www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > The Angel of Darkness

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-06-19, 16:46   #1
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12,113
Default Can't rebind controls?

Hey y'all it's been a while since I last played this game. Anyway I'm getting this error whenever I try to click on controls to change them. The game crashes and I get this error. ASSERTION: 'i < NUM_OPTIONS' at C:\projects\tomb raider\Game\frontend\menu.c(231)

I tried to google it, but I've only seen it happen to some people on steam. Anyone have any ideas what this could mean?
__________________
Ubisoft Brought back Classic Lara ^_^
charmedangelin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 16:54   #2
Samz
Relic Hunter
 
Samz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Helheim
Posts: 5,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charmedangelin View Post
Hey y'all it's been a while since I last played this game. Anyway I'm getting this error whenever I try to click on controls to change them. The game crashes and I get this error. ASSERTION: 'i < NUM_OPTIONS' at C:\projects\tomb raider\Game\frontend\menu.c(231)

I tried to google it, but I've only seen it happen to some people on steam. Anyone have any ideas what this could mean?
First I've heard of this.


Is the game running in administrator mode?

Is FMV9 ticked in the launcher settings? I know apparently a few of the weird issues are caused by not having it ticked so maybe this is one of them?

If your version isn't digital, is it patched?
__________________
"What does it mean to be a Tomb Raider?,It means to collect artifacts for sport"

Last edited by Samz; 23-06-19 at 16:59.
Samz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 17:21   #3
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samz View Post
First I've heard of this.


Is the game running in administrator mode?

Is FMV9 ticked in the launcher settings? I know apparently a few of the weird issues are caused by not having it ticked so maybe this is one of them?

If your version isn't digital, is it patched?
Yeah I have the latest patches and made sure VMR9 is ticked. I'll try to run it in administration mode.
__________________
Ubisoft Brought back Classic Lara ^_^
charmedangelin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 18:09   #4
Samz
Relic Hunter
 
Samz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Helheim
Posts: 5,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charmedangelin View Post
Yeah I have the latest patches and made sure VMR9 is ticked. I'll try to run it in administration mode.
Does it happen for a specific key?
__________________
"What does it mean to be a Tomb Raider?,It means to collect artifacts for sport"
Samz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 18:12   #5
nakamichi680
Explorer
 
nakamichi680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 842
Default

I've noticed that this bug occurs if you have entered the load game/save game menus before going to the controls section.
nakamichi680 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 18:32   #6
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12,113
Default

Oops double post
__________________
Ubisoft Brought back Classic Lara ^_^

Last edited by charmedangelin; 23-06-19 at 18:34.
charmedangelin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 18:34   #7
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samz View Post
Does it happen for a specific key?
No, I can't even get into the menu. Right when I click on controls the game crashes and gives that error.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nakamichi680 View Post
I've noticed that this bug occurs if you have entered the load game/save game menus before going to the controls section.
Interesting, I tried going into the controls menu as soon as the game boots and it still crashes. Currently on version 52 of the game. I've tried the fan patch which undated it to version 55 and it still happens.

I mean I can still play the game with the controls as they are, but it's just a strange bug.
__________________
Ubisoft Brought back Classic Lara ^_^
charmedangelin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 19:21   #8
Samz
Relic Hunter
 
Samz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Helheim
Posts: 5,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charmedangelin View Post
No, I can't even get into the menu. Right when I click on controls the game crashes and gives that error.



Interesting, I tried going into the controls menu as soon as the game boots and it still crashes. Currently on version 52 of the game. I've tried the fan patch which undated it to version 55 and it still happens.

I mean I can still play the game with the controls as they are, but it's just a strange bug.
Is only your keyboard enabled in the launcher options? have you changed keyboard since last time you played?
__________________
"What does it mean to be a Tomb Raider?,It means to collect artifacts for sport"
Samz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 19:28   #9
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samz View Post
Is only your keyboard enabled in the launcher options? have you changed keyboard since last time you played?
Yeah it's enabled. I play on a gaming laptop. I made sure all other devices were disable, but the bug still happens for some reason.
__________________
Ubisoft Brought back Classic Lara ^_^
charmedangelin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-19, 19:43   #10
Samz
Relic Hunter
 
Samz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Helheim
Posts: 5,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charmedangelin View Post
Yeah it's enabled. I play on a gaming laptop. I made sure all other devices were disable, but the bug still happens for some reason.
Is it the "Keyboard" tab enabled or is there another one for your specific keyboard? not sure if it'll display differently on a laptop but for me, I have a generic "Keyboard" tab, that is enabled and another tab that's my actual keyboard type but its disabled.

I guess also try unticking VMR9.
__________________
"What does it mean to be a Tomb Raider?,It means to collect artifacts for sport"

Last edited by Samz; 23-06-19 at 20:03.
Samz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 22:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.