www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-16, 21:15   #2101
laracroft1997
Archaeologist
 
laracroft1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 2,446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesum View Post
As far as I remember it wasn't real-time, but only texture applied like in case of TR4 golden Lara. Am I right?
it was real time, if it was just a texture applied, then why in the PC version she doesn't has reflections.
__________________
Surprise bitch! I bet you thought you'd seen the last of me
laracroft1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-16, 22:31   #2102
Mister_Dolus
Hobbyist
 
Mister_Dolus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 37
Default

I've gotten ahold of copy of the PC version of 'Tomb Raider: The Lost Artifact'. What do I need to do to get the data files off the CD and where do I put them (running Linux)? I'd prefer not to install Wine or PlayonLinux, unless I had to.

(Edit: figured it out)

Last edited by Mister_Dolus; 16-09-16 at 21:51.
Mister_Dolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-16, 22:35   #2103
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laracroft1997 View Post
it was real time, if it was just a texture applied, then why in the PC version she doesn't has reflections.
The PC version was initially released in software mode which was considerably slower. PSX version didn't face such issues since the game was made for one kind of hardware configuration.

By the texture though I mean texture which fakes reflection. TR4 golden Lara has it. It looks like GLara reflects room, but it's just a texture with it instead of rendering stuff on the fly. I may be wrong though as I never checked before if TR1 also has such texture.

Last edited by Caesum; 11-09-16 at 22:40.
Caesum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-16, 23:03   #2104
AODfan
Archaeologist
 
AODfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,503
Default

The PS1 reflections are basically just the screen projected onto the object



If you look closely, you can see Lara on the right edge of the crystal. At certain angles you can even see the object itself

The same type of reflection was also used in TR2 for metallic objects.
AODfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-16, 06:50   #2105
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,201
Default

Oh, fascinating! So it works in a different way than I thought, not like TR4-5.
Caesum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-16, 02:45   #2106
Koldman
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Nice to see things are still happening! I look forward to testing new features.
Koldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-16, 21:28   #2107
Mister_Dolus
Hobbyist
 
Mister_Dolus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 37
Default

Is there any way to turn off texture filtering to make the games look more like they did on the PlayStation?

Last edited by Mister_Dolus; 14-09-16 at 06:07. Reason: removed redundant word
Mister_Dolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-16, 05:17   #2108
Cochrane
Gold Contributor
 
Cochrane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 15,692
Default

Not at the moment. It's probably best if you file an issue here:

https://github.com/opentomb/OpenTomb/issues

No guarantees can be made about when we will deal with this, because as far as I know, none of the developers (certainly not me) see this as an important limitation.

(Why do you want that anyway? I've seen screenshots of the console versions, and my reaction was always, "that's horrible, good thing it doesn't look like that for us")

(Technically speaking, there's no way to turn off texture filtering at all; what you want is "nearest" or "box" filtering instead of the trilinear that we're using. But that's a detail.)
__________________
GŁter auf die Bahn!

Last edited by Cochrane; 14-09-16 at 05:19.
Cochrane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-16, 06:05   #2109
Mister_Dolus
Hobbyist
 
Mister_Dolus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cochrane View Post

Why do you want that anyway?

Just to scratch my nostalgic itch.
Mister_Dolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-16, 10:48   #2110
vvsgh
Student
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 123
Default

Actually, it's very easy to do. Look at World_GenTextures in world.cpp. And despite what have been said cochrane already did this once in backup branch.

I too prefer sharp pixels instead of the blur.
vvsgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 18:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.