www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Chronicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-21, 11:34   #131
_Seth
Professor
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .snake. View Post
"Ah, your favorite game once more comes back to haunt you Seth."

[img]https://i.imgur.com/NqPEkXS.jpg[img]





* * *

For real though: I would guess you have one of the incorrect .pak files in your TRC > Data folder. There should be a few .trc files and a few .pak files in there. One of the .pak files is the correct logo. For me the file is called "LOGO512.pak" even though I have the UK disk version and the GOG version. There are two other files called uslogo.pak and uklogo.pak that don't seem to work for me. So, check to see if you have the one I highlighted here.
Am I really that famous for disliking LR? XD

I have the 3 you mentioned. Which do I need to swap/delete/whatever? It's bad enough that it's the TR4 logo but the fugly-ass American one?! Nah, fam!
_Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 14:43   #132
.snake.
Archaeologist
 
.snake.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Seth View Post
Am I really that famous for disliking LR? XD
Yes. I'm a huge fan of your channel, and I've made it my secret mission to one day get you to love TR4

Anyway, if you have those 3 files that is strange that's it's the TR4 logo. Are there any other .pak files in the data folder? Can you post a screenshot of everything in your data folder? That way we might be able to determine the issue.

I hope Woops chimes in soon because he knows more than I do.
.snake. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 14:45   #133
Jathom95
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 1,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .snake. View Post
Yes. I'm a huge fan of your channel, and I've made it my secret mission to one day get you to love TR4

Anyway, if you have those 3 files that is strange that's it's the TR4 logo. Are there any other .pak files in the data folder? Can you post a screenshot of everything in your data folder? That way we might be able to determine the issue.

I hope Woops chimes in soon because he knows more than I do.
Gah, you're beginning to sound like me.
__________________
"Rodents, I wouldn't wonder. *Big* rodents."
Jathom95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 15:02   #134
_Seth
Professor
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .snake. View Post
Yes. I'm a huge fan of your channel, and I've made it my secret mission to one day get you to love TR4

Anyway, if you have those 3 files that is strange that's it's the TR4 logo. Are there any other .pak files in the data folder? Can you post a screenshot of everything in your data folder? That way we might be able to determine the issue.

I hope Woops chimes in soon because he knows more than I do.
Thanks.

_Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 16:39   #135
.snake.
Archaeologist
 
.snake.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,677
Default

Okay so it doesn't seem like your data folder or the .pak files are the problem.

I just ran a test myself and it seems the ugly American TR4 logo is related to a missing .DAT file from your main TRC folder. Kirishima suggested this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirishima View Post
You also need to copy a couple of DAT files

SCRIPT.DAT
US.DAT - May have a different name like UK.DAT depending on the disc's region.
SINGLE.DAT - I'm not sure if this one's as important as the other 2, but copy it anyway.
I personally do not have a UK.DAT file though. Instead, I have an ENGLISH.DAT file. I think that is what Kirishma meant. Check if you have that, and copy it into your main TRC folder.

Hopefully it should look like this:



I noticed for myself, the only time the random TR4 logo appeared is when I removed the ENGLISH.DAT file, so hopefully this is the one file you were missing.
.snake. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 17:15   #136
_Seth
Professor
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .snake. View Post
Okay so it doesn't seem like your data folder or the .pak files are the problem.

I just ran a test myself and it seems the ugly American TR4 logo is related to a missing .DAT file from your main TRC folder. Kirishima suggested this:



I personally do not have a UK.DAT file though. Instead, I have an ENGLISH.DAT file. I think that is what Kirishma meant. Check if you have that, and copy it into your main TRC folder.

Hopefully it should look like this:

[img]https://i.imgur.com/rRvxZsl.jpg[img]

I noticed for myself, the only time the random TR4 logo appeared is when I removed the ENGLISH.DAT file, so hopefully this is the one file you were missing.
Aha, doing that worked, thanks.

I notice next to no difference between TR4 and TR5 point light, even in the picture the OP demo'd. Is one recommended over the other?


Last edited by _Seth; 05-12-21 at 17:17.
_Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 17:24   #137
Jathom95
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 1,037
Default

The TR4 version has more "accurate" shadow projecting compared to the TR5 version, that's basically it. It's mostly preference.
__________________
"Rodents, I wouldn't wonder. *Big* rodents."
Jathom95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 20:46   #138
_Seth
Professor
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jathom95 View Post
The TR4 version has more "accurate" shadow projecting compared to the TR5 version, that's basically it. It's mostly preference.
Hmm, seems evident on her right arm. For clarity purposes I'll stick with TR5's.
_Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-21, 08:29   #139
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATombRaiderFan View Post
Hello, I've been trying out the cheats mentioned in this thread and "FILTHY" works. The "BITS" cheat doesn't seem to unlock special features in tomb5 for me, I've also followed the same steps using the steam exe and "BITS" worked, so maybe the cheat's been deactivated in tomb5?
Sorry, yes, I have removed it. I can bring it back on next release, and maybe move the cheats (minus dozy) to the inventory, just like TR4 had them? (Without the “face north” restriction, ofc. yucky)
What do you guys think?

And, I’m glad it’s working now for you Seth.
__________________
Call me Troye :)
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-21, 10:28   #140
ATombRaiderFan
Historian
 
ATombRaiderFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post
Sorry, yes, I have removed it. I can bring it back on next release, and maybe move the cheats (minus dozy) to the inventory, just like TR4 had them? (Without the “face north” restriction, ofc. yucky)
What do you guys think?
Ah no problem and yes please, it would be good to get the BITS cheat back if it's not too much trouble. Also adding most cheats to inventory instead of gameplay does sound like a good idea too.
ATombRaiderFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.