

turneraider 26-05-22 04:16

I've posted about this bug before, but I think I've narrowed it down and figured out it happens to levels using NGLE.. :o

Not sure if this also has to do with DS4 as I don't ever remember experiencing it in the past, but I get horrible down arrow lag in all custom levels to the point where they're unplayable without a controller! Other people said they've had it happen before, but also didn't know the cause.. :o :(

I recently deleted all my TRLE folders and reinstalled everything to start clean and as soon as I install NGLE the lag begins, which is what makes me believe that's the issue.. Not 100% positive, but this issue is super annoying so if anyone could look into it that would be great! :)

Richard_trle 26-05-22 06:08

Speaking of statics and bugs.

I think it probably has been documented before, but a static with scalable OCB can activate Heavy Triggers with collision. This is very odd.

justin 25-07-22 14:43

Inventory items disappearing when savegame is shared
 
So I've recently noticed a bug with savegames in my game when they are shared between computers: inventory items disappear :eek:

For reference, I'm using Aky's plugin to use NVARs in conjunction with JMN's Classic Ring Inventory plugin. This is relevant because I'm using NVARs to store the value of some item quantities. These items disappear if I save the game on one computer, then transfer the savegame to another computer.

Is it possible that the values are being saved somewhere else outside of the Engine folder?

Even worse is sometimes the Save and Load items disappear from the inventory, and I have no idea why that would happen, since those are not using any custom values.

SrDanielPonces 25-07-22 18:42

Most likely those plugins aren't compatible. AkyV probably tested those features on default inventory, not the ring one.

AkyV 25-07-22 23:00

In a user-friendly language, JMN reformed highly more menu callbacks (procedures) to get a nicely working ring inventory. My plugins naturally refer to the original procedures, which unfortunately makes incompatibility here or there. However, the issues are not evident, many features work nicely in both inventory types.

justin 25-07-22 23:09

I'll need to do some tests, maybe try using old variables for the ring quantities and see what happens...

*UPDATE*

I think I solved the issue by calling for an old variable for the quantities for the Ring Inventory (like Global Short Beta2), and then transfering those old variables to the GIN41-45 only when jumping levels (necessary due to ResetHUB). Initial tests are positive :)

kelvinsecolo 20-09-22 16:30

Hey everyone, good morning.

Well, I don't know if this should be the right thread to ask but I'll try it.

I'm trying to add the sunglasses to Poyu's AOD model to use in Last Revelation's engine. (https://www.trsearch.org/item/3122)

In order to do that, I have to make sure that the face with the glasses reach at maximum 255 polygons so the game won't crash. The face itself without the glasses has 251 polygons and the glasses has 31. Before positioning and adding the glasses on Lara I needed to reduce that amount of polygons from her in Metasequoia. The problem here is... when I do that, the textures in her eyes get all screwed up. I tried to post a screenshot but for some reason tombraiderforums won't let me. But basically it is what I described.

I'm trying to find a smarter way to do that but couldn't so far. Does anyone have any idea of how I could get a nicer result? :(

LoreRaider 20-09-22 18:00

If you're posting this on TRNG section I assume you're using it, or isn't that the case?
I ask because TRNG passes the 255 vertices limit already, so no need to worry about that :p

justin 23-09-22 12:57

Grenade Launcher appearing on Lara's back
 
So this is a funny one! After Lara picks up some grenade gun ammo 2, Lara's back shows the grenade gun in the next level. I've seen this issue with the shotgun, maybe it has to do with meshswaps. Any idea what causes Lara to appear to have a weapon on her back that she doesn't actually own?

I can work around it by changing the "weapon on back" memory to 0, but I'd prefer to find the root cause :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.