www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-04-21, 10:50   #20581
Raymi6
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: France
Posts: 27
Default

Hi everyone !

I am trying to create my own texture set for a level idea I had, I always used pre-made texture sets so I'm running into some basic troubles
Here is the first 4 textures I made, it is 4 tiles of 128x128 textures. I ran into a problem of transparent borders when resizing in photoshop but I managed to correct the problem by selecting Bilinear instead of Bicubic for the resizing algorithm.

https://imgur.com/EJ3K3Pi

Then I tried to apply them in-game. From afar, it looks alright, as you can see right under :

https://imgur.com/23cu0Q0

But inspecting them closely I can see the border between the different tiles.

https://imgur.com/Ladtrmq

I think I had read a long time ago it was a problem with a 1px border and the engine or something like that, but I can't find the posts or tutorial anymore
Hope y'all have a wonderful day !

Last edited by Raymi6; 13-04-21 at 10:54.
Raymi6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-21, 11:19   #20582
Mulf
Archaeologist
 
Mulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymi6 View Post
I think I had read a long time ago it was a problem with a 1px border and the engine or something like that, but I can't find the posts or tutorial anymore
Indeed, the TR4 engine cuts off half a pixel from any edge, so no matter how perfectly seamless they look in Photoshop, seams will always show--unless, that is, the pixels on adjacent edges are exactly the same. So in order to avoid such seams, you'd have to do as GeckoKid does and select and copy a single line of pixels from one texture and paste them over the appropriate line of pixels of the next (goes for both horizontal lines and vertical lines).

If you're using Tomb Editor, on the other hand, I'm told you can spare yourself this huge amount of legwork because it has some padding function that prevents this cutting-off of pixels from occurring. (You may need to enable it.)

Last edited by Mulf; 13-04-21 at 11:25.
Mulf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-21, 11:40   #20583
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,460
Default

Yes, Tomb Editor by default eliminates half-pixel correction and you don't need to manually edit seamless textures.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-21, 11:44   #20584
Raymi6
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: France
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks for the answers !

I am using Tomb Editor, so I guess I messed up something in photoshop then
Raymi6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-21, 15:46   #20585
Mulf
Archaeologist
 
Mulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwmte View Post
Yes, Tomb Editor by default eliminates half-pixel correction and you don't need to manually edit seamless textures.
I'm probably going to regret this , but I have to ask: In what sense is cutting off half a pixel from a perfectly seamless texture a 'correction'? Why did they programme it like this? (Assuming it was intentional, and not a bug they never got round to correcting.)
Mulf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-21, 19:37   #20586
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 3,407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymi6 View Post
Thanks for the answers !

I am using Tomb Editor, so I guess I messed up something in photoshop then
You should have a look at this tutorial. It explains a little step you might need to do in case you applied each texture separately.
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-21, 18:12   #20587
Mordyga
Historian
 
Mordyga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 465
Default

Need some beta testers for my late ORC entry, if you are up to testing please drop me a pm. Thanks
Mordyga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-21, 20:17   #20588
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulf View Post
I'm probably going to regret this , but I have to ask: In what sense is cutting off half a pixel from a perfectly seamless texture a 'correction'? Why did they programme it like this? (Assuming it was intentional, and not a bug they never got round to correcting.)
I remember I have described it somewhere long ago, but it won't hurt to do it one more time

The biggest problem of all TR engines when it comes to texturing is they use 256x256 texture pages (also known as texture atlases) to store all textures. In practice it means that each 256x256 texture page may contain completely different texture pieces of different kind, such as Lara skin parts, room textures, enemy textures, inventory item textures, and so on.

Since originally TRs were made for systems such as Saturn and PSX, which had no bilinear filtering (this kind of filtering which makes your textures not appear pixelated by "blurring" them), it caused no any problem - every pixel border was strictly defined and no artifacts were visible in game. Now, when it comes to PC, a problem appears - modern GPUs can't apply bilinear filtering to just every piece of a texture page separately, it "blurs" whole texture page at once - which inevitably causes "border bleeding" problem, where every adjacent pixel of two different texture pieces on a single page bleeds into each other by 0.5 pixel margin. Core Design had no better idea in mind but to hardcode "texture crop" by 0.5px from every side to mask this issue. I don't know why they have gone by this route - either they were lazy to implement padding, or they were afraid that introducing padding may result in increased memory requirements (remember that TRs were released in 90s, when most of PCs had around 32 megabytes of RAM or even less). Of course this "texture crop" caused another problem instead - seams between initially "seamless" textures.

Tomb Editor has a solution for this problem - it automatically generates padding for every texture piece, so it doesn't bleed into each other. Basically it's the same routine that GeckoKid et al used in old days, but it is done automatically, and also it expands all existing textures such as Lara skin etc to original size, fixing all other potential problems (like infamous cropped Lara lips and nose textures in original skin).

Another consequence of ineffective texture management in TRs is all engines, from TR1 to TR5, completely lack mipmapping - that's why high-res textures will look noisy in the distance. Core just couldn't implement mipmapping, because if they did, border bleeding problem would resurface with even bigger artifacts, because every mip level blurs every texture page even more, so 0.5px crop won't suffice. Tomb Editor also takes care of this problem and sets default padding for textures at 8px, meaning that if there will ever be a patch for tomb4 which will add mipmap support, at least 3 mip levels may be created without visible artifacts. That's why I don't recommend reducing padding value in level settings for tomb4 (for TR1-3, sadly, you must do that sometimes, because those engines have strict limits on texture page count).

P.S.: There is also small seamless texturing tutorial, if you need one.

Last edited by Lwmte; 15-04-21 at 20:31.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-21, 20:37   #20589
Mulf
Archaeologist
 
Mulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,253
Default

Aha! Now this makes sense, and it's much less complicated than I feared. Thanks for taking the time to spell it out again.
Mulf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-21, 20:05   #20590
kelvinsecolo
Hobbyist
 
kelvinsecolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 22
Default Importing sounds to Last Revelation (or changing them)

Hello guys, good morning

Could anyone please help me out here? I'm desesperated.

I've changed some sounds on karnak.was and converted it to the karnak.tr4 level on TRLE'S directory. I was doing great so far.

But now, I'm trying to import the sounds contained in the karnak.tr4 file to Last Revelation actual levels that also carry the .tr4 extension. I've already tried the following:

1. I can't do that with TRViewer. The "Sounds" tab is the only tab unable to be exported to a file.

2. I can't simply copy and paste the sounds that I want to change because the "audio" folder from TR4'd directory contains only the music and dialogs. The audios are stores within the levels.

3. I tried to use SFX Manager but it just won't open for me. It keeps showing me the error message "The language DLL 'VB6FR.DLL' could not be found" although I have already placed the file in SFX's directory and also in system32.

Could somebody PLEASE help me? I worked really really hard on a TR4 Modding Project that I have going on, and I really didn't want this issue to be a block for this.

Here is how I'm trying to make TR4 sound like:https://youtu.be/oAcL9vKndmI

Thanks!!
kelvinsecolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.