www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Level Editor and Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-22, 17:34   #1
TRSMART
Student
 
TRSMART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 238
Default Weather/ fog not showing up

Hi guys,

Just converted my TRNG project I was working on to TEN. The level plays in the TEN engine with some minor things not working (triggers, heavytriggers).

But for the atmosphere i wrote this in the scriptfile and still nothing of the effects is showing up in-engine. Skylayer is not working either (I copied the values from TRNG script) What am I doing wrong? I can't get any type of weather to work with aswel

Here's my current script:

Level_1 = Level.new()
Level_1.nameKey = "Level_1"
Level_1.scriptFile = "Scripts\\Level_1.lua"

-- SKY & ATMOSPHERE
Level_1.ambientTrack = "110"
Level_1.horizon = true
Level_1.storm = true
Level_1.levelFile = "Data\\Scotland.ten"
Level_1.loadScreenFile = "Screens\\rome.jpg"
-- FLOW CODES
Flow.AddLevel(Level_1)
Flow.FarView = 130
Flow.Weather = rain
Flow.WeatherStrength = (1.0)
Flow.SkyLayer1 = 29,30,38,4
Flow.SkyLayer2 = 28,41,63,4
Flow.Fog = 27,32,46

Thanks in advance,
__________________
iT WORKS!!!

Last edited by TRSMART; 05-11-22 at 17:39.
TRSMART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-22, 18:29   #2
Die Basis
Historian
 
Die Basis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany, Cologne
Posts: 420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRSMART View Post
Hi guys,

Just converted my TRNG project I was working on to TEN. The level plays in the TEN engine with some minor things not working (triggers, heavytriggers).

But for the atmosphere i wrote this in the scriptfile and still nothing of the effects is showing up in-engine. Skylayer is not working either (I copied the values from TRNG script) What am I doing wrong? I can't get any type of weather to work with aswel

Here's my current script:

Level_1 = Level.new()
Level_1.nameKey = "Level_1"
Level_1.scriptFile = "Scripts\\Level_1.lua"

-- SKY & ATMOSPHERE
Level_1.ambientTrack = "110"
Level_1.horizon = true
Level_1.storm = true
Level_1.levelFile = "Data\\Scotland.ten"
Level_1.loadScreenFile = "Screens\\rome.jpg"
-- FLOW CODES
Flow.AddLevel(Level_1)
Flow.FarView = 130
Flow.Weather = rain
Flow.WeatherStrength = (1.0)
Flow.SkyLayer1 = 29,30,38,4
Flow.SkyLayer2 = 28,41,63,4
Flow.Fog = 27,32,46

Thanks in advance,
Your Syntax is wrong.

First comes your level name e.g. level1 then a "."

Then the syntax e.g. like this

Code:
level1.horizon = true
level1.layer1 = Flow.SkyLayer.new(Color.new(93, 93, 93), 15)
level1.layer2 = Flow.SkyLayer.new(Color.new(0, 255, 0), -15)
level1.weather = WeatherType.Rain
level1.weatherStrength = 1.0
level1.storm = true
level1.fog = Flow.Fog.new(Color.new(255, 0, 0), 1, 20)
Flow.AddLevel (level1)
Only AddLevel becomes flow in front of the line with a "." and the name of the levelblock in brackets, but I would put it always to the end of your script entries like in the example above.
__________________
TE - the place to unleash your creativity.
Die Basis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-22, 14:19   #3
TRSMART
Student
 
TRSMART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 238
Default

AWESOME!!

This is working now, thanks a lot man!!


Another problem is this, how can I fix these nasty looking things on the objects and especially the trees?

__________________
iT WORKS!!!
TRSMART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-22, 18:27   #4
Die Basis
Historian
 
Die Basis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany, Cologne
Posts: 420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRSMART View Post
AWESOME!!
Another problem is this, how can I fix these nasty looking things on the objects and especially the trees?
This is the famous "Transparency Bug" with Distance Fog and objects with transparency in the distance. It is fixed in the next version to come.
__________________
TE - the place to unleash your creativity.
Die Basis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-22, 19:49   #5
TRSMART
Student
 
TRSMART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 238
Default

Ooh yes!! Haha yeah I know TRNG had the same problem a long time ago!!

Great news! & thanks so much for your help!


We need more tutorials on the implentation of the scripting part I think!
__________________
iT WORKS!!!
TRSMART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-22, 20:00   #6
Die Basis
Historian
 
Die Basis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany, Cologne
Posts: 420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRSMART View Post
We need more tutorials on the implentation of the scripting part I think!
We already have a lot of Tutorials about TEN and Lua Scripting on our German Website www.trlevel.de.

But I guess you can translate the tutorials with the help of an online translator.

https://www.trlevel.de/lexicon/index...mb-engine-ten/
__________________
TE - the place to unleash your creativity.
Die Basis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-22, 22:36   #7
Kubsy
Explorer
 
Kubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Polska
Posts: 727
Default

Yes I can do more Lua scripting tutorial. Don't forget you also have my tutorial about lua basics found here: https://github.com/Stranger1992/Tomb...a-Basics-Guide
__________________
Chronicles Lara: "Whatever"
Kubsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-22, 15:18   #8
TRSMART
Student
 
TRSMART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 238
Default

Thanks a lot for the information guys!


I now only need information on how to create triggers with timers and how to send commands to objects (with or without delays) to re-create my TRNG scripted cutscenes in TEN
__________________
iT WORKS!!!
TRSMART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-22, 15:55   #9
Die Basis
Historian
 
Die Basis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany, Cologne
Posts: 420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRSMART View Post
Thanks a lot for the information guys!


I now only need information on how to create triggers with timers and how to send commands to objects (with or without delays) to re-create my TRNG scripted cutscenes in TEN
You can read my tutorial about timer and Eventsequence, just translate it.

https://www.trlevel.de/lexicon/index...tsequence-lua/
__________________
TE - the place to unleash your creativity.
Die Basis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-22, 16:11   #10
TRSMART
Student
 
TRSMART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 238
Default

Ok yes thanks man!!

I have to use translation yes and this will probably take me a while to get right but that’s the fun part of it aswel.
My only question is: “is TEN already stable enough to have all functions working like TRNG has its stability”

Because I’m carefully thinking of porting all my projects in progress from TRNG to TEN.
__________________
iT WORKS!!!
TRSMART is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.