www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-11-06, 15:28   #1
VerityCarlisle
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default Tomb Raider 3 Not Recognizing Keys

For some reason TR3 won't recognize my up and down arrow keys. They accept everything else (left and right, ctrl, alt, space, etc) but not up and down. I can't make Lara run Has anyone had this problem before and can you fix it? The up/down arrows work when not in game.
VerityCarlisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-06, 16:06   #2
Joseph
Inactive
 
Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 29,538
Default

Try to assign the controls to the keys. Maybe for some reason those two keys are not assigned yet? To do that, hit the Esc. button, then select controls.
Joseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-06, 16:10   #3
VerityCarlisle
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I tried that, but it won't even let me use the up and down keys to go down the list of controls.

Edit: Also, I played briefly yesterday night and the controls worked fine, but I didn't change any settings since then. I don't know how this may have happened.
VerityCarlisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-06, 16:29   #4
Joseph
Inactive
 
Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 29,538
Default

Hmm... what is your keyboard layout setting? I have 'United States (International)'.

Try this: uninstall the game.
Run trrc.exe TR Registry Cleaner will remove all game settings left behind after uninstalling TR games.
Reinstall the game.
Apply the updater: (Download - Freeware) Documention
Run the game. IMPORTANT: Always quit the autorun menu. ALWAYS launch the game from the shortcut in Start > All Programs.
Joseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-06, 18:49   #5
badboy70
Relic Hunter
 
badboy70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium, Bruges
Posts: 6,658
Default

i think i had that problem before too, i assigned the up and down controls to 8(up) and 2 (down) on the keypad. for some reason it worked
badboy70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-20, 21:41   #6
Rlagarde
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
Default Administrator

Since my installation path was in the [Program Files] folder, the game was not able to create all configuration settings and the up and down buttons were not mapped (shift was not working also).
I now run the game as administrator and this resolves these issues. Right click to start the game, or change the link properties to set this by default.
Windows will ask you if you are sure every time.
You could also try to move the game to a less secured location. I have not tried that.

Last edited by Rlagarde; 21-05-20 at 21:43.
Rlagarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-20, 23:15   #7
tlr online
Administrator
 
tlr online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 58,149
Default

Thank you for the update and welcome to the forum.
tlr online is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.