www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   TOMB RAIDER General Discussion Thread (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=187894)

Spong 01-09-12 20:20

*saves YouTube link and files as evidence*

Gamd1011 01-09-12 20:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6411767)
*saves YouTube link and files as evidence*

:tmb:

Don't forget this:
http://keepvid.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2...%3DPz4E328WIWc

Lost_Paradise 01-09-12 20:21

Maybe the amount of time we need to fully explore this particular hub is about the same time it took to fully explore underworld, or maybe he meant map size? Idk...

Tomb_of_Darkns 01-09-12 20:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lost_Paradise (Post 6411754)
I don't know if you guys have already seen this but at the 0:39 second mark in this video Karl said that one of the hubs is probably the same size as tomb raider underworld.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pz4E328WIWc

I haven't posted in awhile, but this really got me going "Whaaa?"

I mean Underworld was huge in terms of space, not really exploration, but they were big. So if he is saying that the whooole hub is as huge as all of the environments of Underworld put together, then...well i'll **** my pants out of pure happiness.

But like people said, that is a really big claim, and i hope that he isn't just hyping for no reason. Except since it is such a big claim that can easily backfire, i don't get why he would risk it. Hmmm interesting indeed.

Gamd1011 01-09-12 20:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tomb_of_Darkns (Post 6411780)
But like people said, that is a really big claim, and i hope that he isn't just hyping for no reason. Except since it is such a big claim that can easily backfire, i don't get why he would risk it. Hmmm interesting indeed.

Maybe he just doesn't know what the **** he's talking about?:p

Rai 01-09-12 20:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lost_Paradise (Post 6411754)
I don't know if you guys have already seen this but at the 0:39 second mark in this video Karl said that one of the hubs is probably the same size as tomb raider underworld.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pz4E328WIWc

Thanks for posting. Interesting interview. At least Karl tried to talk about the game as much as Lara. :p

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linoshi Croft (Post 6411760)
What like the entire game? :p

Maybe he meant Legend :p. I dunno, maybe he meant just one level or very basic space. I do sense exaggeration. :pi:

Stevo505 01-09-12 20:28

I have a question about the game... does the engine render the entire island all the time? Or just the hub area Lara is in? Because this is sounding like a lot of work for the engine..

Linoshi Croft 01-09-12 20:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevo505 (Post 6411795)
I have a question about the game... does the engine render the entire island all the time? Or just the hub area Lara is in? Because this is sounding like a lot of work for the engine..

Just the hub I'd expect..
The graphics would suffer massively if they tried rendering the entire island. :p

Rai 01-09-12 20:31

What's the music used? Is it new for Tomb Raider or are they using music from something else?

Spong 01-09-12 20:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevo505 (Post 6411795)
I have a question about the game... does the engine render the entire island all the time? Or just the hub area Lara is in?

It probably renders less than the hub you're in, more like a few hundred game metres around Lara. It's all about level of detail management. The models of objects further away are less detailed than when they get close up, it's a trick to ease the engine's workload.

TippingWater 01-09-12 20:37

Maybe there are only three hubs :p, the Coastal Forest, The Wolf's Den (night hub with Roth) and the area with the village at the end of the E3 2012 demo, in that case such a claim would seem plausible :p.

Gamd1011 01-09-12 20:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by TippingWater (Post 6411813)
Maybe there are only three hubs :p, the Coastal Forest, The Wolf's Den (night hub with Roth) and the area with the village at the end of the E3 2012 demo, in that case such a claim would seem plausible :p.

:smk::smk::smk::smk::smk:

TippingWater 01-09-12 20:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gamd1011 (Post 6411819)
:smk::smk::smk::smk::smk:

We'll see, we'll see :whi:.

Spong 01-09-12 20:42

Three hubs isn't enough variety, regardless of how big they might be. If Crystal have done that then I'll fly over there and eat their office, brick by brick :mad:

Mikky 01-09-12 20:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rai (Post 6411798)
What's the music used? Is it new for Tomb Raider or are they using music from something else?

I hope it's not from the game. I don't like it. Too Uncharted-ish for my tastes. :/

skylark1121 01-09-12 20:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevo505 (Post 6411795)
I have a question about the game... does the engine render the entire island all the time? Or just the hub area Lara is in? Because this is sounding like a lot of work for the engine..

In the newer GI article, they said the island loads while the game is in cutscenes or something. :pi:

Edit: That might not answer your question, because I'm not sure if it's the whole island or hub-by-hub.

larafan25 01-09-12 21:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lost_Paradise (Post 6411754)
I don't know if you guys have already seen this but at the 0:39 second mark in this video Karl said that one of the hubs is probably the same size as tomb raider underworld.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pz4E328WIWc

I'm hysterical.

Spong 01-09-12 21:34

^I hope you mop up after yourself.

larafan25 01-09-12 21:39

Guise.

One of the hubs is the size of Tomb Raider Underworld.

Lukass 01-09-12 21:39

I think it's just crazy...I hope he knew what he was talking about. If that is true, it's crazy!

Mikky 01-09-12 21:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6411924)
Guise.

One of the hubs is the size of Tomb Raider Underworld.

It's so funny. :vlol:

larafan25 01-09-12 21:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lukass (Post 6411925)
I think it's just crazy...I hope he knew what he was talking about. If that is true, it's crazy!

Well actually, theoretically speaking...

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/g...8/GURBALOO.jpg

If you had a space the size of TRU, starting with that highlighted (green) piece of land and straight all the way to another small highlighted piece of land (which is only there in theory) you would have a hub the size of TRU.

Full of space that is just window dressing.

Stevo505 01-09-12 21:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6411932)
Well actually, theoretically speaking...

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/g...8/GURBALOO.jpg

If you had a space the size of TRU, starting with that highlighted (green) piece of land and straight all the way to another small highlighted piece of land (which is only there in theory) you would have a hub the size of TRU.

Full of space that is just window dressing.

But didn't they say you could reach everything you see?

larafan25 01-09-12 21:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevo505 (Post 6411935)
But didn't they say you could reach everything you see?

Well yeah.

But Lara Croft climbs ledges.

Stands on flat ground.

Spong 01-09-12 21:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevo505 (Post 6411935)
But didn't they say you could reach everything you see?

Yeah, but most likely via pre-determined paths.

larafan25 01-09-12 21:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6411938)
Yeah, but most likely via pre-determined paths.

wurt.

Hello, most definitely.

Stevo505 01-09-12 21:53

I guess you're right, since it's not open world.

klona 01-09-12 21:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lost_Paradise (Post 6411754)

I'm excited for the game again!
What did he mean by the bow becoming some sort of instrument?

Lukass 01-09-12 21:55

The hubs are fully explorable. If there's a hub of size of Underworld, we'll be able to completely explore the hub!
And shut up!!!

lol

Phlip 01-09-12 21:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6411924)
Guise.

One of the hubs is the size of Tomb Raider Underworld.

lulno.

The biggest hub will be no bigger than the size of Bolivia Redux. :wve:

Spong 01-09-12 21:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411950)
The biggest hub will be no bigger than the size of Bolivia Redux. :wve:

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m8upvesseV1r072ec.jpg
(I love that pic)

Phlip 01-09-12 21:58

My God he's fugly.

Lukass 01-09-12 21:58

*excitement fades away*

Stevo505 01-09-12 22:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by klona (Post 6411947)
I'm excited for the game again!
What did he mean by the bow becoming some sort of instrument?

"Instrumental" means it is necessary for us to use it :)

larafan25 01-09-12 22:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411950)
lulno.

The biggest hub will be no bigger than the size of Bolivia Redux. :wve:

EL OH EL RUTRNB FACE

.'n/

Mikky 01-09-12 22:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411950)
lulno.

The biggest hub will be no bigger than the size of Bolivia Redux. :wve:

:vlol:!

Imagine, though. That would be a tragedy.

larafan25 01-09-12 22:03

But the night hub is already bigger than Bolivia Redux.

So. rgthj

Phlip 01-09-12 22:03

Apparently in the PS2 game Charlie's Angels, it's so linear that as you go forward, there will always be a blatant invisible wall a certain distance behind you. I wouldn't be surprised if CD took inspiration. :tmb:

Mikky 01-09-12 22:04

@ larafart25 I said, "imagine". :pi:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411963)
Apparently in the PS2 game Charlie's Angels, it's so linear that as you go forward, there will always be a blatant invisible wall a certain distance behind you. I wouldn't be surprised if CD took inspiration. :tmb:

Stop! :vlol:

Rai 01-09-12 22:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lukass (Post 6411948)
The hubs are fully explorable. If there's a hub of size of Underworld, we'll be able to completely explore the hub!
And shut up!!!

lol

I think there was some exaggeration going on there, but you're right that the hubs are fully explorable. I have no reason to doubt that.

I also believe that we'll be able to reach any area we see, be it mountains, areas that don't necessarily look reachable in the screens we've seen, or whatever. It may not be that you can just walk or climb all over every inch of it. Maybe there is a path to follow or even a restricted area that's climbable. I'm not expecting any more and I'm fine with it. If you can see a mountain and can reach the top or explore parts of it, then strictly speaking, you are able to reach it and you are exploring it, so no lying there, not really. Am I the only person who's okay with that? :confused::p
Quote:

Lukass: *excitement fades away*
don't let others' cynical assumptions affect how you feel about the game :hug:


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.