www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > The Last Revelation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-09-22, 15:31   #21
Gh0stBlade
Professor
 
Gh0stBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,710
Default

Maybe the TR4 PC Review buiild has interesting differences too? I didn't notice any though...
__________________
No longer accepting PMs due to abuse of the system.
Gh0stBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-22, 17:15   #22
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Poverty
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gh0stBlade View Post
Maybe the TR4 PC Review buiild has interesting differences too? I didn't notice any though...
I plan to research this build very extensively once you release it, I hope it will have interesting things
__________________
Y
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-22, 05:09   #23
xtimz
Historian
 
xtimz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 457
Default

Hi, I come to clarify the TR3 blood color. I read the document and checked. The result is:
TR3 blood color is hard coded inside the exe file. The exe file doesn't need to be different to do this.
The exe file reads the ./data/tombpc.dat to find the Language ID. If it is German, the exe uses purple as the blood color, otherwise it uses magenta.

To see this, open ./data/tombpc.dat, and find the following line, as shown below.
Code:
00000170h: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 03 00 00 00 00 00 00 A6 00 ;
The uint8 starting from 17f is the Language ID. It could be:
0: English
1: French
2: German
3: American
4: Japanese

We change it to 2, as shown below.
Code:
00000170h: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 03 00 00 00 00 00 00 A6 02 ;
Then the blood color becomes purple.
I tried all other options, i.e. 0, 1, 3, 4, the blood colors are all magenta.
xtimz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-22, 07:21   #24
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtimz View Post
Hi, I come to clarify the TR3 blood color. I read the document and checked. The result is:
TR3 blood color is hard coded inside the exe file. The exe file doesn't need to be different to do this.
The exe file reads the ./data/tombpc.dat to find the Language ID. If it is German, the exe uses purple as the blood color, otherwise it uses magenta.

To see this, open ./data/tombpc.dat, and find the following line, as shown below.
Code:
00000170h: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 03 00 00 00 00 00 00 A6 00 ;
The uint8 starting from 17f is the Language ID. It could be:
0: English
1: French
2: German
3: American
4: Japanese

We change it to 2, as shown below.
Code:
00000170h: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 03 00 00 00 00 00 00 A6 02 ;
Then the blood color becomes purple.
I tried all other options, i.e. 0, 1, 3, 4, the blood colors are all magenta.
Wow! That's actually really cool. Great sleuthing!
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-22, 05:13   #25
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Poverty
Posts: 1,395
Default

correct
The only other instance the exe checks for gameflow language is when printing the string "Assault Course" and "Quadbike Track" strings in Lara's home. This string is a bit special, it's not in tombpc.dat. it's baked directly in the executable
__________________
Y
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-22, 19:28   #26
TombHackR
Golden
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,370
Default

I don’t even get why they bothered with tombpc.dat, given that a huge amount of things in the game are hardcoded to specific levels. If you were to change the order of the script inside tombpc.dat, loads of things would break. Someone tried re-ordering the game so that it would play backwards in this thread and they discovered just how much is hardcoded .

Actually, I do get it. It’s because they were under so much pressure to finish the game in under a year, they just had to make things… work, for the final product.
TombHackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-22, 05:57   #27
xtimz
Historian
 
xtimz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 457
Default

Yes. I don't know why, but a lot of things have been hard coded.
I remembered I once replace the level files to Antarctica, then the level has snows and temperature meters.
https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...65#post6613765





I think for a good programmer, these things should be placed in the level file, not the exe file.
xtimz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-22, 20:51   #28
TombHackR
Golden
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtimz View Post
I think for a good programmer, these things should be placed in the level file, not the exe file.
In an ideal world, yes. Though as I was saying, I think the programmers were overworked and fed up of expanding the same engine they had been using for 4 years… so they had to resort to hard coding and illogical workarounds. Tomb Raider 3 is bad enough but I’ve heard Chronicles is awful, as Lwmte puts it:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwmte View Post
TRC was a complete trainwreck when it comes to level-specific unique setups. There are literally hundreds of ridiculous hardcoded hacks like "if current level is 5 and room is 32, drop a piano on player's head". Nobody knows about them, nobody kept track on them.
TombHackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.