www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Shadow of the Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-19, 19:58   #21
Jeff_aod
Student
 
Jeff_aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Shenzhen, China
Posts: 205
Default

I don't really see this happening. It's their money maker. Plus, Foundation has 2 branches now, which are Shadow branch & Rise branch. The latter one is currently being updated & used in Marvel's Avengers.
Jeff_aod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-20, 13:37   #22
Gh0stBlade
Professor
 
Gh0stBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,531
Default

Image

Making small progress here and there, I'm looking for programmers and reverse engineers.

Cheers.
__________________
No longer accepting PMs due to abuse of the system.
Gh0stBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-20, 15:16   #23
Tomb Raidering
Professor
 
Tomb Raidering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Pie Titty
Posts: 3,899
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gh0stBlade View Post
Image

Making small progress here and there, I'm looking for programmers and reverse engineers.

Cheers.
Can you simply explain what you’re doing in such a way that a noob like me can understand?
__________________
Talk about being your own worst enemy.
Tomb Raidering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-20, 15:52   #24
Gh0stBlade
Professor
 
Gh0stBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomb Raidering View Post
Can you simply explain what you’re doing in such a way that a noob like me can understand?
At the moment I'm working on a custom tool to load "zones" (levels) into a custom engine.

Cheers.
__________________
No longer accepting PMs due to abuse of the system.
Gh0stBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-20, 05:49   #25
XXIIXX
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 487
Default

I don't know the specifics, but on the 20th Anniversary book they say that up until developping the Reboot they've been using the same engine since 1993 and that even their current engine still has lines of code all the way back from 1995 so I'm pretty sure they're still using it and won't be releasing it. I'm not sure how these things work so don't quote me on it but I think it's something like that.
XXIIXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-20, 07:36   #26
DunHill
Inactive
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: France
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gh0stBlade View Post
At the moment I'm working on a custom tool to load "zones" (levels) into a custom engine.

Cheers.
Coorect me if I'm wrong, would that mean exporting zones from the game to 3Ds Max/Maya/Blender, editing them, and exporting them back to the game ? Or having them export to a completely new custom engine that would allow people to edit them easier ?
Either way, very good initiative and work
DunHill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-20, 16:28   #27
GRiannisRaider
Explorer
 
GRiannisRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DunHill View Post
Coorect me if I'm wrong, would that mean exporting zones from the game to 3Ds Max/Maya/Blender, editing them, and exporting them back to the game ? Or having them export to a completely new custom engine that would allow people to edit them easier ?
Either way, very good initiative and work
If we could change the levels with 3D Max/maya etc how would we be able to put colliders to the level after it is edited for the character not to fall under the mesh is the question ... because I suppose that the colliders will stay the same within the game . Or am I wrong ?
__________________
'' D'you know,it's gonna be a real pleasure to shut you up ''

Last edited by GRiannisRaider; 12-04-20 at 16:47.
GRiannisRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-20, 12:29   #28
Gh0stBlade
Professor
 
Gh0stBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XXIIXX View Post
I don't know the specifics, but on the 20th Anniversary book they say that up until developping the Reboot they've been using the same engine since 1993 and that even their current engine still has lines of code all the way back from 1995 so I'm pretty sure they're still using it and won't be releasing it. I'm not sure how these things work so don't quote me on it but I think it's something like that.
Yes, it does have lines of code from very old games like Soul Reaver and Gex. Legacy code is polluting the engine if you ask me. They released the engine to the public since you've seen games running on it. Just they haven't released any official editing tools. All tools used to modify the engine data has been custom written by fans.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DunHill View Post
Coorect me if I'm wrong, would that mean exporting zones from the game to 3Ds Max/Maya/Blender, editing them, and exporting them back to the game ? Or having them export to a completely new custom engine that would allow people to edit them easier ?
Either way, very good initiative and work
Yeah I think that's their workflow. They make the base meshes in Maya then import them into the level editor itself and customise it to a specific game using game objects and markups etc.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GRiannisRaider View Post
If we could change the levels with 3D Max/maya etc how would we be able to put colliders to the level after it is edited for the character not to fall under the mesh is the question ... because I suppose that the colliders will stay the same within the game . Or am I wrong ?
There is a collision mesh section. I will probably make it possible to modify the collisions.

==================================

A look at the editor so far:



Though it will take many years to build. I'm in the process of loading the room models.

Cheers.
__________________
No longer accepting PMs due to abuse of the system.
Gh0stBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-20, 14:07   #29
SoraSakai
Inactive
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 4,776
Default

Why is no one talking about or reacting to this?
This is amazing.
SoraSakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-20, 14:12   #30
Wooxman
Relic Hunter
 
Wooxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halston View Post
Crystal Dynamics have made interviews about how the Foundation engine is one of the top ones they've seen out there
They haven't seen a lot of engines then. But seriously: Of course they're saying that to make their games look better. When Ubisoft switched/upgraded engines within the Assassin's Creed series, they also boasted about the new/upgraded engine being so awesome and one of the best out there. But then the first games made with the new engines (AC III and AC Unity respectively) were buggy and badly optimized messes. And when Crystal made big upgrades to their engine for Tomb Raider Underworld, that game also turned out buggy and badly optimized, which is why they didn't make THAT many changed for TR2013 and played it safe for Rise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XXIIXX View Post
I don't know the specifics, but on the 20th Anniversary book they say that up until developping the Reboot they've been using the same engine since 1993 and that even their current engine still has lines of code all the way back from 1995 so I'm pretty sure they're still using it and won't be releasing it. I'm not sure how these things work so don't quote me on it but I think it's something like that.
Them using the same engine since the 90s has nothing to do with them not released source codes to the public. ID Software released the source codes for most of their games and they use the same engine since Quake 1 back in 1996.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gh0stBlade View Post
Yeah I think that's their workflow. They make the base meshes in Maya then import them into the level editor itself and customise it to a specific game using game objects and markups etc.
Is that why collisions in the Crystal TR games are so awkward and why Lara can't just grab every ledge? Ever since I played Anniversary I assumed that their engine is probably kinda janky, what with TRA having so many weird glitches like the one where Lara pulls herself up onto a platform and falls right back down and weird design choices like Lara only being able to grab the white ledges, even when not-white ledges right next to them look exactly the same save for the colour (and yes, I know that the colour doesn't determine which ledge is grabbable and which isn't, but without the white paint it would be even harder to guess which ledges can be grabbed and which can't).
__________________
Is joke! Or is?

Last edited by Wooxman; 16-04-20 at 14:13.
Wooxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.