www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Anniversary

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-04-08, 00:40   #1
phoolee13
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Question Modding on Mac's...

So yes, I'm sure you think I'm a loser for owning a Mac, BUT do the mods work on the Mac version of Tomb Raider Anniversary Edition?

Perhaps there is a folder where I can place the tpf files?

Han
phoolee13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 00:52   #2
Larapink
Tomb Raider
 
Larapink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: | G: ♀
Posts: 14,734
Default

I don't own a mac, but you can try to load a mod with textmod and see if it works with your game.

Just download textmod, find an outfit you like then try to run it go here:http://www.tombraiderhub.com/tran/modding/index.html
__________________
Larapink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 01:52   #3
irjudd
Tomb Raider
 
irjudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,848
Default

As far as I know, Texmod is only available in Executable format. As such you'd probably have to be running windows on your mac with a windows copy of TRA for it to work.
irjudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 03:25   #4
SamReeves
Tomb Raider
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13,692
Default

I agree with the above. If you have an Intel based Mac, load Windows via Boot Camp and you'll be in a better position to mod.
SamReeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 03:40   #5
phoolee13
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Is there anyway that the mods work without TexMod thing???? (I'm dying to have these mods work... Does the TexMod thing have to be running during game play? If not, I guess that I will be buying a windows copy for my home computer.... :-(
phoolee13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 03:42   #6
phoolee13
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default

I used to mod UT 2004... and the mod files just went into "skin" folders... I am coming to realize that Tomb Raider is MUCH different...
phoolee13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 05:27   #7
Zac Medley
Inactive
 
Zac Medley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a Lovre Gallery air conditioning duct with Lara...
Posts: 1,845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoolee13 View Post
Is there anyway that the mods work without TexMod thing???? (I'm dying to have these mods work... Does the TexMod thing have to be running during game play? If not, I guess that I will be buying a windows copy for my home computer.... :-(
There is a whole 'nother approach to modding TRA and TRL using Tomb Ripper that might work (emphasis on might).

TexMod intercepts the the graphics output from the game and modifies it before it is displayed, so it has to be running during game play. The advantage of this is that the game files are never actually modified.

Tomb Ripper is the "old fashioned" approach in which you directly edit the game files (.BIG). Read the tutorial here, and see what format the games files are in on your MAC version.

Make sure you make backup copies of your game files before you rip them though.
Zac Medley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 05:41   #8
phoolee13
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Zac,
Since I'm new to the Tomb Raider dealeo... Where do I find such files? Also, I wish that I could use Tomb Ripper... But unless they have a Mac version or a way to convert the tpf files to .Big (?) files, I can't do it on my Mac... Thank you for the help though!
phoolee13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 05:43   #9
Zac Medley
Inactive
 
Zac Medley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a Lovre Gallery air conditioning duct with Lara...
Posts: 1,845
Default

Can you try to use Tomb Ripper in a Windows emulator? (or virtual environment) I'm a Linux person and we have emulators for just about everything.
Zac Medley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-08, 05:52   #10
phoolee13
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Would that work? (I guess what I'm asking is WHAT exactly does Tomb Ripper do to the files? And what exactly are they replacing?) [yes... I'm a noob at this!]

I know that Tomb Ripper doesn't run while the game is played... Could I use my windows computer to convert and then transfer to my Mac?
phoolee13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 17:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.