www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-01-19, 18:06   #831
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zynkel View Post
the message that appears when execute Tomb Raider 1.exe
meaning when you run (shortcuts aside) directly from windows explorer (?), if I get you right, exactly what:
d:\tombraider\tomb.exe
d:\tombraider\play tomb raider 1.exe

or else what kind of [path]\*tomb*.exe is it about?
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-19, 18:21   #832
Zynkel
Hobbyist
 
Zynkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 23
Default

I tried with:
d:\tombraider\tomb.exe
d:\tombraider\play tomb raider 1.exe
and desktop shortcut

I don't know where exactly the game is searching dosbox.exe
Zynkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-19, 18:22   #833
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,526
Default

Obviously there's some conflict going on there, hardly unpredictable due to the frankenstein-like nature of the contraption, but then again not impossible to break as long as the setup issue can be picked up
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-19, 18:47   #834
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zynkel View Post
I tried with:
d:\tombraider\tomb.exe
d:\tombraider\play tomb raider 1.exe
and desktop shortcut
ok 1st of all forget about using tomb*.exe directly this won't ever work here
d:\tombraider\play tomb raider 1.exe feels more like it
but a big caveat can't be missed:
in latest versions the installer lets you choose the destination folder, after a request by some mates here, but in this case it's simpler to reinstall to c:\tombraider default and check that everything's working using the dekstop shortcuts
if it's fine and I just can't see why not, now you can move everything to eg d:\tombraider or whatever and it still ought to be alright (except the shortcuts' target obv. will have to be adjusted) in practice running now
d:\tombraider\play tomb raider 1.exe
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.

Last edited by gidierre; 16-01-19 at 20:46.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-19, 19:24   #835
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zynkel View Post
I tried with:
d:\tombraider\tomb.exe
d:\tombraider\play tomb raider 1.exe
and desktop shortcut

I don't know where exactly the game is searching dosbox.exe
as long as you installed in d:\tombraider
I can make it faster for you if I send you a couple files that ought to make the trick
I can send these to you by email right away if you like
you can give me your email through PM as well
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-19, 18:21   #836
Zynkel
Hobbyist
 
Zynkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 23
Default

I reinstalled on C:\tombraider and works perfectly now.
Zynkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-19, 20:12   #837
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,526
Default

More maintenance to do, some features to refurbish

the set window mode option is no longer needed since nGlide now reenables the alt+enter hotkey to toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes on the fly at any given moment, so the option became redundant for me to script beforehand and I ditched it
but most of all
as reported eg by TRF mate Zynkel, whom I will thank for the warning and the testing, the choice of a customized folder for the installation could be broken or elusive at best
so I looked into it and hopefully I fixed it, while also ironing out a few corners in an unrelated routine which ought to make the whole thing a bit faster every time the game gets started
in practice this was happening because of windows taking in some cases the convoluted
Quote:
\users\[...]\AppData\Local\Temp\
path to handle this one critical call and that was enough to break it
see screenshot if readable




so mostly for the sake of robustness time has come for a little update to v1.7.7.3 now and here's the link

https://dl.tombraiderhub.com/tomb-ra...er-1.7.7.3.zip
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.

Last edited by gidierre; 19-01-19 at 19:04.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-19, 09:24   #838
Zynkel
Hobbyist
 
Zynkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 23
Default

I tried this new version on my D drive and now works correctly. You did a great work! Thanks for all.

EDIT: Move my C files (Savegames,Joy profile, etc) to new D installation and everything is OK. Perfect!

Regards

Last edited by Zynkel; 19-01-19 at 09:31.
Zynkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-19, 12:20   #839
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,526
Default

a little addition coming up
although I'm fully aware that (provided a small Melvillian quote is expedient) this is only bound to be worth the consideration of those to whom it may prove worth considering

after delivering the latest tiny refurbishment it occurred to me I could still improve a bit the performance of the game launching procedure, aside from what already worked upon in v1.7.7.3
namely the 8 to 11 second standby after the shortcut click that it takes (for me at least, obv. it's pretty hardware dependent) to get started, gets trimmed by 40% or so afaict

admittedly it's about a handful of seconds no more, but still.. it all adds up in the end

this is only to say I'm not going to recompile all for that, much less so to label a new "version"
if someone is interested (read Melville above) I can provide the couple files to try out.
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-19, 04:35   #840
b.gluch
Relic Hunter
 
b.gluch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Montréal
Posts: 5,893
Default

Not sure if I should post this here.

I dowloaded the remastered FMVs from here, but when I put them in the FMV folder the game doesn't play them and the screen just goes black or it closes. What do I have to do?
__________________
Hello, I'm Shelley Duvall
b.gluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.