www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider II

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-20, 19:03   #1
indigo1993
Student
 
indigo1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 208
Default Best way to run TRII PC

hey guys, I'm sorry for being a total noob, but I've been really craving the old TR games, namely TR II and III. I wanna play them on the pc and I would like to know the best configs/patches to run the game smoothly, especially in regards to joystick compatibility. I have heard of peixoto's patch but when I checked the thread there were so many things and all this stuff about dumping files, and textures and whatever. It made me feel like an old grandma because I have no clue where to even begin with that thing. hahaha
I have the GOG version of the game, my computer is windows 10. If you think getting it on steam is better I don't have a problem with buying it from there too and installing it. Is there any easy way to run the game nicely on PC? sorry again for the dumb question but it's really complicated to me and I need to be walked through the thing like I've never seen a computer in front of me before xD
__________________
Time to put things right and remove the thorn in my side in the process.
indigo1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-20, 21:14   #2
Arsunt
Historian
 
Arsunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 327
Default

Hey! GOG is fine. I recommend to patch it with TR2Main. There are many cool things that were always exclusive for PlayStation TR games. And also there are many bugfixes. The project lives and grows for several years.
__________________
To seek. To learn. To do. (C) Quest for Glory
Arsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-20, 21:22   #3
indigo1993
Student
 
indigo1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 208
Default

Oh great! I'll read up on that now! Should I also install the multipath from tombraiderchronicles.com or is this one enough to get everything running smoothly?
__________________
Time to put things right and remove the thorn in my side in the process.
indigo1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-20, 22:05   #4
TombHackR
Golden
 
TombHackR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,266
Default

The GOG version should just run straight on Windows 10 as it is. Although you may have a problem where the game doesn’t go into full screen mode properly and you can still see the window border, but that can be fixed quickly with this patch.
There’s a common problem which I had where the game music kept looping which can be fixed with PaulD’s audio patch.
TombHackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-20, 23:32   #5
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,323
Default

I recommend Arsunt's TR2Main patch as well. However, you shouldn't need the border fix patch when using TR2Main.
TR2Main is quite simple to setup, but in order to enable all the best features and/or understand them, you may want to follow this guide.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsunt View Post
Download the latest developer's build from this link.

First of all there is ExtraOptions folder. It contains REG files, that change some TR2Main settings in the registry. All files are safe, you can check them using notepad. Just double click any REG file to set an option. In the future releases there will be redesigned setup dialog with all these settings. For now there are just REG files.
Here are all the ExtraOptions descriptions.

If you use Steam or GOG, first cut all DLL files from the game folder and put them somewhere far away from the game. They may conflict with TR2Main somehow.

Copy some files from the TR2Main package into your game folder:
  • TR2Main.dll is the main file that makes all the magic.
  • tomb2.exe is almost original exe from 1997 with few changes to give all the power to TR2Main.dll. Never patch this EXE with 3rd party patches, you don't need them, everything that you may want, is already out of the box, including FOV, widescreen, even 4K support. Soon it will get external textures feature.
  • ffplay.dll is brand new FMV player based on ffmpeg project. It supports RPL, MP4, BIK and many other videoformats.
  • TR2Main.json is text configuration file that already allows to set custom watercolors, loading screen pictures, barefoot levels. All things are set to PS1 values, but anyone can edit it (by Notepad++ for example). This file will get even more cool features in the future.

Copy files from patch data folder to your TR2 game data folder:
  • barefoot.sfx is barefoot steps SFX pack. There are just 4 sound effects inside the pack, I took them from PS1 version, and remastered a little bit (high frequency range is restored). You must enable barefoot SFX by REG file if you want them.

Copy whole pix folder to your TR2 game folder. Its contents:
  • Full set of PCX pictures for the original game and The Golden Mask including US/UK logo. You can select the logo version by proper REG file. No need to rename or delete picture files.
  • Remastered loading screen pictures in PNG format. You must enable remastered pictures and/or loading screens by REG files if you want these features.

If you want to copy your old saves into TR2Main, create a saves subfolder in your TR2 game folder. Copy savegame.* files that you need to this folder. Making a save in-game will create this folder automatically.

For TR2 Gold: You can download the TR2 Gold expansion files from this link, then follow these instructions:

Copy some files from the Golden Mask data folder to your TR2 game data folder:
  • LEVEL1.TR2 - LEVEL5.TR2, but don't copy ASSAULT.TR2 and TITLE.TR2. The original game files will be used instead.
  • TOMBPC.DAT must be renamed to TOMBPCg.DAT before copying. The original game will still use its TOMBPC.DAT.
  • MAIN.SFX must be renamed to MAINg.SFX before copying. The original game will still use its MAIN.SFX.
  • You don't need to copy any PCX files, because PCX in data don't matter for TR2Main if pix folder is presented.

savesGold subfolder required for placement of existing savegames. The game will create one if you make a save in-game.
  • To launch normal game just run tomb2.exe
  • To launch setup dialog run tomb2.exe with -setup option. You may want to create a shortcut for that.
  • To launch The Golden Mask run tomb2.exe with -gold option. You may want to create a shortcut for that.

Setup advice: Disable Triple Buffer and keep Z-Buffer enabled if you want good performance.
You can use F7 for Z-Buffer and Shift+F7 for Tripple Buffer to see the difference right in the game.
Here are all TR2 keyboard hotkeys.

For anyone who didn't follow my project, here is changelog (you can see there many cool changes).
Edit: I didn't realise that Arsunt also linked the guide above.

If you happen to notice that FMV playback does not work, or you would like an upgrade, try the following, as you can use custom FMV's with Arsunt's patch.
__________________
IronFistLaw75

Last edited by laravision; 11-03-21 at 15:17.
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-20, 00:16   #6
indigo1993
Student
 
indigo1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsunt View Post
Hey! GOG is fine. I recommend to patch it with TR2Main. There are many cool things that were always exclusive for PlayStation TR games. And also there are many bugfixes. The project lives and grows for several years.

hey, I just wanted to say thank you for your help! It is all working great! I'm so happy! I feel like I'm 8 years old again hahahahah
I saw there's a folder called ExtraOptions, how do I add the features in it to the game? Having the controller vibrate would be pretty cool for example!

Quote:
Originally Posted by laravision View Post
I recommend Arsunt's TR2Main patch aswell. However, you shouldn't need the border fix patch when using TR2Main.
TR2Main is quite simple to setup, but in order to enable all the best features and/or understand them, you may want to follow this guide.



If you happen to notice that FMV playback does not work or you would like an upgrade, try the following, as you can use custom FMV's with Arsunt's patch.
thank you for reaching out! I got it all working great and I'm super happy. No audio or window border issues whatsoever, and I also got to replace the FMV with the remastered ones! I'm really over the moon here! I'm gonna be playing this all day tomorrow!! hahahaha
__________________
Time to put things right and remove the thorn in my side in the process.

Last edited by indigo1993; 09-10-20 at 00:20.
indigo1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-20, 04:31   #7
Arsunt
Historian
 
Arsunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indigo1993 View Post
hey, I just wanted to say thank you for your help! It is all working great! I'm so happy! I feel like I'm 8 years old again hahahahah
You're welcome!
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigo1993 View Post
I saw there's a folder called ExtraOptions, how do I add the features in it to the game? Having the controller vibrate would be pretty cool for example!
Please don't ignore this short pdf with ExtraOptions description. To activate some of the REG files, you need to double click it. Between PC style and PS1 style, I recommend PS1 (except maybe GUI scale, x2 is too much for me). PictureStretchLimit 10% is optimal. If you play far from TV or monitor PsxFov is better to enable.
__________________
To seek. To learn. To do. (C) Quest for Glory

Last edited by Arsunt; 09-10-20 at 04:46.
Arsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-20, 14:08   #8
indigo1993
Student
 
indigo1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsunt View Post
You're welcome!

Please don't ignore this short pdf with ExtraOptions description. To activate some of the REG files, you need to double click it. Between PC style and PS1 style, I recommend PS1 (except maybe GUI scale, x2 is too much for me). PictureStretchLimit 10% is optimal. If you play far from TV or monitor PsxFov is better to enable.
oh thank you! I don't think this pdf came with the download, so that's why I was a tad lost! I saw they were Reg files and didn't want to mess with them before knowing first what was and what wasnt safe to do haha
speaking of which (and I know it's slightly off topic) but do you have a similar patch for TRIII? I'm just looking for a controller support. I can change the buttons perfectly fine from the game menu, except for the movement buttons. They're all assigned to my analog stick, but I only play old TR games with the D-pad. Lara moves very awkwardly with the analogue and I never adapted to it haha. Do you have any fixes for that? Thanks again for all the patience and help!
__________________
Time to put things right and remove the thorn in my side in the process.
indigo1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-20, 16:21   #9
Arsunt
Historian
 
Arsunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indigo1993 View Post
speaking of which (and I know it's slightly off topic) but do you have a similar patch for TRIII?
TR3Main project is in very draft stage, I still have a little spare time to make miracles. Right now I'm trying to finish few more TR2Main things to make the official stable build (not beta).
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigo1993 View Post
I'm just looking for a controller support. I can change the buttons perfectly fine from the game menu, except for the movement buttons.
D-Pad actually is not recognized as 4 distinct buttons. It is POV wheel, the game receives it's direction value in degrees (0.00 - 360.00), or negative value if D-Pad is untouched. D-Pad support will be added to TR3 someday.
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigo1993 View Post
They're all assigned to my analog stick, but I only play old TR games with the D-pad. Lara moves very awkwardly with the analogue and I never adapted to it haha.
I understand you. The problem with sticks is that the game does not recognize accurate stick position. Lara could rotate slower if the stick moved slightly, or rotate at normal speed if the stick moved to its limit. This "accurate stick" optional feature is under development too.
__________________
To seek. To learn. To do. (C) Quest for Glory

Last edited by Arsunt; 09-10-20 at 16:35.
Arsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-20, 19:12   #10
indigo1993
Student
 
indigo1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsunt View Post
TR3Main project is in very draft stage, I still have a little spare time to make miracles. Right now I'm trying to finish few more TR2Main things to make the official stable build (not beta).
no no that's perfectly understandable, I was just asking cause I actually didn't know about the work you've done and been doing and didn't know whether or not these fixes have been around for a long time! I used to play TRII and III on a ps1 emulator, but the quality looks just so bad it always made me upset to play them there when they look so much better on pc instead haha. I tried to override TRIII with xpadder but to no avail - guess I'll have to get used to the analog unless someone has found a miraculous workaround xD
__________________
Time to put things right and remove the thorn in my side in the process.
indigo1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 00:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.