www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider III

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-10-22, 01:19   #11
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 4,183
Default

Thanks a lot! I tested and so far:
- main game seems to work all good
- the manor crashes after 2 seconds
- custom levels crash on loadscreen
__________________
Press F to type F.
DJ Full is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 01:23   #12
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Full View Post
Thanks a lot! I tested and so far:
- main game seems to work all good
- the manor crashes after 2 seconds
- custom levels crash on loadscreen
Perhaps the customs you tested are missing files or dlls tr3 uses as, I just tried earlier with two different customs and it works great on my end
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 01:33   #13
Kirishima
Explorer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 701
Default

It's just the running jumps that are different. It's hard to explain without a video, but to put it simply when tapping jump while running in Tomb3main, atm, Lara will jump almost immediately without waiting for the current animation to finish like it would in vanilla Tomb Raider. It's kinda like that walk-to-run jump, just minus the walk. Everything else behaves like vanilla however.

Also, antivirus decided to complain that the tomb3decomp.dll is a trojan all of a sudden, nevermind I ran it perfectly fine before.

Last edited by Kirishima; 16-10-22 at 01:35.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 01:34   #14
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,653
Default

Accidental duplicate of above post
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 01:55   #15
Topixtor
Historian
 
Topixtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 458
Default

Finally, this is huge. TR3 is easily the most broken game after TR5 and that transparency glitch on nVidia is so troublesome... Appreciate all the work sooo much.

Might I ask what "Expand on Lara's moveset" exactly means in the changelog?
Topixtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 02:02   #16
Kirishima
Explorer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 701
Default

@topixtor

Woops/troye added a bunch of things that weren't in the vanilla game (or at least enabled) like that sprint to crouch move from 4 and the ability to immediately run after sliding down a slope.

EDIT: Keycard pickups aren't being displayed in the corner for some reason after a quick test of HSC.

Last edited by Kirishima; 16-10-22 at 02:20.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 02:30   #17
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 4,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei View Post
Perhaps the customs you tested are missing files or dlls tr3 uses
I copied dlls from TR3, still a crash. Which levels did you try?
I'm trying Templar's Secret. Agent's TR3 AOD also crashed.
__________________
Press F to type F.
DJ Full is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 02:53   #18
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,653
Default

Venice at Night by stormchaser I just realised, the dlls from dgvoodoo were there too - maybe that's what's making it work for me custom wise. My folder contains
D3d8, D3dImm, ddraw, dec130, edec, ffplay, sdl.
That feels like alot..some may not be needed.

Edit: what is TR3 AOD? cant find a reference. Sounds intriguing

Last edited by mizuno_suisei; 16-10-22 at 02:59.
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 05:24   #19
laracroftswest
Professor
 
laracroftswest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunnydale
Posts: 4,794
Default

Troye...you have done it again. This was such a nice surprise to see today! Wasn't expecting any TR3 projects like this for a while.

Thank you so much you are a savior to this community!

One small thing I've noticed though: I'm setting everything up smoothly after a fresh uninstall/reinstall but one potential bug I found was Lara's inability to steer when she's in the upwards duck position. When she's on all fours she can steer as normal, but not in the animation right before that. I've tried on both keyboard and controller. Has anyone else encountered this?
__________________
Like a moth to a flame burned by the fire...
laracroftswest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 06:47   #20
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Invercargill
Posts: 1,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Full View Post
- the manor crashes after 2 seconds
that.. shouldn't happen, it doesn't happen on my side, what settings do you have on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirishima View Post
It's just the running jumps that are different. It's hard to explain without a video, but to put it simply when tapping jump while running in Tomb3main, atm, Lara will jump almost immediately without waiting for the current animation to finish like it would in vanilla Tomb Raider. It's kinda like that walk-to-run jump, just minus the walk. Everything else behaves like vanilla however.
that's a bug from having wrong behavior in the jump function. I won't be moving it to tomb3 as it's a bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topixtor View Post
Finally, this is huge. TR3 is easily the most broken game after TR5 and that transparency glitch on nVidia is so troublesome... Appreciate all the work sooo much.

Might I ask what "Expand on Lara's moveset" exactly means in the changelog?
everything is explained here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirishima View Post
EDIT: Keycard pickups aren't being displayed in the corner for some reason after a quick test of HSC.
some pickup/key items have wrong rotations in the level file, these will not show/show wrongly in the pickup display, there isn't really a solution other than hardcoding rotations for every case, which is planned

Quote:
Originally Posted by laracroftswest View Post
Troye...you have done it again. This was such a nice surprise to see today! Wasn't expecting any TR3 projects like this for a while.

Thank you so much you are a savior to this community!

One small thing I've noticed though: I'm setting everything up smoothly after a fresh uninstall/reinstall but one potential bug I found was Lara's inability to steer when she's in the upwards duck position. When she's on all fours she can steer as normal, but not in the animation right before that. I've tried on both keyboard and controller. Has anyone else encountered this?
You mean the turning left/right while ducked? that was never in TR3, and the animations are not in the level files so there is no way to bring it back, unfortunately

--
Thank you everyone for the support and kind words! I hope this makes TR3 more enjoyable for everyone
__________________
I like cats
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 22:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.