www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-21, 20:14   #4111
Fabio Ribeiro
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 23
Default

Another strange problem, if anyone could help... Thanks in advance.

I posted here about my Flipped room that shows no Reflection. The problem persists...

But now there's another one. This is the top room of a pool (the bottom two rooms flip to be water and the single top room flips to have reflection (but doesn't)). Two adjacent rooms (no Flip) have waterfalls to be triggered together with the Flipmap by two combined Heavy Flipmap (pushblocks). And there are some Waterfall Mist objects in the top room to be flipped (no movables in the flipped room, this can't be done).

When I play the level from those rooms and trigger everything, the setup works ok. But when I play it from the begining and finally get there, everything works (except Reflection) and... The Waterfall Mist objects don't appear.

What could it be now? Thanks again!
Fabio Ribeiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-21, 21:51   #4112
LoreRaider
Archaeologist
 
LoreRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,509
Default

^waterfall mists are known to not work when you reload a savegame if you don't use the 5 bits in the OCB panel (but that means they're enabled since the beginning)
If you're using TRNG, one thing you could do is to make a globaltrigger which you will activate after that specific flipmap, that triggers the waterfall mists everytime you reload a savegame using gt_reloaded_savegame
__________________
"Everybody lies, no exceptions."
LoreRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-21, 08:20   #4113
Craig Michaels
Archaeologist
 
Craig Michaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 1,372
Default

I have been experiencing crashes in-game when reloading and some weird frozen enemy respawns, but just today I experienced a crash with Tomb Editor itself. I'm trying to figure out if the two things might be related. I'm not sure what it means though - I posted about it in the TRNG thread too.

I'm using Tomb Editor 1.3.14.0 and TRNG 1.3.0.7.

I recently removed and reloaded the .wad2 file, and deleted (and then remade) some rooms (there are no empty room slots), and added a new Global Trigger and 2 Trigger Groups. Somewhere along the way the errors started, but not sure what the crash report means yet.

Code:
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at TombLib.Rendering.DirectX11.Dx11RenderingDrawingRoom.<>c__DisplayClass11_0.<GarbageCollectTexture>b__0(RenderingTextureAllocator allocator2, Map map2)
   at TombLib.Rendering.RenderingTextureAllocator.GarbageCollect(Boolean checkTime)
   at TombLib.Rendering.RenderingTextureAllocator.Get(RenderingTexture texture)
   at TombLib.Rendering.RenderingTextureAllocator.GetForTriangle(TextureArea texture)
   at TombLib.Rendering.DirectX11.Dx11RenderingDrawingRoom..ctor(Dx11RenderingDevice device, Description description)
   at TombLib.Rendering.DirectX11.Dx11RenderingDevice.CreateDrawingRoom(Description description)
   at TombEditor.Controls.PanelRendering3D.<.ctor>b__140_0(Room room)
   at TombLib.Utils.Cache`2.get_Item(KeyT key)
   at TombEditor.Controls.PanelRendering3D.OnDraw()
   at TombLib.Controls.RenderingPanel.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PaintWithErrorHandling(PaintEventArgs e, Int16 layer)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
__________________
Archaeologist in Irvine, California
Craig Michaels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-21, 12:38   #4114
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie (CT)
Posts: 4,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Michaels View Post
I have been experiencing crashes in-game when reloading and some weird frozen enemy respawns,
Are the enemies originally triggered by Heavy triggers, maybe via shatters? This can cause the enemies to respawn (broken) on reloads.
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-21, 16:53   #4115
Craig Michaels
Archaeologist
 
Craig Michaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin View Post
Are the enemies originally triggered by Heavy triggers, maybe via shatters? This can cause the enemies to respawn (broken) on reloads.
They are! I didnít realize you couldnít trigger enemies via heavy triggers. I did this because in both cases the enemies are triggered at the same time as several other things need to happen, so I used the rolling ball trick.

Sounds like I need to trigger then some other way?
__________________
Archaeologist in Irvine, California
Craig Michaels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-21, 19:35   #4116
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie (CT)
Posts: 4,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Michaels View Post
They are! I didnít realize you couldnít trigger enemies via heavy triggers. I did this because in both cases the enemies are triggered at the same time as several other things need to happen, so I used the rolling ball trick.

Sounds like I need to trigger then some other way?
Ah yes that must be it! Test them with normal triggers to at least narrow down that as the problem

If you want to get advanced, using a triggergroup with tgroup_single_shot+ will also prevent this problem. Otherwise, a normal trigger on enemies is always the safest
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-21, 23:37   #4117
Craig Michaels
Archaeologist
 
Craig Michaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin View Post
Ah yes that must be it! Test them with normal triggers to at least narrow down that as the problem

If you want to get advanced, using a triggergroup with tgroup_single_shot+ will also prevent this problem. Otherwise, a normal trigger on enemies is always the safest
Thanks for your help justin! At least I now know not to trigger enemies with a rollingball. But apparently this wasn't the problem, at least, not the *whole* problem.

I'm no longer having difficulty with respawning enemies, but I am continuing to experience crashes. I thought it was linked to a certain trapdoor, which I deleted and reconfigured into room without a trapdoor at all, and that solved crashes earlier on.

However, I'm still crashing later when trying to save or load. It *seems* to happen after I use a raising block to move a pushable object from one room into another. I can play just fine up until then, but after this action, something seems to go wrong somewhere if I try to save and load. Might there be any issue with the raising block or pushable object moving between rooms, or something like that? I'll keep experimenting and update my post in the TRNG thread as well.

Code:
Version=1.3.0.7
Date: 6 April 2017  (21:34:20)  Size=2580480 bytes
CRS=Disabled
Last diagnostic mexage:Set in ImageMonoScreen image from TempImage
Last directX error: One or more of the parameters passed to the method are incorrect. 
DIRECTX_STACK:
ESP=0x5D6FE5C
STACK_TRACE:
	0x100D3C41
	0x48F8AE
	0x45EB89
	0x100C431D
	0x4491E0
	0x100D6955
	0x451FB3
	0x451166
	0x475155
	0x49E67C
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE


MEMORY CODE MAPPING:

BASE     START    END       ID   PluginName             (PluginVersion - TrngVersion)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
10000000 10001000 1014A000   0   Tomb_NextGeneration    (1.3.0.7 - 1.3.0.7)
7AA10000 7AA11000 7AA7AA00   1   Plugin_ClassicInventory (1.2.0.0 - 1.3.0.7)
6DE60000 6DE61000 6DE68400   2   Plugin_Rollingball     (1.0.0.0 - 1.3.0.5)
70EE0000 70EE1000 70EE6A00   3   Plugin_AODfanChocolateFanTR1 (1.0.0.2 - 1.3.0.7)
53800000 53801000 53819E00   4   Plugin_TokyoSU         (2.0.1.1 - 1.3.0.7)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
............... QUICK DIAGNOSTIC LOG ...............
WARNING: missing Header NG in  "TITLE.TR4" level file
WARNING: missing Header NG in  "TITLE.TR4" level file
At moment of crash the program was managing:
....................................................
CRASH REASON: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
	The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
EXTRA_INFO: VIOLATION ON READ AT OFFSET 0x2E7B0200
RECOVERABLE : YES
CRASH OFFSET: 0x10045465  (Inside offset range of Tomb_NextGeneration)
REGISTERS:
	EAX=2E7B0200  
	EBX=3C  
	ECX=0  
	EDX=0  
	ESI=780  
	EDI=776635B0  
	EBP=5D6FB70  
	EIP=10045465
	ESP=5D6FB30
Stack=0x5D6FB30  pContesto=0x5D6F650  pInfoEccezione=0x5D6F600
PRIMARY_STACK:
ESP=0x5D6FB30
STACK_TRACE:
	0x100C42C8
	0x475795
	0x47AF2D
	0x7AA1361C
	0x7AA61A7D
	0x7AA60DC0
	0x7AA18475
	0x7AA226D0
	0x7AA60CB9
	0x7AA4E6DB
	0x7AA4BA91
	0x7AA5396F
	0x7AA77BB8
	0x7AA60955
	0x7AA6C360
	0x7AA6093D
	0x7AA7A53B
	0x7AA5E9A9
	0x7AA5E7AD
	0x7AA17F42
	0x7AA1217E
	0x7AA121DD
	0x100D331A
	0x100D7FE6
	0x100D80AA
	0x100D6955
	0x451FB3
	0x451166
	0x475155
	0x49E67C
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE

SECONDARY_STACK:
ESP=0x19B0DC
STACK_TRACE:
	0x48D323
	0x48CC6B
	0x48CACE
END_STACK_TRACE

OTHER_STACK:
ESP=0xF0B150
STACK_TRACE:
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE
__________________
Archaeologist in Irvine, California

Last edited by Craig Michaels; 12-06-21 at 23:39.
Craig Michaels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-21, 23:43   #4118
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie (CT)
Posts: 4,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Michaels View Post

However, I'm still crashing later when trying to save or load. It *seems* to happen after I use a raising block to move a pushable object from one room into another. I can play just fine up until then, but after this action, something seems to go wrong somewhere if I try to save and load. Might there be any issue with the raising block or pushable object moving between rooms, or something like that? I'll keep experimenting and update my post in the TRNG thread as well.
I've never had issues moving pushables into other rooms (using a 2 block platform), even with flipmaps. That doesn't mean it's not the issue, though. I was using NGLE, though, not TE.
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-21, 01:01   #4119
Craig Michaels
Archaeologist
 
Craig Michaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin View Post
I've never had issues moving pushables into other rooms (using a 2 block platform), even with flipmaps. That doesn't mean it's not the issue, though. I was using NGLE, though, not TE.
I slightly reconfigured the room so the block passed through fewer rooms, but that's good to know this probbably wasn;t it.

Good news is I *think* I've gotten closer to solving the problem, and my level isn't crashing anymore . However, I'm facing two other issues, which I also posted about in the NGLE thread (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...ostcount=14785). In short though, I was trying to 1) swap an object's mesh twice, which apparently shouldn't be done (https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...6244&page=1318) and 2) use an animating object as a second 4-click raising block with the AssignSlot= script. In this latter case I haven't figured out what's wrong yet, but after reloading, the assignslot raising block lacks collision. Normal raising blocks are fine.
__________________
Archaeologist in Irvine, California

Last edited by Craig Michaels; 13-06-21 at 01:11.
Craig Michaels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-21, 01:16   #4120
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie (CT)
Posts: 4,126
Default

I don't know the limits of meshswapping, but they are the #1 cause for savegame crashes. The game definitely has issues keeping up with that stuff.

Having said that, I caused a savegame crash in a level by looping a meshswap with an organizer at a rate of 10 swaps per second. Don't do this

On the flip side, i've been able to change Lara's skin dozens of times in a single level without crashing the save; but this was using the "copy meshes" flipeffect, not a meshswap, so it could be a non-issue because the game isn't swapping various meshes with hidden object slots.
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.