www.tombraiderforums.com

www.tombraiderforums.com (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/index.php)
-   Tomb Raider (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   TOMB RAIDER General Discussion Thread (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=187894)

Phlip 01-09-12 22:06

The game will be more linear than TRA's style units. Yes, that's right, the game will be in a ****ing circle.

TippingWater 01-09-12 22:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411968)
The game will be more linear than TRA's style units. Yes, that's right, the game will be in a ****ing circle.

:cln: Sounds good, I just want to play it already! :D

Spong 01-09-12 22:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lukass (Post 6411956)
*excitement fades away*

IKR? Larafan's suddenly being a total killjoy :(
I bet Crystal are turning in their graves.

larafan25 01-09-12 22:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411968)
The game will be more linear than TRA's style units. Yes, that's right, the game will be in a ****ing circle.

Ug.

Ur a square. Leave.

Lukass 01-09-12 22:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rai (Post 6411967)
I think there was some exaggeration going on there, but you're right that the hubs are fully explorable. I have no reason to doubt that.

I also believe that we'll be able to reach any area we see, be it mountains, areas that don't necessarily look reachable in the screens we've seen, or whatever. It may not be that you can just walk or climb all over every inch of it. Maybe there is a path to follow or even a restricted area that's climbable. I'm not expecting any more and I'm fine with it. If you can a mountain and can reach the top or explore parts of it, then strictly speaking, you are able to reach it and you are exploring it, so no lying there, not really. Am I the only person who's okay with that? :confused::p
don't let others' cynical assumptions affect how you feel about the game :hug:

Great to know I'm the only one who have faith. There can also be some massive underground hub (does that make sense lol). Just imagine there was a hub as big as the whole Underworld, I can't even imagine that. If they're fully explorable and if there really is a lot of things to do in the hubs (according to Karl) how much time we would spend in the Underworld-size one? 7, 8, 9, 10 hours? :confused: That doesn't make sense since the game's lenght is supposed to be around 10+ or so...something smells here...Do I want to trust what he said? I dunno....

SpyrosMonster 01-09-12 22:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by just*raidin*tomb (Post 6411728)
If people can have pics of half naked men as their avatar then I see no reason why the unedited pic shouldn't be allowed. It's a bit silly if you ask me. :p

I don't know what you're talking about... :whi:

Spong 01-09-12 22:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6411977)
Ug.

Ur a square. Leave.

You bolded the word circle, and then you said square. Brilliant!
I hope you're writing this stuff down for your career in stand-up :tmb:

larafan25 01-09-12 22:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6411981)
You bolded the word circle, and then you said square. Brilliant!
I hope you're writing this stuff down for your career in stand-up :tmb:

So attentive.

I bolded the word circle and the word linear.

Because according to Philip the game is going to be so linear it leads in a circle.

Fancy that.

Phlip 01-09-12 22:19

^It'll be as linear as Boaz's level.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6411981)
You bolded the word circle, and then you said square. Brilliant!
I hope you're writing this stuff down for your career in stand-up :tmb:

Gretel did stand-up.



Anyway, Lukass, wishful thinking can lead to a more bitter disappointment, and if CD aren't exagerrating then your playthrough will be more enjoyable because you weren't expecting it. :tmb:

Spong 01-09-12 22:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411984)
Gretel did stand-up.

She's never been sober enough to stand up.

TippingWater 01-09-12 22:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411984)
^It'll be as linear as Boaz's level.

At least we can hunt bunny-rabbits, top that, hater :p! Or should I write non-believer? Oh wait, I just did!

Mikky 01-09-12 22:24

Judging by this thread, I think you'd all be pretty good stand-up comedians. :p

Lukass 01-09-12 22:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411984)
Anyway, Lukass, wishful thinking can lead to a more bitter disappointment, and if CD aren't exagerrating then your playthrough will be more enjoyable because you weren't expecting it. :tmb:

But I do expect it now. I won't be able to froget he said the hub is as big as Underworld. God I hope he knew what he said.

just*raidin*tomb 01-09-12 22:26

Oh my dear. Karl, you better not be trippin me up. .__.

larafan25 01-09-12 22:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by just*raidin*tomb (Post 6411992)
Oh my dear. Karl, you better not be trippin me up. .__.

Imagine in they don't show a hub.

The the game comes out, we play it, and BAM! GIANT FREAKING HUBS EVERYWHERE!

And it's practicaurrly urpurn wurld!

Rai 01-09-12 22:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lukass (Post 6411978)
Great to know I'm the only one who have faith. There can also be some massive underground hub (does that make sense lol). Just imagine there was a hub as big as the whole Underworld, I can't even imagine that. If they're fully explorable and if there really is a lot of things to do in the hubs (according to Karl) how much time we would spend in the Underworld-size one? 7, 8, 9, 10 hours? :confused: That doesn't make sense since the game's lenght is supposed to be around 10+ or so...something smells here...Do I want to trust what he said? I dunno....

Remember the 10+ length is for following the story. Apparently we'll always know what the objectives are, so we can follow the story only and just keep going. I can't really imagine just one hub as big as a whole game, but then I don't know how big Underworld was if you put the levels back to back in a map like space. How long would Underworld take if you simply played the levels back to back running from a-b (that's not actually too possible as to collect items such as gems, you had to backtrack, but I mean if you could just run through without exploring)?

and I don't think the game hubs will be as small as Phlip is trolling us to believe :whi:

Phlip 01-09-12 22:28

There'll be one puzzle room, and it'll be worse than this (which is saying something):

[IMG]http://i47.************/514h3o.jpg[/IMG]

Lukass 01-09-12 22:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rai (Post 6411997)
Remember the 10+ length is for following the story. Apparently we'll always know what the objectives are, so we can follow the story only and just keep going. I can't really imagine just one hub as big as a whole game, but then I don't know how big Underworld was if you put the levels back to back in a map like space. How long would Underworld take if you simply played the levels back to back running from a-b (that's not actually too possible as to collect items such as gems, you had to backtrack, but I mean if you could just run through without exploring)?

How long would you play the whole Underworld without collecting anything?

just*raidin*tomb 01-09-12 22:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6411996)
Imagine in they don't show a hub.

The the game comes out, we play it, and BAM! GIANT FREAKING HUBS EVERYWHERE!

And it's practicaurrly urpurn wurld!

That would be perfect but I'm not getting excited.

larafan25 01-09-12 22:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by just*raidin*tomb (Post 6412004)
That would be perfect but I'm not getting excited.

Yes you. You are so excited.

You just don't want to be. :pi:

Phlip 01-09-12 22:33

Did everyone see on Karl's twitter that they've started burning the game's code onto the discs ready for an earlier release, only to realise it's the alpha version of the game they're burning, but they're gonna release it anyway?

Lukass 01-09-12 22:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6412008)
Did everyone see on Karl's twitter that they've started burning the game's code onto the discs ready for an earlier release, only to realise it's the alpha version of the game they're burning, but they're gonna release it anyway?

:vlol:

just*raidin*tomb 01-09-12 22:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lukass (Post 6412002)
How long would you play the whole Underworld without collecting anything?

Probably about 7 to 8 hours.

@larafan25: Yes, you're right. It's just too risky ._.

Rai 01-09-12 22:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lukass (Post 6412002)
How long would you play the whole Underworld without collecting anything?

I dunno :confused:. I can't remember how long it took me to play the game from start to finish.

larafan25 01-09-12 22:37

Someone needs to take pictures of their Underworld guide, of all the overhead maps, connect them together and then see how big the hub would be!

Phlip 01-09-12 22:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6412020)
Someone needs to take pictures of their Underworld guide, of all the overhead maps, connect them together and then see how big the hub would be!

I think it's time for you to lay off the kool-aide.

Lukass 01-09-12 22:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by just*raidin*tomb (Post 6412015)
Probably about 7 to 8 hours.

@larafan25: Yes, you're right. It's just too risky ._.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rai (Post 6412016)
I dunno :confused:. I can't remember how long it took me to play the game from start to finish.

Rai have no idea and just*raidin*tomb would make it within 7-8 hours. So, the big U-size hub is nonsense, I think. I dunno...aaahhhh! ;__;

Mikky 01-09-12 22:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6412020)
Someone needs to take pictures of their Underworld guide, of all the overhead maps, connect them together and then see how big the hub would be!

I wouldn't mind seeing that, but someone would actually have to be bothered to do it. :/

larafan25 01-09-12 22:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6412024)
I think it's time for you to lay off the kool-aide.

I used to make that, and put so much sugar in it.

Now I want the summer, but the summer is ending.

Anyways this post is almost as irrelevant as you being here.

I think it would be crap-tasticly awesome to have a hub that was an actual forest, and had bears in it.

Phlip 01-09-12 22:40

I want a daytime rainforest. =/

Spong 01-09-12 22:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6412020)
Someone needs to take pictures of their Underworld guide, of all the overhead maps, connect them together and then see how big the hub would be!

And you think some drawn maps in a guide are going to be to any kind of reliable scale? :confused:

Phlip 01-09-12 22:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6412030)
And you think some drawn maps in a guide are going to be to any kind of reliable scale? :confused:

It'll be an idea of the size.

just*raidin*tomb 01-09-12 22:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lukass (Post 6412025)
Rai have no idea and just*raidin*tomb would make it within 7-8 hours. So, the big U-size hub is nonsense, I think. I dunno...aaahhhh! ;__;

It depends on how much there is to do and how different traversing is. There seems to be a lot less ledge nonsense so it probably doesn't take as long to get from one place to the other, and then there's the ziplines too. Underworld had some huge looking environments, but the only level that really had huge exploration was mexico. And even then it had a lot of corridors and stuff so I don't think it's that far fetched.

larafan25 01-09-12 22:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6412029)
I want a daytime rainforest. =/

Yeah.

With pandas, I want bamboo, and monkeys.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6412030)
And you think some drawn maps in a guide are going to be to any kind of reliable scale? :confused:

Uhm. Yes.

Spong 01-09-12 22:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6412037)
Uhm. No.

Fixed that for you :tmb:
You may as well download a Gamefaqs ascii map.

larafan25 01-09-12 22:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6412039)
Fixed that for you :tmb:

Why would it not be reliable?

Phlip 01-09-12 22:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spong (Post 6412039)
Fixed that for you :tmb:
You may as well download a Gamefaqs ascii map.

Guess what this was inspired by?:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6412008)
Did everyone see on Karl's twitter that they've started burning the game's code onto the discs ready for an earlier release, only to realise it's the alpha version of the game they're burning, but they're gonna release it anyway?


Lukass 01-09-12 22:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by just*raidin*tomb (Post 6412034)
It depends on how much there is to do and how different traversing is. There seems to be a lot less ledge nonsense so it probably doesn't take as long to get from one place to the other, and then there's the ziplines too.

That makes sense :tmb:

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6412037)
Yeah.

With pandas, I want bamboo, and monkeys.

You want a lot, chav.

Spong 01-09-12 22:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by larafan25 (Post 6412040)
Why would it not be reliable?

Guides vary the sizes of their maps dependent on the overall size. What's the use of a map for one level if it's spread across more than a double page? Larger maps are normally shrunk to fit, smaller ones enlarged. And it's obviously effected by text as well. They'd be all different sizes.

Stevo505 01-09-12 22:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phlip (Post 6411999)
There'll be one puzzle room, and it'll be worse than this (which is saying something):

[IMG]http://i47.************/514h3o.jpg[/IMG]

You're such a killjoy.. :(


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:15.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.