www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-06-21, 06:11   #901
TR-Freak
Relic Hunter
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 5,090
Default

Is there a possibility to make Lara pickup every item in a certain radius, just like in TR1-3?
TR4+ Pickups are so cumbersome because you need to pickup every single item.
__________________
"Your perception of good timing is...bad!"
TR-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-21, 11:38   #902
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie (CT)
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR-Freak View Post
Is there a possibility to make Lara pickup every item in a certain radius, just like in TR1-3?
TR4+ Pickups are so cumbersome because you need to pickup every single item.
That would definitely be cool.

In the meantime, I've been using a pickup trigger with a flipeffect to add items to inventory if I want Lara to pick up many items in a single small area (also saves on moveables in the level)
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-21, 20:17   #903
matrix54
Tomb Raider
 
matrix54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 20,304
Default

Yes, but you need to script it.
__________________
Check out "Checkout: Journey to Employee of the Month!"
matrix54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-21, 18:17   #904
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,831
Default

I feel like I'm asking for way too much but... Is there any way to change how textures with alpha blending behave near textures with transparency?

I'm trying to use a texture that is 50% visible as water surface (its layer is set to 50% in photoshop) and TR Engine correctly renders that. The problem is this texture causes extreme clipping with sprites that appear when Lara is in the water (eg. the circle around her has terrible z-fighting). It seems TR engine ignores drawing textures with additive (etc.) blending added if they are behind textures with transparency. Is it possible with FLEP to fix it, or is it something that can be only solved with a whole engine rewrite like TEN?

Last edited by Caesum; 20-06-21 at 18:22.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:07   #905
TR-Freak
Relic Hunter
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 5,090
Default

It is not possible without changing the whole rendering.

The reason why additive "works" is because additive doesn't need sorting.
When you apply an alpha-blended texture, the game simply can't figure out in what order it should render things. This is a problem even engines today have issues with (there are several tricks to avoid it though, but not applicable to TRLE)
__________________
"Your perception of good timing is...bad!"
TR-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:06   #906
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,831
Default

Oh well, that's what I thought to be honest. Thanks for the answer.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.