www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-01-10, 17:46   #21
Love2Raid
Tomb Raider
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 20,475
Smile

Very interesting indeed!

It has a downside though (plagiarism).
Love2Raid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-10, 22:48   #22
Mytly
Tomb Raider
 
Mytly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Posts: 14,252
Default

^Yes, plagiarism is a possibility. But plagiarism has never been tolerated on this forum and never will. If anyone misuses this tool to plagiarise other people's work, then that's their fault, not the tool or tool maker's.
Mytly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-10, 11:40   #23
drakl0r
Professor
 
drakl0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 3,004
Default

Awesome!

I can recover the textures of some of my mods (I've already deleted them on my PC) that I've uploaded to the HUB
__________________
Ok, I'm going to give you the gun. But only in small amounts, in bullet form.
drakl0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-10, 14:42   #24
Tonttu
Student
 
Tonttu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Default

TPFextract.7z (3.8 MB)
Link in the first post also edited to provide the newest version

Made the changes of previous Linux patch part of the code
Added Makefile for Linux
Added build script for Linux (with small changes it should also work on Windows using MSYS)

The Windows binaries haven't been recompiled.
If you're using Windows and already downloaded the previous version and don't plan on compiling the program yourself then you don't need to download this

GUI on Linux
[img]http://i40.************/29en6uv.png[/img]


Compiling on Windows
Get MinGW/MSYS and QT4

TPFextract:
cd source/TPFextract
make

TPFextractGUI:
cd source/TPFextractGUI
qmake-qt4 TPFextractGUI.pro
make

Move the binaries to same folder


Compiling on Linux
Get the depencies: sudo apt-get install build-essential libqt4-dev

cd source
chmod +x build.sh
./build.sh
sudo mv bin/* /usr/bin/
Tonttu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-10, 08:08   #25
Tonttu
Student
 
Tonttu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Default

New version, fixes the GUI freezing while extracting
TPFextract.7z (3.75 MB)
Link in the first post also edited to provide the newest version


Changes:

TPFextract 1.4
Quote:
Write output of error/info messages to stderr instead of stdout
Modified the build script for Linux
Show version number in info
TPFextract 1.5
Quote:
Changed "-f" switch to print to stdout in filelist.txt format: "filename|filesize|crc-32"
(fix to remove unnecessary disc read/write operation when using the TPFextractGUI)
if you need filelist.txt you can use "TPFextract -f filename.tpf > filelist.txt"
Executable packed with "upx --ultra-brute"
TPFextractGUI 1.2
Quote:
Fixed the GUI freezing while extracting
Made the text/path field show status while extracting
Uses TPFextract 1.4
TPFextractGUI 1.3
Quote:
Changed to read filelist from stdout (fix to remove unnecessary disc read/write operation)
Updated QT libraries from 4.6.0 to 4.6.3
Executable and libraries packed with "upx --ultra-brute" to reduce filesize
Uses TPFextract 1.5

upx --ultra-brute *
Code:
        File size         Ratio      Format      Name
   --------------------   ------   -----------   -----------
   2401792 ->    824320   34.32%    win32/pe     QtCore4.dll
   9577472 ->   3393536   35.43%    win32/pe     QtGui4.dll
     69043 ->     50611   73.30%    win32/pe     TPFextract.exe
     83456 ->     28160   33.74%    win32/pe     TPFextractGUI.exe
     43008 ->     20480   47.62%    win32/pe     libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll
     11362 ->      9826   86.48%    win32/pe     mingwm10.dll
   --------------------   ------   -----------   -----------
  12186133 ->   4326933   35.51%                 [ 6 files ]

Packed 6 files.

EDIT: TPFextractGUI 1.4
TPFextract 1.5 (240.51 kB)
TPFextractGUI 1.4 (2.68 MB)

TPFextractGUI 1.4
Quote:
Support loading files with command-line arguments (right click --> open with... support)
Updated Qt from 4.6.3 to 4.7.0
Static build
Uses TPFextract 1.5

Last edited by Tonttu; 30-09-10 at 20:07. Reason: Update TPFextractGUI 1.4
Tonttu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 18:03   #26
timmystwin
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

This tool may make plagiarism possible, but people can spot that. What i think is its best part is the fact that noobs like me can find out how things are done and edit designs, without going the whole hog and making a new one. Great tool, cheers.
timmystwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 20:38   #27
AGSalt
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 34
Default

everyone must remember if they are using this tool to use other peoples textures they must give them credit for making them otherwise it is plagiarism.

also i use this program for this reason i only mean to give credit to everyone i f i forget please let me know immediately.
AGSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-10, 21:48   #28
TRJTA
Professor
 
TRJTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,813
Default

Thank you soo much for this tool. It allowed me to regain a mod I made for the TRU Demo, in which i put hours and days of work. Thank you!!!
__________________
Tomb Raider III HD Remaster Technical Artist
TRJTA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-10, 08:54   #29
LOBBS
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Total newbie here. We just had a link posted on Football Freaks about this utility. This looks to be an awesome tool for Madden 08 PC also.

We've been running into issues with modding .dat files and Texmod .tpfs no longer having the correct addresses once the .dat files have been changed. If we could get into the .tpfs the textures could be remapped to work with other mods. Some of our users work exclusively with Texmod, others directly with .dats and there is a lot of great work that is lost with the two not playing nicely with each other.

I'm having a bit of trouble getting this to work. I've never used this type of compression before so it's probably an issue on my end. I downloaded both the extract file and the GUI but all I get when I click the .exe file in the extract utility is the flash of a screen. The GUI seems to load alright but when I browse to a .tpf file it doesn't show any information in the file list. I don't know if our Madden files are in a different format but one would think that they can't be greatly different since they were generated with the same Texmod program.

Thanks in advance,
Kyle "LOBBS" Laubscher
LOBBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-10, 09:10   #30
Tonttu
Student
 
Tonttu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOBBS View Post
Total newbie here. We just had a link posted on Football Freaks about this utility. This looks to be an awesome tool for Madden 08 PC also.

We've been running into issues with modding .dat files and Texmod .tpfs no longer having the correct addresses once the .dat files have been changed. If we could get into the .tpfs the textures could be remapped to work with other mods. Some of our users work exclusively with Texmod, others directly with .dats and there is a lot of great work that is lost with the two not playing nicely with each other.

I'm having a bit of trouble getting this to work. I've never used this type of compression before so it's probably an issue on my end. I downloaded both the extract file and the GUI but all I get when I click the .exe file in the extract utility is the flash of a screen. The GUI seems to load alright but when I browse to a .tpf file it doesn't show any information in the file list. I don't know if our Madden files are in a different format but one would think that they can't be greatly different since they were generated with the same Texmod program.

Thanks in advance,
Kyle "LOBBS" Laubscher
TPFextract is a command-line program so it should be run from Command Prompt or some terminal (MSYS, Console)

The GUI calls CLI with this when getting file list
Code:
QProcess *getfilelist = new QProcess();
arguments << "-f" << path;
getfilelist->start("TPFextract", arguments);
getfilelist->waitForReadyRead();
QByteArray data = getfilelist->readAllStandardOutput();
This means TPFextract needs to be in the same folder with TPFextractGUI or added to your PATH environment variable for the GUI to actually do anything

That is one scenario where it doesn't show filelist. It also doesn't give any error message because there isn't any error checking coded for it. I probably should add some kind of error check for it later
Tonttu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 17:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.