www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Next Generation Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-04-22, 03:44   #1
Richard_trle
Explorer
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 816
Default Can someone help me with a raising Static/Bridge/Floor setup

Hello there!

I'm trying to setup a raising lava in a series of 3 vertical connected rooms as shown in the following picture.



In the bottommost room there is a 13 blocks wide static that is "mocking" the said raising lava behavior. I'm using Parameters and F166 (Move static) and the results are really promising. The static is also set with Burn Lara on collision and Huge collision.

https://i.imgur.com/jS11BpX.gif

However, I found a nuisance, if I were to make the floor accompany the static I would need to use Dummy triggers (using either twoblock_platform or bridge_flat objects).

Since dummy trigger breaks room's collision if its target object is bellow the floor level, I'd also need to make several intersections and use different objects for each different floor level. On top of that I'd need to synchronize them all to move together with F167, so the player would not break through the dummy floor. This also leads to several fragmented triggers which (at least for me) is a no-go for TRLE/TRNG engine.

In summary, this is a disaster, because I tried it and it involves too much attempt/error, which makes me unsatisfied with this approach. Leading to the question. Can you guys help me with finding another approach? Is there any alternative to this one I mentioned above? Or do you think that I can leave like that and let Lara fall through the fake lava to her doom at the bottom?

Anyway, thank you for your time and for reading this!

Last edited by tlr online; 25-04-22 at 17:04. Reason: Converted gif to link.
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-22, 16:16   #2
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 3,606
Default

You don't need a dummy trigger for bridges in TRNG, a normal trigger is enough.

Also, Lara reacts to bridges based on the trigger, and said object's height, nothing more, so as long as the bridge is down below she won't be affected, and when it gets near her feet she will move up.

So you can just have 1 bridge object and trigger it everywhere in the room, and move it up the same way you move the lava.
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-22, 20:30   #3
turneraider
Explorer
 
turneraider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 657
Default

^^
ohh, this also helps me with something!! Didn't know that
__________________
I don't know I just work here.
turneraider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-22, 23:24   #4
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,588
Default

I'm fairly certain Joey's recommendation is best, but you can also try 2-block platforms (they are ideal for this kind of setup).

I need to remember that I can take advantage of a single bridgeflat for a wide area. I always run into this when trying to move a bridge flat, when I forget that bridges work that way
__________________
Nothing is impossible, just impractical
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-22, 00:55   #5
Richard_trle
Explorer
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 816
Default

Omg Joey this is a life saver!!! 🤩
However I ran into some issues if I use the same trigger across the entire room.





This happens


So, should I split the trigger in sectors? Or is there any way to fix that?

Last edited by Richard_trle; 26-04-22 at 01:01.
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-22, 01:07   #6
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,588
Default

Does it make a difference if you put the actual brudge flat object on a tile that doesn't run through a column?
__________________
Nothing is impossible, just impractical
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-22, 01:11   #7
Richard_trle
Explorer
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 816
Default

It only happens with raised floors, walls collisions are preserved

If the bridge is at a level and the floor is above it, the collision defaults to the bridge.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin View Post
Does it make a difference if you put the actual brudge flat object on a tile that doesn't run through a column?
I didn't answer your question properly and sadly, no it makes no difference 🙁

Last edited by Richard_trle; 26-04-22 at 01:13.
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-22, 01:56   #8
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,588
Default

Blast! What a frustrating issue. Can you add another room level to change the raised floors into columns?

Otherwise, maybe test a two-block just to see if the issue persists.
__________________
Nothing is impossible, just impractical
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-22, 03:32   #9
Richard_trle
Explorer
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 816
Default

I tested twoblock_platform, they require dummy trigger and only one work per sector, what a bummer.

I'm avoiding vertical portals as much as I can, I had terrible experience due to the engine limitation regarding vertical portals, ugh.

I think that bridge+trigger will do the trick, now the only part is the syncing. It will take some time, but it the best I can get

Thank you guys!
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-22, 11:27   #10
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,588
Default

Correct: while Two-blocks are far more capable than Bridge_flats, they do require dummy triggers. I was thinking of supplementing the bridges with Two-blocks in the specific spots where the Bridge_flats were failing
__________________
Nothing is impossible, just impractical
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.