Tomb Raider Forums  

Go Back   Tomb Raider Forums > General Forums > General Chat

Old 31-03-21, 09:42   #1
ThirteenCroft

Default The Language Thread

Hi everyone

I didn't find any similar thread so here it is.
I hope this thread won't sink in and that it's in the right subforum

When I was young, I started learning English by myself by watching TR related videos (a lot of people here helped me without knowing it, with their videos, thread etc, thank you <3). I used to be my class' best student when it was about English. Since then, I developped an odd obsession about languages. I love reading some sentences, comparing roots and similarities, learning alphabets (For example I can now read Russian without understanding it ).

I speak French (which is my main language), English, Spanish. I understand Portuguese and Italian too (thank you Latin for being the common root for every Romance languages). I understand a quite short bit of Flemish/Dutch because it sometimes looks a lot like English IMO.

My English accent is kind of a weird mix between British and American standard (I'm not related to Camilla haha :innoncent. I'm not 100% fluent though.
By the way, we can also talk about Lara's international VAs if you want. Compare their voices, translation differences throughout the games etc. There are many posibilities, the main subject remains Languages.

I'd like to know (for those who aren't native speakers) how they learned, if they had or have any difficulties in writting or talking.

What language(s) do you guys speak?

Last edited by ThirteenCroft; 31-03-21 at 09:47. Reason: typo, adding new information
ThirteenCroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-21, 10:29   #2
Heckler

Good thread.

I'm from South Africa and we're quite known for being very diverse, so we have 11 official languages here.

I speak 3 of them with ease. Afrikaans, English and Sesotho.