Tomb Raider Forums

Tomb Raider Forums (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider Next Generation (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   TRNG - Bugs & Limitations Thread (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=165980)

AkyV 10-09-13 18:22

1227 r test

Each fix seems OK.

Quote:

- Improved the "Find Trigger Number" feature in NGLE program.
Now you can locate a trigger also using the triple serie of numbers of exported trigger in the script.
This is a great feature! I think every person who really does scripting needs that.
And how about some more improvement with "Find Trigger in exported animcommand" format? :mis:

Note: the three-numbers-code of "all frames" (-1) and the code of Frame255 seems the same for exported animcommands. Possibly it is not a problem if your animation is shorter than 256 frames. (Because ID255 frame is the 256th frame.)

--------------------------

Quote:

(And, btw I experienced something similar before, with some Action Move/Rotate triggers) F359 has an unwanted “look here” function, as if a standalone CAMERA_TARGET had been placed somewhere in the level, not where the target object of the lightning is. Not always. In the case of the lightning, possibly it happens only at the very first activation of the trigger, while Lara is in the trigger zone – so even after the lightning has stopped -, and she will look at a given corner of the room. It is NW corner – always? -, with Room Editor facing.
There is one more thing I'd like to tell about that "NW corner" bug. It seems it is a "typical" TRNG bug. For example, I remember I experienced before that enemy submarine (if Lara is not in the pool, so the submarine can't see her) will go to the NW corner of the pool and will start rotating in little circles there - if the pool floor is "absolutely flat". The submarine is always "attracted" to the hilly parts of the pool floor.
So if Lara is not on the pool and there is only one mound on the flat floor then the submarine will saunter around that mound.
So if Lara is not on the pool and the pool floor is very hilly then the submarine will float randomly in the pool - as it should in the real life.
(Speaking of submarines here is another bug of that: I think the submarine never wants to float over the blue sidewalls of pool floor squares.)

Paolone 10-09-13 18:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by AkyV (Post 6900819)
1227 r test
This is a great feature! I think every person who really does scripting needs that.
And how about some more improvement with "Find Trigger in exported animcommand" format? :mis:

It's true I forgot that. I'll add in next release. ;)
Quote:

Note: the three-numbers-code of "all frames" (-1) and the code of Frame255 seems the same for exported animcommands. Possibly it is not a problem if your animation is shorter than 256 frames. (Because ID255 frame is the 256th frame.)
It's right, the level builder should remember that is not possible placing an animcommand in single 255 frame, otherwise it will become an always-performed animcommand.
Quote:

There is one more thing I'd like to tell about that "NW corner" bug. It seems it is a "typical" TRNG bug. For example, I remember I experienced before that enemy submarine (if Lara is not in the pool, so the submarine can't see her) will go to the NW corner of the pool and will start rotating in little circles there - if the pool floor is "absolutely flat". The submarine is always "attracted" to the hilly parts of the pool floor.
So if Lara is not on the pool and there is only one mound on the flat floor then the submarine will saunter around that mound.
So if Lara is not on the pool and the pool floor is very hilly then the submarine will float randomly in the pool - as it should in the real life.
(Speaking of submarines here is another bug of that: I think the submarine never wants to float over the blue sidewalls of pool floor squares.)
About the submarines it is probably a bug about AI of it.
That enemy has been imported and there was many differences in AI data between tomb4 and tomb5 (?, now I neither remember from where I took it :D).

About the problem for turning I tried to reproduce but with no result.
About the look-at problem after ligthning I believe it could be a hardcoded effect from lost-library when there is some item in the level.
Trying with lightning demo I'm not able to see that bug. Probably I'll have to add some specific item but what?

AkyV 10-09-13 19:22

Quote:

About the look-at problem after ligthning I believe it could be a hardcoded effect from lost-library when there is some item in the level.
Trying with lightning demo I'm not able to see that bug. Probably I'll have to add some specific item but what?
True. I tried it in another, brand new test project, and I couldn't reproduce the look-at bug. So it must be some hardcoded thing, some level-special thing. An item or a room ID...?

mizuno_suisei 12-09-13 06:25

- Since the latest two updates, cannot record with FRAPS in fullscreen mode, only windowed mode. Works with with every other game and also the original core tomb4.exe. Get an instant crash. Can post log report if needed.

- Cannot add more than one JOINT_(Mesh) listing in an AddEffect Command

:)

Paolone 12-09-13 10:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by AkyV (Post 6900861)
True. I tried it in another, brand new test project, and I couldn't reproduce the look-at bug. So it must be some hardcoded thing, some level-special thing. An item or a room ID...?

Perhaps someone with a great memory could remember when in lost library, lara look at somewhere after a lightning (blue?).
Or when the planet puzzle has been completed and a lightning hit that item over the door just opened.

Paolone 12-09-13 10:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei (Post 6902128)
- Since the latest two updates, cannot record with FRAPS in fullscreen mode, only windowed mode. Works with with every other game and also the original core tomb4.exe. Get an instant crash. Can post log report if needed.

yes, it could be useful, thanks. And say me also your setting in setup window, please.

Quote:

- Cannot add more than one JOINT_(Mesh) listing in an AddEffect Command
This is normal. You can set only one effect at once, and you supply only one joint to compute the position of the effect.

mizuno_suisei 12-09-13 13:25

Fraps crash Error log

Code:

Version=1.2.2.7
Date: 10 September 2013  (14:15:44)  Size=1679360 bytes
CRS=Disabled
Last diagnostic mexage:Missing FONT_GRAPHICS in current level
Last directX error:

MEMORY CODE MAPPING:
BASE    START  END      #ID PLUGIN
-----------------------------------------------------
10000000 10001000 1011A000    0 Tomb_NextGeneration.dll
-----------------------------------------------------
............... QUICK DIAGNOSTIC LOG ...............
....................................................
CRASH REASON: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
        The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
EXTRA_INFO: VIOLATION ON READ AT OFFSET 0xB30F720
RECOVERABLE : YES
CRASH OFFSET: 0x63584E98
REGISTERS:
        EAX=0
        EBX=0
        ECX=B310020
        EDX=1E00
        ESI=0
        EDI=B30F720
        EBP=89CF7FC
        EIP=63584E98
        ESP=89CF7D8
DYNAMIC POINTER LIST:
------------------------------------------
0000000C:Camera_Room
00000018:Camera_TargetRoom
0018FF14:BaseSalvaStack1
09DEFF88:BaseSalvaStack2
088CFF84:BaseSalvaStack3
0018FB78:Trng_Stack
------------------------------------------
Lara:  x=80384  y=-6144  z=36352  StateId=2  NextId=2  AnimNow=103  Room=12

MEMORY ALLOCATION ARRAY
---------------------
Memory            ID    ToFree
---------------------------
  1) 0x02A05B28  5516  0
  2) 0x02641B40  5516  0
  3) 0x026413E0  5516  1
  4) 0x02642B50  5516  0
  5) 0x028991F8  5516  0
  6) 0x026415F0  5516  0
  7) 0x02641030  5516  0
  8) 0x02641890  4564  0
  9) 0x028AE2E8  4564  0
 10) 0x026417B0  2428  0
 11) 0x02642A70  2428  0
 12) 0x02642990  2428  0
 13) 0x026428B0  2428  0
 14) 0x00000000  0  0
 15) 0x00000000  0  0
-----------------------------

Stack=0x89CF7D8  pContesto=0x89CF4F0  pInfoEccezione=0x89CF4A0
PRIMARY_STACK:
ESP=0x89CF7D8
STACK_TRACE:
        0x100B2E99
        0x44E2A5
        0x100B7508
        0x451C67
        0x10063BAF
        0x10063C1E
        0x45126D
        0x475155
        0x49E67C
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
        0x40FFFF
END_STACK_TRACE

SECONDARY_STACK:
ESP=0x18B0F4
STACK_TRACE:
        0x48D323
        0x48CC6B
        0x48CACE
        0x49F26B
END_STACK_TRACE

OTHER_STACK:
ESP=0x9DEB168
STACK_TRACE:
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE

http://i.imgur.com/YSxXZd7l.png

Re: The joints. My apologies, I didn't realise. thank you for the explanation.

Also just noticed, is it odd for the system to slow down REALLY BAD when using a windowsfont font, mostly when there is alot of text on screen (such as control config window and scrolling credits?) I've tried using a few different fonts and my game just slows to atleast 5fps.

Paolone 12-09-13 14:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei (Post 6902254)
Also just noticed, is it odd for the system to slow down REALLY BAD when using a windowsfont font, mostly when there is alot of text on screen (such as control config window and scrolling credits?) I've tried using a few different fonts and my game just slows to atleast 5fps.

Thanks for the log.
Probably the two problems are paired.
It's not normal that slow down (does it happen own when you use fraps?).
Try in the emergency setting , check "No waiting for refresh" and select a full screen mode, and then try again.

AkyV 12-09-13 17:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paolone (Post 6902180)
Or when the planet puzzle has been completed and a lightning hit that item over the door just opened.

This is the structure of the planet puzzle:

ANIMATING4
electric arch
PUSHABLE_OBJECTX, OCB1
electric arch
PUSHABLE_OBJECTX, OCB2
electric arch
PUSHABLE_OBJECTX, OCB3
electric arch
PUSHABLE_OBJECTX, OCB4
electric arch
PUSHABLE_OBJECTX, OCB5

But I don't think Lara looks in any special direction.
Maybe is ANIMATING4 the key? - However, lightning demo doesn't have ANIMATING4 but is not buggy...
(And I don't think the planet effect setup explains why I experienced similar things with ACTION moves/rotates.)
Perhaps it is a bug fix for the future...

AkyV 17-09-13 18:28

1227 s test

Quote:

- Improved [Find Trigger Number] feature of NGLE program
Now you can decode also triple numbers of exported animcommand.
It works fine. Extra info panel is great and useful. (Maybe you should change "Frame255" extra info, to "any frame" somehow.)

Quote:

- Attempt to fix bug about changing of character size.
It does still not fix my issue (caused by opening a diary page).

Quote:

Warning: there was a problem about uninitialized values in according with some IGNORE in TextFormat command. Now all IGNOREs will be replaced with default values, this means that some values that you set, in the past, as IGNORE could get now different results on screen.
Speaking of TextFormat, I discovered millions of years ago that SC_DOUBLE_SIZE doesn't work. Maybe is that related to the character size bug you are working on?

Quote:

- Added new EDGX_ flag for DiagnosticType command.
It has been added to DiagnosticType command the EDGX_TRIGGER_TIMING flag.
Diagnostic line for that flag won't be cleared if I leave the level, I need to quit the game.


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Tomb Raider Forums is not owned or operated by CDE Entertainment Ltd.
Lara Croft and Tomb Raider are trademarks of CDE Entertainment Ltd.