www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   [UPDATE] Version 1.7.8 of my TR1/UB installer (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=166520)

Phlip 30-04-10 18:56

It's ok, I've gone back to your previous installer. The one which didn't use dosbox. Is there a seperate patch for FMVs to work with your previous installer?

gidierre 30-04-10 19:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 4561192)
It's ok, I've gone back to your previous installer. The one which didn't use dosbox. Is there a seperate patch for FMVs to work with your previous installer?

I guess you mean the one using dgvoodoo/vdmsound/ssdh right?
where gamma values can be tweaked at will via dgvoodoosetup
(as long as you're on x86/32bit machines... :p)

a patch for fmvs with that installer..
no, not afaik
the one I made up is to use with sdl libraries that dosbox links to, but dgVoodoo doesn't so it can't possibly apply
there it's all made via dege's dgvesa.com (that's just 16bit code) which I launch in the starting batch

btw if you have dege's readme_eng.txt shipping with dgVoodoo packet you can read the chapter on VESA emulation there
dege also frankly stated: this project is not about developing VESA to the perfectness...

it must be noted the dgvoodoosetup vesa emu page has many choices, like
Refresh frequency
Emulated video memory
Mode 13h support

that could be tried

remember that the graphics card/driver brand may be most relevant here.

SLAYER 30-04-10 19:54

is there a way to change the resolution?

gidierre 30-04-10 21:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by SLAYER (Post 4561291)
is there a way to change the resolution?

talking about 1.6 aren't we

when it's fullscreen... it's just that :)
dosbox's not even in charge there, the glide wrapper is
iow in \tombraider\openglid.ini the InitFullScreen=1 line calls the shots
then it gets stretched to the max res your display can get, and pillarboxed on widescreens, but you can't go higher than so

otoh if for some reason you want to customize res
you'd have to start windowed

(how? setting InitFullScreen=0)

then opening the \tombraider\dosbox*.conf files
namely dosbox for 32bit, dosboxtr164 and dosboxub64 for TR1/64bit and TRUB/64bit
finding these items:
fullscreen=
windowresolution=

you can set fullscreen=false and windowresolution=whatever makes any sense
save and see what it's like

did this answer your question?

MyRaider4Life 30-04-10 22:28

The download link is not working for me, it says it is Currently Unavailable.
Has it been taken down or something?
EDIT: Works now.
I have another problem, when I open the game it goes through the FMV's, but when it gets to the menu a screen pops up saying "You are running a non-accelerated OpenGL" then when I click okay, another screen pops saying "Severe Problem: OpenGL_GL_EXT_packed_pixels extension is required for OpenGLide" then when I click okay for that it closes and DosBox crashes.

TheBloodRed 02-05-10 09:18

I just have to say thank you for this!! Finally a TR1 thingy that works near perfect!! The other patches and such don't work very well and this one just noms all the cake!! :hug:

Soul 02-05-10 12:39

I can second this. I have some smaller issues (game is very bright (not a problem, as I can change my monitor settings) and it's sometimes quite slow) but this is finally an installer that works like a charm for me and finally I can play TR1 with all those beautifiul audiotracks that were in the PS-version. :D

gidierre 02-05-10 23:01

TheBloodRed and Soul:
many thx for your kind reporting :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by MyRaider4Life (Post 4561664)
The download link is not working for me, it says it is Currently Unavailable.
Has it been taken down or something?
EDIT: Works now.

good
that was my original upload link, but the best option now is surely to download via tombraiderhub.com at http://www.tombraiderhub.com/faq/tr1_adv.html
Quote:

Originally Posted by MyRaider4Life (Post 4561664)
I have another problem, when I open the game it goes through the FMV's, but when it gets to the menu a screen pops up saying "You are running a non-accelerated OpenGL"

known problem with some graphics card/driver versions
it never happened to me, but it sure affected some like in this case
no case for blaming dosbox or glidos anyhow since the card's own OpenGL capability is the "linchpin" here

solutions...

update drivers if possible (on laptops it may be hard to do)

post a complete diagnose.exe report here (what gfx card is yours? nVidia, Ati, Intel...)

but still the simplest trick available could well be:
if you're using v1.6 toggle the sdl videodriver from windib to directx (which your videodriver may be happy of)
and that (I hope) can be easily done, driver update aside, just applying the "patch for fmv problems"
yes, even as you have no problems at all with those fmv's you can still try and install the patch to see if while on its way it fixes the OpenGL issue your card troubles over
HTH

TheBloodRed 02-05-10 23:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soul (Post 4564821)
I can second this. I have some smaller issues (game is very bright (not a problem, as I can change my monitor settings) and it's sometimes quite slow) but this is finally an installer that works like a charm for me and finally I can play TR1 with all those beautifiul audiotracks that were in the PS-version. :D

Game is bright because that is how TR1 is(especially with the Mipmapping). TR1 only has white lighting and NO FLARES so of course it is going to be a tad brighter than you are used to. :P

TR2 was innovative because it included darkness as well as other things. ;)

dutchrheeren 06-05-10 17:21

Problem running TR1+UB after using DosBox installer
 
Hello I had to buy a new computer recently, and it came installed with Windows 7 Home 64 bits. I was sad when I found out that I couldn't play Tomb Raider and Unfinished Business anymore... :(

When I searched for solutions, I found your TR1/UB Dosbox installer and I installed it without problems, but when I try to run Tomb Raider or Unfinished Business, 3 windows open up:

-DosBox
-DosBox Status Window
-Tomb Raider

And after immediately after that, the two DosBox windows immediately close, leaving only the third window (called Tomb Raider) open, but nothing happens anymore and the game won't start... :(

I tried your version 1.6 first, then 1.5 and then 1.4.2, all with my original TR1/UB CD-ROMs in the drive, tried the patches, but none of them worked... :(

Maybe other people reported this problem and do you know a solution for it?

I hope you can help me, thank you in advance!


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.