www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Modding > XNALara

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-07-11, 18:02   #101
mariokart64n
Historian
 
mariokart64n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 339
Default

i created a model with more then 59 bones to a single mesh, and xnalara returns a different error

something like model has more then 59bones (xxx bones) skipping model

... so that is actually the 59bone limit error.

that means the error I've got before failed to int is something entirely different.
__________________
No Swearing/Spaming/Trolling/Flaming/Advertising/Warez/Alts/Sigs/Quoting/Linking
mariokart64n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:05   #102
rexil
Professor
 
rexil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bobolendo
Posts: 3,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariokart64n View Post
i created a model with more then 59 bones to a single mesh, and xnalara returns a different error

something like model has more then 59bones (xxx bones) skipping model

... so that is actually the 59bone limit error.

that means the error I've got before failed to int is something entirely different.
I still think it's some kind of problem with the armature of those models.
rexil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:24   #103
mariokart64n
Historian
 
mariokart64n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 339
Default

HA its a ****ing typo!

when I made the script into the GUI I added a few new features. one of which was to use mesh names instead of material names..

well if you have a look at the mesh names on IVY there like ivy_clothes_obj_low_etc..

for the generic item spec any underscore "_" denotes a new entry of data..

so the error I was getting about failing to int the model was related to a bad generic_item file

all I had to do was disable the mesh names, which it was originally in the first script. but that got accidentally chanaged from true to false through testing...

I just changed it back from false to true and it exported fine with no problems.

I'll still make a video addressing SC4 porting, just to get people unstuck on the SC4 stuff
__________________
No Swearing/Spaming/Trolling/Flaming/Advertising/Warez/Alts/Sigs/Quoting/Linking

Last edited by EscondeR; 01-08-11 at 11:14. Reason: Censor circumvention
mariokart64n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:26   #104
Love2Raid
Tomb Raider
 
Love2Raid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexil View Post
59 is the limit for each mesh part, I have converted models with over 200 bones, I just had to divide those parts with over 59 bones and they will work correctly.
Unused bones don't count right?
I suppose 'true' unused ones don't count (when the vertex group has zero weight, so it doesn't even do anything) indeed.

Xianghua loaded in XNALara without her jacket, since that has 62 bones:



So I would need to split that jacket up in 2 halves (left and right) and then she would import fully.

Edit:

Oh.
^_^
__________________
Itís just an opinion, you donít have to agree. Į\_(ツ)_/Į

Last edited by Love2Raid; 31-07-11 at 18:31.
Love2Raid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:31   #105
mariokart64n
Historian
 
mariokart64n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 339
Default

I don't believe splitting is even needed.

I know theres a limit there.. and all

but I just did a ton of testing.. and models usually won't push more then 40.. its still possible to hit that limit though.

but with the SC4 models I don't think thats a problem.

if you have a problematic model send it my way so I can properly determine a solution.

I'll be making a video guide to address SC4 porting for 3dsmax soon
__________________
No Swearing/Spaming/Trolling/Flaming/Advertising/Warez/Alts/Sigs/Quoting/Linking
mariokart64n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:35   #106
Love2Raid
Tomb Raider
 
Love2Raid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20,660
Default

Usually not, indeed. But sometimes they do (long coats and dresses etc.) and splitting is then the best way to handle it.

Cool, I will. Thanks again, I'll wait for the video.
__________________
Itís just an opinion, you donít have to agree. Į\_(ツ)_/Į
Love2Raid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:38   #107
mariokart64n
Historian
 
mariokart64n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 339
Default

even though I don't have a model that has more then 59, I'll so how to do a split in max.
__________________
No Swearing/Spaming/Trolling/Flaming/Advertising/Warez/Alts/Sigs/Quoting/Linking
mariokart64n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:43   #108
Love2Raid
Tomb Raider
 
Love2Raid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20,660
Default

Awesome!
__________________
Itís just an opinion, you donít have to agree. Į\_(ツ)_/Į
Love2Raid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 18:53   #109
KamilM_93
Relic Hunter
 
KamilM_93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Here
Posts: 7,755
Default

Wow mario ! You quickly found the cause of the error !
KamilM_93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 21:34   #110
Lilacatz
Student
 
Lilacatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Internet
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariokart64n View Post
its like riding a bike you never forget.. but just as riding a bike the learning curve lays in the amount of courage you have to push forward.

3dsmax's layout is not user friendly, but once understood becomes very easy.

in otherwords give it ago, if you fall off you can either choose to get back up, or walk a way. you can only gain from the experience experience... that of which can be applied to any editing software.

Very well then. I'll give it a try.
I wan't to contribute into the XNAlara community.
Lilacatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 17:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.