www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider II

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-12-18, 23:35   #411
Trap_One3
Hobbyist
 
Trap_One3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 20
Default

Does anyone has a solution to not working FMV's? i've done everything the tutorial says but when i open the game using peixoto's tool i hear a windows error message and there is no video playback but i do hear the sound of the cutscenes.
Trap_One3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-18, 03:59   #412
dgo6
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Default FMV Playback Problems

Hey guys, I have the exact same problem as Trap_One3. I believe I’ve tried all the listed solutions both in Steam forums and Peixoto’s Help application. I even tried downloading the K-lite codec pack to play around with the H.264 settings and changed the “Use Merit” to “LAV Video” on both x32 and x64 (alternating them and both on the same option). I tried turning off antialiasing from Nvidia’s control panel but to no avail. I also tried pasting both the .bik and .mp4 files in the FMV at the same time but still got a black screen. I also tried different combinations of the Help application options and playing around with the scaling but was still met with a black screen. I also just updated the graphics driver. (The .rpl files are still in the FMV folder. I haven't removed them.)

The game seems to run perfectly fine as far as gameplay is concerned. It’s just the high quality FMVs that do not run. For some reason I can only hear the LOGO FMV sound and occasionally the ANCIENT FMV sound (I haven’t pinpointed why it sometimes pops up). The following are my specs and the CMD like log that appears when running the Help application for TR2. Let me know if you need anything else. Any help is greatly appreciated!


Quote:
Specs:

OS: Windows 7
Processor: Intel Core i7
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Native Res: 4k

SYSTEM:
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 17134) (17134.rs4_release.180410-1804)
BIOS: 2202 (type: UEFI)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16312MB RAM
DirectX Version: DirectX 12
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 216 DPI (225 percent)
System DPI Setting: 144 DPI (150 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Enabled
Miracast: Available, with HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported

GRAPHICS
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Type: Full Device (POST)
Display Memory: 16234 MB
Dedicated Memory: 8079 MB
Shared Memory: 8155 MB
Current Mode: 3840 x 2160 (32 bit) (60Hz)
HDR Support: Not Supported
Display Topology: Internal
Display Color Space: DXGI_COLOR_SPACE_RGB_FULL_G22_NONE_P709
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: ROG PG27AQ
Monitor Id: ACI27B3
Native Mode: 3840 x 2160(p) (59.997Hz)
Output Type: Displayport External
Monitor Capabilities: HDR Not Supported
Display Pixel Format: DISPLAYCONFIG_PIXELFORMAT_32BPP
Advanced Color: Not Supported
Power P-states: Not Supported
Virtualization: Paravirtualization
Block List: No Blocks
Catalog Attributes: Universal:False Declarative:False
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 12/10/2018 6:00:00 PM, 957800 bytes

Quote:
CMD-like log while the game is running and is at the title screen:

900
65536 2147418111
65536 2147418111
900
Peixotos's patch remote settings:
#args: setup
32bit: 1
;compatlayer: WinXPSP2
AF: 1
CompatLayer: HIGHDPIAWARE
D3D: 2
D3D_Driver: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_ dispi.inf_amd64_e7b3660b4830c245\nvldumd.dll
dshow: 1
error_log: D:\Users\Diego\Desktop\Peixoto\error.log
FMV: 1
GPad: A=1;B=2;X=3;Y=4;LEFT_SHOULDER=5;RIGHT_SHOULDER=6;b LeftTrigger=7;bRightTrigger=8;Start=9;Back=10;LEFT _THUMB=11;RIGHT_THUMB=12;deadzone=0.000000;
HBdr: 1
injector_dir: D:\Users\Diego\Desktop\Peixoto
J2K: u=False;a=Up,Down,Left,Right,end,alt,space,ctrl,de l,PgDn,shift,numpad0,esc,/,8,9,Up,Down,Left,Right;dz=0.25;
max_4x3_res: 2048x1536
modspath: D:\Users\Diego\Documents\Games\TombRaider2\mods
Mydocs: D:\Users\Diego\Documents
os_version: 10.000000
resolutions_list: 640x480 720x480 720x576 800x600 1024x768 1152x864 1280x720 1280x768 1280x800 1280x960 1280x1024 1360x768 1366x768 1600x900 1600x1024 1600x1200 1680x1050 1920x1080 1920x1200 1920x1440 2048x1536 2560x1440 2560x1600 3840x2160
script: Scripts\Tomb2.ahk
script_hwnd: 0x2509d8
singlecore: 1
target: D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Tomb Raider (II)\Tomb2.exe
target_dir: D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Tomb Raider (II)
target_name: Tomb2.exe
Textswap: path=Tomb2Fix\textures;samples=4;thumbnail=256;Nex t=];Prev=[;dump=p;Switch=i;color_switch=o;mips=0;Quick=;

CreateProcessA Hook: 0
CreateProcessW Hook: 0
Desktop 3840x2160
Direct3D user mode driver implemented in C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_ dispi.inf_amd64_e7b3660b4830c245\nvldumd.dll
OpenAdapter Hook 0
DDraw.dll : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DDRAW.dll
DirectDrawCreate Hook: 0
IDirectDraw2: 0:DDERR_OK
IDirectDraw4: 0:DDERR_OK
CoopLevel: 0:DDERR_OK
Surface4: 0:DDERR_OK
Surface3: 0:DDERR_OK
Surface2: 0:DDERR_OK
Surface: 0:DDERR_OK
Succeeded to create DirectDraw
Direct3D: 0:DDERR_OK
ViewPort: 0:DDERR_OK
Texture: 0:DDERR_OK
Direct3D2: 0:DDERR_OK
ViewPort2: 0:D3DERR_OK
Texture2: 0:DDERR_OK
Direct3D3: 0:DDERR_OK
ViewPort3: 0:D3DERR_OK
VertexBuffer: 0:D3DERR_OK
Device3: 0:DDERR_OK
IDirect3DDevice2: 0:DDERR_OK
Device: 0:DDERR_OK
Exec Buffer: 0:D3DERR_OK
Succeeded to create Direct3D
Succeeded to hook IDirectDraw2::CreateSurface
Succeeded to hook IDirectDraw::CreateSurface
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::restore
Succeeded to hook IDirect3DDevice2::EndScene
Succeeded to hook IDirect3D2::CreateDevice
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::Blt
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::Lock
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::UnLock
Succeeded to hook IDirect3DTexture2::GetHandle
Succeeded to hook IDirect3DTexture2::Release
Succeeded to hook IDirect3DTexture2::Load
Succeeded to hook IDirect3DDevice2::SetRenderState
Succeeded to hook IDirectDraw::SetDisplayMode
Succeeded to hook IDirectDraw2::SetDisplayMode
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::flip
Succeeded to hook IDirectDraw::GetDisplayMode
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::QueryInterface
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::GetPixelFormat
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::GetSurfaceDesc
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::GetDC
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::ReleaseDC
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::SetPalette
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawPalette::SetEntries
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawPalette::GetEntries
Succeeded to unhook IDirectDrawSurface::Lock
Succeeded to unhook IDirectDrawSurface::UnLock
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::Lock
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::UnLock
Succeeded to hook IDirectDrawSurface::Bltfast
Succeeded to hook IDirectDraw::SetCooperativeLevel
Succeeded to hook IDirectDraw2::SetCooperativeLevel
FileHooks 0
CreateFileA_Hook Hook : 0 <- 0 means no error
OpenFile: 0
Succeeded to hook IDirect3DDevice2::DrawPrimitive
IDirectDrawSurface::QueryInterface is already hooked
Method BeginScene is not hooked yet
Succeeded to hook IDirect3DDevice2::BeginScene
161:161:184
228:228:64
42:42:11
75:75:0
0:0:0
153:153:153
arrays 0xA1 0xA1
arrays 0xE4 0xE4
arrays 0x2A 0x2A
arrays 0x4B 0x4B
arrays 0x0 0x0
arrays 0x99 0x99
arrays 0xDB 0xDB
arrays 0x5 0x5
arrays 0xE4 0xE4
arrays 0x2A 0x2A
arrays 0x4B 0x4B
arrays 0x0 0x0
dgo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-18, 05:43   #413
Peixoto
Historian
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trap_One3 View Post
Does anyone has a solution to not working FMV's? i've done everything the tutorial says but when i open the game using peixoto's tool i hear a windows error message and there is no video playback but i do hear the sound of the cutscenes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgo6 View Post
Hey guys, I have the exact same problem as Trap_One3. I believe I’ve tried all the listed solutions both in Steam forums and Peixoto’s Help application. I even tried downloading the K-lite codec pack to play around with the H.264 settings and changed the “Use Merit” to “LAV Video” on both x32 and x64 (alternating them and both on the same option). I tried turning off antialiasing from Nvidia’s control panel but to no avail. I also tried pasting both the .bik and .mp4 files in the FMV at the same time but still got a black screen. I also tried different combinations of the Help application options and playing around with the scaling but was still met with a black screen. I also just updated the graphics driver. (The .rpl files are still in the FMV folder. I haven't removed them.)

The game seems to run perfectly fine as far as gameplay is concerned. It’s just the high quality FMVs that do not run. For some reason I can only hear the LOGO FMV sound and occasionally the ANCIENT FMV sound (I haven’t pinpointed why it sometimes pops up). The following are my specs and the CMD like log that appears when running the Help application for TR2. Let me know if you need anything else. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Try non exclusive fullscreen
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-18, 23:44   #414
dgo6
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Default

I have multiple times with all the solutions I tried. They gave no difference.
dgo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-18, 00:53   #415
dgo6
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Default I think I made it work!

Ok, I don't know if this was the actual reason but I finally see the FMVs (although not completely full screen but definitely in a nice, crisper, bigger size than the .rpl files)

It seems Windows defender was actively working against the patch. I restarted my computer, went into the Windows defender center's settings and turned off real-time protection. I then went to steam, reinstalled TR2 and re-extracted the patch into my desktop. I then started the game through the patch with the following settings enabled:

-Force Native Resolution
-Non-exclusive Fullscreen
-Anisotropic Filtering
-FMV Scale = 1


I had initially tried this before but it would not work. It wasn't until I turned off Windows Defender that I saw a difference. Perhaps all you need is to turn it off and not reinstall anything, but it doesn't take much time or effort to do the rest. Hope other people find this useful.

And to Peixoto, thank you so much for this amazing patch. Thanks to you, we can reexperience Lara's adventures. Thank you!
dgo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-19, 13:20   #416
Legends
Tomb Raider
 
Legends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18,089
Default

I've been trying to get Peixoto's patch to work with TR2 and TR3, but everytime I try to indicate a path I get an error. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I've followed all the steps and downloaded the multipatch. I use the Steam version.

Quote:
You will be asked to indicate where the game is located the 1st time you play it with the patch
The message I get after I've indicated the path is this:



"Specifically: System can't find the right file."

I've been trying to indicate the path with basically every file now, but nothing works and I'm too dumb to figure it out what I'm doing wrong for myself. Can anyone help? I've also been trying to get the texture swapping to work, but that seems impossible when I can't even indicate a path for the game.
Legends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-19, 21:33   #417
Peixoto
Historian
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legends View Post
I've been trying to get Peixoto's patch to work with TR2 and TR3, but everytime I try to indicate a path I get an error. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I've followed all the steps and downloaded the multipatch. I use the Steam version.



The message I get after I've indicated the path is this:



"Specifically: System can't find the right file."

I've been trying to indicate the path with basically every file now, but nothing works and I'm too dumb to figure it out what I'm doing wrong for myself. Can anyone help? I've also been trying to get the texture swapping to work, but that seems impossible when I can't even indicate a path for the game.
Your antivirus has deleted or quarantined injector.exe
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-19, 00:50   #418
Legends
Tomb Raider
 
Legends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peixoto View Post
Your antivirus has deleted or quarantined injector.exe
Thank you, I'm at least one step closer. I restored the injector.exe, but now I get this error after I've indicated a path for TR2:

Legends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-19, 11:35   #419
Peixoto
Historian
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legends View Post
Thank you, I'm at least one step closer. I restored the injector.exe, but now I get this error after I've indicated a path for TR2:

Close it with the task manager and try again. Have you added it to the exclusions list? It may be necessary to disable your AV altogether to run the patch, unfortunately

Last edited by Peixoto; 02-01-19 at 11:42.
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-19, 19:43   #420
Legends
Tomb Raider
 
Legends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peixoto View Post
Close it with the task manager and try again. Have you added it to the exclusions list? It may be necessary to disable your AV altogether to run the patch, unfortunately
I've closed it with the task manager and tried again several times, but still nothing changed. Yes, I added it to the exclusion list. Both the injector.exe and the entire Peixoto folder with all it's content. I also tried to disable my AV, but that didn't change anything either. (I'm not a 100% sure I disabled my AV correctly, so I'm gonna check out those settings some more)

When I try to run TR3 I get this error which is different from the TR2 error.



edit: I'm on Windows 10 64 bit, if that matters at all.

Last edited by Legends; 02-01-19 at 19:45.
Legends is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 14:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.