www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-07-22, 20:34   #301
nickp364
Explorer
 
nickp364's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardoc View Post
Hi Nick,

This was from Tomb1Main, as there is the enemy HP bar visible when I shoot at the mummy. But I made a very similar report a few years ago for TombATI. That's why I mentioned in my post that this wasn't necessarily just a Tomb1Main specific bug.

Yes please, it would be lovely!

EDIT: I don't know if this bug existed in the original DOS based exe, because music support never existed in TRUB until fan-patched to TombATI, and I don't think the original TR1 ever had "do x things to play soundtrack" triggers put in game by the devs.

Guess I could find out some time later... Shouldn't be too difficult to find a scenario where I have to use 2 keys, and mod some music into this. Maybe The Cistern will do. Will try some time this week.
I looked into it and I'm like 95% sure it's an issue with the level file. UB was only ever made for PC, so the music in the levels is fan made. They screwed up this trigger, and so it kills all music. Save/reload is the only way to get the background music back.
Yes just read your edit and I agree with your conclusion. If you find anything out through testing let me know.
nickp364 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-22, 17:05   #302
Niko Todd
Hobbyist
 
Niko Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Duat
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickp364 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niko Todd View Post
The game occasionally freezes completely - the sound also freezes on the last tone played. Shutting down the PC is the only way out of it.
Or it would occasionally slow down to 10-12 fps, then go back to normal and then slow down again.
I didn't seem to have those problems prior to ver. 2.9.1, or it just didn't happen for the short period I was on 2.9.0. Can't tell.
I also play the Tomb2main and the original ATI version, none of which cause such problems.
Any Ideas?
Thanks!
Hm that's weird. What's your hardware specs? Nothing changed in 2.9.1 that would affect anything like this.
I've discovered what causes the problem: it occurs when I'm watching a video and trying to play the game at the same time. Regardless of the browser I'm using, the game goes very slow - not only the fps, but the sound too. It's worse with Firefox, than it is with Brave.
My drivers are updated, and the browsers are set up properly. Again, every other TR game works flawlessly in the same scenario - it's only Tomb1Main, which kills the computer completely if I don't quickly alt+f4 out of it.
Niko Todd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-22, 23:22   #303
Delroj
Hobbyist
 
Delroj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 61
Default

I can't make it work, i put everything in steam folder but after eidos logo game black screen and freezes. I'm not sure if i'm installing it correctly.
Delroj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-22, 01:01   #304
nickp364
Explorer
 
nickp364's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niko Todd View Post
I've discovered what causes the problem: it occurs when I'm watching a video and trying to play the game at the same time. Regardless of the browser I'm using, the game goes very slow - not only the fps, but the sound too. It's worse with Firefox, than it is with Brave.
My drivers are updated, and the browsers are set up properly. Again, every other TR game works flawlessly in the same scenario - it's only Tomb1Main, which kills the computer completely if I don't quickly alt+f4 out of it.
Hm. I'm able to multitask. You can open a Github ticket and maybe we can figure it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delroj View Post
I can't make it work, i put everything in steam folder but after eidos logo game black screen and freezes. I'm not sure if i'm installing it correctly.
What's the error message? There's an installer releasing soon that should really simplify the process. In the meantime, you probably are missing the level files I'd guess. Download TombATI and copy the data and music folders into your Tomb1Main install.
nickp364 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-22, 01:17   #305
nickp364
Explorer
 
nickp364's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 886
Default

Release 2.10 is out! https://github.com/rr-/Tomb1Main/releases

Here's a video showcasing the new features:

  • added a .NET-based installer
  • added the option to make Lara revert to pistols on new level start
  • added the PS1 style UI
  • added the "Story so far..." option in the select level menu to view cutscenes and FMVs

Note: the .NET installer may require you to install .NET from Microsoft: https://dotnet.microsoft.com/en-us/d...=getdotnetcore
nickp364 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-22, 19:03   #306
Niko Todd
Hobbyist
 
Niko Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Duat
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickp364 View Post
Release 2.10 is out! https://github.com/rr-/Tomb1Main/releases

Here's a video showcasing the new features:

  • added a .NET-based installer
  • added the option to make Lara revert to pistols on new level start
  • added the PS1 style UI
  • added the "Story so far..." option in the select level menu to view cutscenes and FMVs

Note: the .NET installer may require you to install .NET from Microsoft: https://dotnet.microsoft.com/en-us/d...=getdotnetcore
Thank you!
Niko Todd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-22, 16:55   #307
Famicom
Historian
 
Famicom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: City of Vilcabamba
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickp364 View Post
Release 2.10 is out! https://github.com/rr-/Tomb1Main/releases

Here's a video showcasing the new features:

  • added a .NET-based installer
  • added the option to make Lara revert to pistols on new level start
  • added the PS1 style UI
  • added the "Story so far..." option in the select level menu to view cutscenes and FMVs

Note: the .NET installer may require you to install .NET from Microsoft: https://dotnet.microsoft.com/en-us/d...=getdotnetcore
We're getting closer and closer to the perfect, canonical version of TR1 and then some. Thank you
__________________
I'm sorry. I only play for sport.
Famicom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-22, 04:50   #308
laracroftswest
Professor
 
laracroftswest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunnydale
Posts: 4,769
Default

Wonderful feature additions. Amazing work as always

Edit: Tried this out - everything is working well but when it asks to save between levels and I hit Enter, Ctrl, etc. it just closes the passport without saving. Could I have potentially made a typo in the .json?

Edit 2: Nvm, think I fixed it
__________________
Like a moth to a flame burned by the fire...

Last edited by laracroftswest; 06-08-22 at 15:22.
laracroftswest is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.