www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-20, 07:59   #19641
LateRaider
Archaeologist
 
LateRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Ship Pierrson
Posts: 2,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheshireBitch View Post
I just played "Pierre's Christmas adventure" and very honestly it's the best Christmas TR level I've ever played. It's not so much with the gameplay but the story-line is so perfect and funny ! Huge thank you to Mbog because it is truly a christmas masterpiece !
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBog View Post
Awww thank you but also i have to say LateRaider inspired me to make this level. If it weren't for his avatar and support for Larson x Pierre it would ve never crossed my mind to make it. He deserves the credit too it's true that the story and sort of insight in Larson and Pierre s life is the most important part... more so than the gameplay.

I'm glad you're enjoying it
youre all welcome x icons inspiring icons

thank you mbog for making such an iconic start to 2020
__________________
Passing my "Most Iconic Member of TRF" title to MBog
LateRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-20, 15:23   #19642
MBog
Archaeologist
 
MBog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 1,963
Default

The pleasure was mine
__________________
I will become game director at TR .
MBog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-20, 14:20   #19643
CheshireBitch
Archaeologist
 
CheshireBitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,420
Default

Hello,

I'm having a very basic problem I guess, it's the Stretching polygon bug. So it happens if I use a SAS. When this SAS start shooting at Lara, the polygons are so stretch you can't see anything anymore, they all point to the center of the screen. Sometimes it crashes the game, sometimes it don't but then there's lot of missing polygons and it's better to close the game and restart tomb4 anyway. I haven't seen this happen without the SAS (and I hope I won't).

It only happens when this SAS is used and no matter which custom or official SAS, it is the same problem.

I read somewhere that it might be because of my level being too big ? It's a 191 rooms level but they are mostly very light and the settings are not huge, you can't see more than 30/40 blocks away. I'm still waaaay behind any limits the editor has. I don't get it. Doesn anybody has an idea about it ? I search but found nothing that links the SAS to the stretching problem.
CheshireBitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-20, 15:10   #19644
Die Basis
Student
 
Die Basis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany, Cologne
Posts: 167
Default

Hello folks,

is there a way to open Pushpull- or Kickdoors only with a normal trigger?

e.g. to open them with a normal key and key_hole?
__________________
TRNG - The only limit is your imagination
Die Basis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-20, 17:34   #19645
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,848
Default

With "normal" trigger no, but you can do it even without Lara's direct touch.
All you need is TRNG, force the proper animation with an Action trigger overlapped with the Key trigger. Probably also "normal triggering" the door (before that) "in the background".
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-20, 17:37   #19646
Songe
Hobbyist
 
Songe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 40
Default

There is. I used an open kickdoor in my level Runes of Dawn (simply by activating all five codebits). However, for this to work, you will have to replace Animation 0 with the opening Animation.

Keep in mind, though, that Lara does not need a key to open a kickdoor. This means you can open it with a key trigger, but Lara will still be able to just kick it open.

You could, of course, use a door slot. There is one of those in trix' Santorini Wad, I think.

- - - - - -

How do you loop an audio using TRNG? When I trigger audio 098, or 096, it isn't looped.
__________________
Lara Croft: No house in prospect but the tomb.
Songe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-20, 18:03   #19647
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Songe View Post
How do you loop an audio using TRNG? When I trigger audio 098, or 096, it isn't looped.
With flipeffect "Sound (CD)" triggers to play simply choose "loop" in the trigger parameters.
Using old CD trigger in TRNG - you can't.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-20, 19:51   #19648
Die Basis
Student
 
Die Basis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany, Cologne
Posts: 167
Default

Thank you guys for your answers.

I will see what I can do with the TRNG Triggers.
__________________
TRNG - The only limit is your imagination

Last edited by Die Basis; 16-01-20 at 19:52.
Die Basis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-20, 05:02   #19649
SebCroc
Historian
 
SebCroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia!
Posts: 391
Default

I'm determined to get the slide-to-run animation (246) working without the use of TRNG scripts, even if I have to resort to unintuitive workarounds, but I'm stumped as to how StateIDs work. Is there a guide or something that details the kinks with the StateID system, for instance why StateID changes sometimes seemingly aren't enough to trigger an animation?

Surely it's possible to do. How did SSJ6Wolf create this crawlspace roll without TRNG scripts? https://www.trsearch.org/item/2255
However complicated it gets, I'm up for it.

Same thing with the stand-to-crouch-abort animation (303). The state changes appear to already be there in stand-to-crouch (217), ready to go... so why is the game not able to register when I've let go of the crouch button (supposedly in the "stop" state (2)), while in the stand-to-crouch animation?

Very new to this, but I'm having fun messing around.

EDIT: OMG I got the slide-to-run working!! Now to make the transition smooth. I'm getting a better grasp on StateIDs as I tinker around.
__________________
Braids please :)

Last edited by SebCroc; 17-01-20 at 07:49.
SebCroc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-20, 08:52   #19650
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,968
Default

The game engine uses StateIDs two ways.
First, the "current" State, which is usually exactly the one in the animation properties. For example, animation 103 uses StateID 2, which is the "standing" state.
And the Next StateID to determine what she should do next.

A function is attached to every State. That means there's a function for StateID 2, and it's where the game decides what to make her do next. Depending on conditions, a new StateID is put in queue, the "Next StateID", which tells what she should do next.
For example, in the Stand state, if the Up cursor key is pressed, and Lara is on dry land, and there is no wall in front, the game will set the Next StateID to 0, ie. the Run state.
That's where the State Changes you see for each animation come: every line says "If Next StateID A is called, and the current frame is between frame B and C, then switch to animation D and start at frame E".

Actually now I'm going to correct what I've said: there is not 1, but 2 function for each State. One is for normal logic, the other one is related to collisions, and the latter will often force animations (and new current and next StateIDs) depending on the situation, and it will have priority over State Changes. For example, when Lara is jumping forward, and she hits a wall, that's the collision function that will takeover and force the wall hit animation. Why? Because it has to happen immediately even without a State Change, and because it also sets the value for other variables like the speed and direction at the same time.
So you won't see a State Change that leads to the wall hit animation in this case.

All that also means that every possible sotate change must have been planned in the code by Core to be possible. For example, the Swim forward state won't ever be triggered during the Stand state, Core didn't plan it because it made no sense. There are also things they forgot some times.
What I mean is some animations have special States. While the landing animations usually have the Stand state to allow the regular actions Lara can do while she's standing (provided the State Changes exist of course), some animations have different states for some reason. The Stop sliding animation might be in this case, and the issue would be that the corresponding function has no code that will trigger the Run state. Probably just because they forgot, nothing more. That means that even if you put the correct State change in the animation to trigger animation 246 (stop sliding to run), practically it won't ever be triggered.
(I've seen your EDIT after typing this, so in this case there's no issue but it's still applicable to other animations)

Sometimes the only difference some StateID have is that they have different camera behaviors, or even nothing specially important.
Since we know the Stand state can trigger the Run state, you could try changing the Stop sliding animation's state to 2 (the Stand state). If there is no side effect, then that means you can safely trigger the Run animation using a simple State Change, and it will work. So I'd say: try it.

Note that I haven't got in too much details, but it happens some times things are hardcoded. For example, during the Run state, if Lra started running frim standing (so playing animation 6), the Jump state won't be triggered until frame 19 of the run animation is reached at least once, even though the animations have the necessary state changes for the jump animations. They did that to mke her jump at the very last minute when doing a 1-block run jump, but it can be helpful to know when things don't work as they normally should.
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.