www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-21, 17:21   #1
adamtombraider
Explorer
 
adamtombraider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 933
Default Secret Chime issue

As everyone know the 3rd Secret on the Great Pyramid doesn't chime and I think the issue is because Core only programmed 45 Chimes in the game instead of 46 as the Chime plays when you insert the key into the wall to raise the blocks in Tomb of Tihocan which is a bit strange meaning there is an unnecessary chime in that level.

There are 45 Secrets in Tomb Raider 1 so did Core accidently place 3 chimes in Tomb of Tihocan when only 2 were need and they then forgot to add an extra one in the Great Pyramid
adamtombraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-21, 17:59   #2
Greatest TR
Archaeologist
 
Greatest TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Great Britain-Oxfordshire
Posts: 1,062
Default

Interesting, I don't recall three chimes in Tomb of Tihocan but we all know that the very last chime was missing, either a bug or forgot to program. However, this was fixed later revision disc if I remember correctly.
__________________
Rest in Peace - rr_carroll
Greatest TR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-21, 18:32   #3
Topixtor
Historian
 
Topixtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 424
Default

It's far easier than that. Tomb of Thiocan doesn indeed feature that chime, but it doesn't count as a secret, and nobody really knows if it was intentional or not. At the end of the day, the secret chime works exactly the same way as the other soundtracks, it's just ALSO programmed to automatically play when a secret is found.

In the great pyramid, the statistics screen doesn't record that "missing" secret, simply because Core forgot to put a trigger to let the engine know the secret was ACTUALLY found, alongside the secret chime.

This issue is resolved by many fan-created projects, don't know about the revisions... also maybe it works in the PS1 relase? Can't remember. it only needed the addition of the missing trigger
Topixtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-21, 18:58   #4
Greatest TR
Archaeologist
 
Greatest TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Great Britain-Oxfordshire
Posts: 1,062
Default

and I can remember the beta version of Saturn in cistern level where there was once a secrete room but removed from the final. Core design may have cocked it up with the final secrete level sound chime. Just a wild theory though
__________________
Rest in Peace - rr_carroll
Greatest TR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-21, 12:56   #5
Topixtor
Historian
 
Topixtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 424
Default

A Secret and deleted room I don't know about?

I'm interested, is there any video? sdfkgas
Topixtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 00:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.