www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider III > The Lost Artifact

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-21, 10:03   #71
TombHackR
Golden
 
TombHackR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,282
Default

After reading this thread, changing VM from 22 to 18 fixed one of my Lost Artefact installations crashing at the main menu. Thank you everybody .

Although... what does VM even mean and what do the values represent ??
TombHackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-21, 17:39   #72
Arsunt
Historian
 
Arsunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TombHackR View Post
After reading this thread, changing VM from 22 to 18 fixed one of my Lost Artefact installations crashing at the main menu. Thank you everybody .

Although... what does VM even mean and what do the values represent ??
It means VideoMode. The number value is an index of video mode in the list ordered by DirecDraw enumeration. For every PC this list is different, and modes are not ordered by width and height.
__________________
To seek. To learn. To do. (C) Quest for Glory
Arsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-21, 16:10   #73
lilhanhan
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 5
Default

Hi, I've been lurking around here for quite a while to get help on getting the classics working and I have to give a huge thanks to all the solutions which worked for TR I and II, but I've recently managed to purchase TLA and unfortunatly even with all the tips on here with the config text file it still didn't work, until...

Now this is going to sound a little daft but the solution I found (after restoring the config file to what it originally was) was, and I kid you not, to plug in my bluetooth speaker via aux cable to my PC!

I tried it again with a pair of headphones and the menu worked perfectly.

Now before anyone (including myself) thought it was just a fluke I tried to open the game with no audio outputs plugged in and lo and behold, the same crash happened again. The issue is that when there's no speaker/headphones plugged in the main menu doesn't load properly, you get the title screen background with no icons for a few seconds before it crashes and goes back to your desktop; so if this issue sounds simailar to yours, maybe this odd solution may also work for you (this is with the multipatch installed).

Sorry for the long winded post (and especially since it's my first one on the forums) but I'd thought I share this odd experience to see if it can help with anyone else who is encountering simialr issues with starting the game on Windows 10.
lilhanhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-21, 18:07   #74
tlr online
Administrator
 
tlr online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 59,265
Default

Welcome to the forum lilhanhan and thank you for the info.
tlr online is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-21, 00:35   #75
josueg890
Hobbyist
 
josueg890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Near the Croft Manor :0
Posts: 16
Default

But how do you exactly edit this config.txt file? I've tried so many times and it just won't allow me to edit it in anyway. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!
__________________
"Aha Gianni Bartoli Via Caravelli, Venice."
josueg890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-21, 13:12   #76
TombHackR
Golden
 
TombHackR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josueg890 View Post
But how do you exactly edit this config.txt file? I've tried so many times and it just won't allow me to edit it in anyway. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!
Run Notepad as administrator then try again.
TombHackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 22:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.