www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-11-16, 10:38   #21
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,300
Default

Quote:
- Added option to recalculate bounding box for the current animation in the menu when a moveable is right clicked.
Sounds very good!
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-16, 11:02   #22
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
Sounds very good!
^ And works fantastic. Now I don't need FexAnim to fix broken LARA collisions.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-16, 19:13   #23
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,885
Default

^
As I told you, but I'm telling it again for those who don't know yet: you didn't need FexAnim at all anyway.
This is an interesting addition though! Makes the process even faster.


Just some little things I have to tell you about:
When I select, let's say MOTORBIKE (so it is displayed with Lara too), that I play an animation, and I right click, the program crashes.
Also, it seems the frame interpolation for the second object (in this case, Lara), isn't calculated.

Minor but annoying bug: sometimes, when I right-click to move the camera, the object just seems to be thrown somewhere. I mean, I can't see it anymore. But it doesn't always happen, I don't know when it does exactly.


May I give some suggestions (not requests) or is it just mostly about fixing TRViewer's problems?
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-16, 00:18   #24
sapper
Archaeologist
 
sapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,615
Default

Sure you can give suggestions but I may not be able to implement them.

I'm really not expert in MFC/C++ that TRViewer uses and changes to user interface like the camera would be difficult for me.
__________________
Check trsearch\Tools for some of my programs
sapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-16, 05:41   #25
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,885
Default

Well I was about to say that the camera was a pain in the ass to use.

So I'm listing all the things that come in my mind. Don't take them as a request, because I'm literally writing everything that pops up in my head. These are things that I think could be interesting, but not necessary:
  • When double-clicking to reset the camera, it also stops the animation that is playing, which in annoying and useless.
  • Have a grid, ala WadMerger (that you can toggle on/off)
  • Make the list animation a list ala WadMerger (not a dropdown menu, because it's annoying to always open the menu and find an animation. In WadMerger you can just click an animation, hold, and move the mouse up and down to select something else further in the list). Why not make it occupy the whole height of the tab, at the left of the Parameters and Replay zones, so it fills up an unnecessary empty space?
  • The Chain function is actually working, which is great. and really useful. But to be faithful to the engine, there should be no interpolation between the last key of the current animation and the first key of the next animation. The interpolation is only between the frames of an animation.
  • Have a button to restart the chain of animations from the start. Maybe it could replace the Automatic/Manual button that is next to it, and instead, the Automatic/Manual button could be moved into the toolbar, just like the camera is?
  • The framerate is not changeable. Would it be possible to make it changeable, or is it not possible in a .TR4 file?
  • The unknown field
  • Have the Frame and Key sliders above each other, so they can be larger and easier to use.
  • Have an option to limit the interpolation at 30fps, like in the engine. It's pretty and really pleasing to the eye to have them at the max FPS but not the same as the games.
  • Also I don't understand why the interpolation's value is displayed and looks like it can be changed, because it's not actually.
  • Have some more options saved at the exit of TRViewer. The things that are toggled in the toolbar basically.

Oh and some other crashes related to multiple objects in the same scene: if the chain mode is activated, at the end it seems to crash.
And when double-clicking when an animation is selected... it has crashed once or twice, but I'm not able to do it again. It was after viewing several objects though..

Though, these crashes, and the one I've told you before, seem to happen only with my Motorbike in MY custom level, and not with the jeep. With the motorbike she is misplaced too in my level, while with the original bike she's placed correctly. (I can send you my level file if you wish)

A little but with the chain function and multiple objects: if the chain function is activated, it seems to work only for Lara. The vehicle plays its animation in loop mode.

I guess that's all for now.
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-16, 06:59   #26
sapper
Archaeologist
 
sapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quite a list. I'll study later.

Please download new version.

Quote:
TRViewer 1.083 revision 5L readme Nov 2016

- Fixed bug introduced in revision 5k that crashed TRViewer when Recalc bounding box used for moveable that didn't use a second moveable for body meshes.

- Changed Manual Camera to be default instead of auto camera.

- Added warning message if animation imported from 3DS doesn't have keys for all meshes for all keyframes.

Compiled with Visual Studio 2013 CE so MicroSoft's VC++ 2013 redistributable may be needed.

Instructions:

Copy the exe to an existing TRViewer folder.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/g4p164...r1083rev5L.zip
__________________
Check trsearch\Tools for some of my programs

Last edited by sapper; 23-11-16 at 07:01.
sapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-16, 19:01   #27
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,885
Default

Thanks for the update!


Oh, one last thing I forgot: it seems TRViewer reads the textures a bit badly. The border pixels seem to be missing, which results in cropped textures and is quite visible.
Actually, TR4's XNA Lara model is based on something exported from TRViewer I think, because it shows the exact same problem... problem which isn't present in WadMerger, nor in the game.

Here's an example with TR4's Lara (I haven't checked with other models, but I think it happens with other versions because XNA Lara model of TR3 Lara is missing a bit of the eyebrow):


(don't mind the "pit" in her hair, it's just a matter of point of view)
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-16, 15:36   #28
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 9,212
Default

What's the deal with those extra lines of pixels anyway? I swear she has a 1-pixel wide line of navy blue colour going along the sides of her nose in Tomb Raider Chronicles which bugged the hell out of me everytime a cutscene went off. The rest of her model was always correct...

While we're at it, I think the lips also show there's a bit too much of the texture cropped from the sides, as well as her cleavage.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-16, 18:07   #29
tomb2player
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,013
Default

Isn't it due to blinear filter? In game there are also one pixel gaps between textures. There is fix for this, I believe in tutorial section.
__________________
Tomb Raider: RMS Titanic
tomb2player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-16, 19:05   #30
Sardoc
Archaeologist
 
Sardoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 1,220
Default

The blue line is because the nose texture is drawn on a patch of blue, from what I remember. This can be fixed quite easily in TR4 and The Times, albeit it's tedious. I'll quite happily do it myself once I sort out some RL stuff. TR5 is a different story, though. Haven't seen any tools for manipulating textures that work with it, I'm afraid.
Sardoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 18:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.