Tomb Raider Forums  

Go Back   Tomb Raider Forums > Tomb Raider Level Editor and Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Raider Next Generation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-01-21, 11:41   #1
frankky
Member
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 149
Default It can be done?

Hi everyone
my problem is this, I would like to lower a Raising-Block1 only after placing 4 Pushable_ Block1 in their place.

Question: Can Raising_Block1 be lowered only when all 4 Pushable_Object1s are on their sector?
If the answer is "YES" what should I do?

I do not know if I was clear.

Hello and thanks
Franky
frankky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-21, 18:33   #2
Richard_trle
Member
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 924
Default

Hi, I think that twoblock_platform or bridge_flat are most suitable for that, because the way raising block operates, it would be odd
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-21, 19:31   #3
AkyV
Moderator
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 4,881
Default

Triggers (see trigger window) and objects (see OCB window) both have five codebit flags. If all the five flags are active, then that object is also active. (Anyway, it also works with flipmap triggers.)

Object flags are active initially.
Trigger flags are active if the trigger is also active.

Just see on a door: its codebits are usually are clear, but the trigger to open it have all the codebits marked. So if the trigger is activated, its flags will be also activated - and the door will be activated.
Or: make a door have all the codebits marked. - Now it opens without any trigger!

(But you can never mark a codebit now both marked at the door and the trigger, because that makes the setup failed!)

But you can try any marked combinations of codebits to open the door, they will all work. - Just a few ones:
a, door - 1 on, trigger - 2, 3, 4, 5 on
b, door - 2 and 5 on, trigger - 1, 3, 4 on
c, door - 3 on, trigger1 - 1 and 5 on, trigger2 - 2 and 4 on

In case "c" both the triggers need to be activated to open the door.
----
Imagine a pushblock in a room with this setup:
HEAVY - Codebit 1 on
HEAVY - Codebit 2 on
HEAVY - Codebit 3 on
Door - Codebit 4, 5 on

Now you need to push the block on each HEAVY, one after the other (stopping on each), to open the door.

Now modify the setup this way, placing down two more pushblocks:

PUSHABLE - Codebit 1 on
PUSHABLE - Codebit 2 on
PUSHABLE - Codebit 3 on
HEAVYSWITCH - Codebit 1 on
HEAVYSWITCH - Codebit 2 on
HEAVYSWITCH - Codebit 3 on
Door - Codebit 4, 5 on

HEAVYSWITCH is different than HEAVY, referring to the same codebit on an object. So eg. HEAVYSWITCH with codebit 1 on will be activated only if the object (PUSHABLE now) with also codebit 1 on will touch it.

I.e. now you can push PUSHABLE with 1 on only HEAVYSWITCH with 1, PUSHABLE with 2 on only HEAVYSWITCH with 2, and PUSHABLE with 3 on only HEAVYSWITCH with 3 to open the door.

Last edited by AkyV; 18-01-21 at 19:35.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-21, 00:32   #4
Richard_trle
Member
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 924
Default

Oh god, I'm sorry frankky, I thought that you were talking about the raising block actually lifting the blocks, but is exactly what AkyV said

I don't think it requires TRNG, as it is pure TRLE based approach
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-21, 09:06   #5
frankky
Member
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkyV View Post
Triggers (see trigger window) and objects (see OCB window) both have five codebit flags. If all the five flags are active, then that object is also active. (Anyway, it also works with flipmap triggers.)

Object flags are active initially.
Trigger flags are active if the trigger is also active.

Just see on a door: its codebits are usually are clear, but the trigger to open it have all the codebits marked. So if the trigger is activated, its flags will be also activated - and the door will be activated.
Or: make a door have all the codebits marked. - Now it opens without any trigger!

(But you can never mark a codebit now both marked at the door and the trigger, because that makes the setup failed!)

But you can try any marked combinations of codebits to open the door, they will all work. - Just a few ones:
a, door - 1 on, trigger - 2, 3, 4, 5 on
b, door - 2 and 5 on, trigger - 1, 3, 4 on
c, door - 3 on, trigger1 - 1 and 5 on, trigger2 - 2 and 4 on

In case "c" both the triggers need to be activated to open the door.
----
Imagine a pushblock in a room with this setup:
HEAVY - Codebit 1 on
HEAVY - Codebit 2 on
HEAVY - Codebit 3 on
Door - Codebit 4, 5 on

Now you need to push the block on each HEAVY, one after the other (stopping on each), to open the door.

Now modify the setup this way, placing down two more pushblocks:

PUSHABLE - Codebit 1 on
PUSHABLE - Codebit 2 on
PUSHABLE - Codebit 3 on
HEAVYSWITCH - Codebit 1 on
HEAVYSWITCH - Codebit 2 on
HEAVYSWITCH - Codebit 3 on
Door - Codebit 4, 5 on

HEAVYSWITCH is different than HEAVY, referring to the same codebit on an object. So eg. HEAVYSWITCH with codebit 1 on will be activated only if the object (PUSHABLE now) with also codebit 1 on will touch it.

I.e. now you can push PUSHABLE with 1 on only HEAVYSWITCH with 1, PUSHABLE with 2 on only HEAVYSWITCH with 2, and PUSHABLE with 3 on only HEAVYSWITCH with 3 to open the door.
Hi Akyv
thanks for the explanation, but you should kindly explain to me as simple as possible with screenshots what I have to do.

The problem is that I want to lower the Raising_Block1 only when all 4 Pushables are on an established sector,

Question: can it be done?

Excuse me but a practical example could help me, I have tried in all the ways I know but without success, have patience.

Hi Franky
frankky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-21, 10:37   #6
Richard_trle
Member
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 924
Default

I have used Library wad for this experiment, by the end of the post, there is a link for an available prj2 with all the setup.

First, place the four pushable objects and the raising block



For each pushable object, set its ocb, for example



Which results in

PUSHABLE_OBJECT2

PUSHABLE_OBJECT3
PUSHABLE_OBJECT4

I put a HeavySwitch trigger in front of the object as shown here:



Resulting in


I also put a trigger for the RAISING_BLOCK engulfing all four heavyswitches



And the final results are


What we were expecting for

Here is the link to the tutorial prj
https://github.com/richardba/four_pu...chive/main.zip
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-21, 13:32   #7
frankky
Member
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard_trle View Post
I have used Library wad for this experiment, by the end of the post, there is a link for an available prj2 with all the setup.

First, place the four pushable objects and the raising block



For each pushable object, set its ocb, for example



Which results in

PUSHABLE_OBJECT2

PUSHABLE_OBJECT3
PUSHABLE_OBJECT4

I put a HeavySwitch trigger in front of the object as shown here:



Resulting in


I also put a trigger for the RAISING_BLOCK engulfing all four heavyswitches



And the final results are


What we were expecting for

Here is the link to the tutorial prj
https://github.com/richardba/four_pu...chive/main.zip
Hi Richard_Trle
forgive me but I did not understand consider that I use the old TRNG, I do not know the new Tomb Raider of MontyTRC.

However, also because of the English language, I did not understand what to do, now I'll explain what I did:

I placed the 4 PUSHABLE_OBJECT4 by putting the CODE BIT = 1 to the 1st at the 2nd = 2, at the 3rd = 3 to the 4th = 4

I placed the RAISING_BLOCK1 with CODE BIT = 5

Question: Can you explain to me what I have to do now?

I read that you put a HEAVYSWITCH trigger in front of the PUSHABLE_OBJECT1 WHY? only this?

Question: where should the RAISING_BLOCK1 trigger with code bit = 5 go?

Then I don't know what to do anymore, sorry
Thanks for your help
Franky
frankky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-21, 14:44   #8
Richard_trle
Member
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 924
Default

PUSHABLE_OBJECT1 - CODEBIT 1
PUSHABLE_OBJECT2 - CODEBIT 2
PUSHABLE_OBJECT3 - CODEBIT 3
PUSHABLE_OBJECT4 - CODEBIT 4

NO ocb change on RAISING_BLOCK obj

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT1 - CODEBIT 1

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT2 - CODEBIT 2

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT3 - CODEBIT 3

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT4 - CODEBIT 4

TRIGGER for RAISING_BLOCK - CODEBIT 5 (this trigger needs to be placed under each heavy switch or a single region with this trigger)
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-21, 16:30   #9
frankky
Member
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard_trle View Post
PUSHABLE_OBJECT1 - CODEBIT 1
PUSHABLE_OBJECT2 - CODEBIT 2
PUSHABLE_OBJECT3 - CODEBIT 3
PUSHABLE_OBJECT4 - CODEBIT 4

NO ocb change on RAISING_BLOCK obj

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT1 - CODEBIT 1

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT2 - CODEBIT 2

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT3 - CODEBIT 3

HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT4 - CODEBIT 4

TRIGGER for RAISING_BLOCK - CODEBIT 5 (this trigger needs to be placed under each heavy switch or a single region with this trigger)
I followed to the letter what you indicated, I put:
HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT1 - CODEBIT 1
HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT2 - CODEBIT 2
HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT3 - CODEBIT 3
HEAVYSWITCH for PUSHABLE_OBJECT4 - CODEBIT 4


When I go he put under the heavy trigger HEAVYSWITCH, the trigger of the RAISING_BLOCK with CODEBIT = 5 (1-2-3-4 up and 5 down), I get the following error

"Cannot overlap special triggers" and I can't insert it WHY?

Excuse me if I make you waste so much time but obviously I'm a donkey.
frankky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-21, 20:27   #10
Richard_trle
Member
 
Richard_trle's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 924
Default

the trigger for raising block, must be normal trigger
Richard_trle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 13:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Tomb Raider Forums is not owned or operated by CDE Entertainment Ltd.
Lara Croft and Tomb Raider are trademarks of CDE Entertainment Ltd.