www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-01-20, 16:58   #19661
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,074
Default

Neither TREP nor TRNG fully fix it, there can be issues with savegames and spawned objects. If you'll decide to use more than 256 objects anyway, generally I would recommend keeping all important moveables, such as enemies, doors, traps, keyholes, flame emitters among first 256 ones, then you can add animatings, pickups, nullmeshes such as lara start pos/waterfalls/etc. In this case you'll have less chances to run into any problems.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-20, 17:12   #19662
Kevin
Explorer
 
Kevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 615
Default

Obviously I can only speak from my experience but I just checked my previous 3 levels. All of them had between 350 and 750 Moveables and I never had any issue. Apart from the flame disappearing from the torch when not in Lara's Hand but that is just a visual bug.

Having the important objects under the first 256 is a good tip, though.
Will keep that in mind.
Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-20, 17:24   #19663
LaraCablara
Professor
 
LaraCablara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,207
Default

The problem I have is that when I go above 256, if I throw the torch away, the flame attaches to Lara's butt and does not go away unless I hold the torch the entire time . It looks very ugly so I have no choice but to stick to below 256.
LaraCablara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-20, 17:41   #19664
Kevin
Explorer
 
Kevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 615
Default

It usually attaches itself to a specific object id. Delete Lara from your map and place her again later to get a different object ID for Lara. This way the flame will attach itself to a different object (with some trial and error you can make it attach to a moveable that is not visible to the player).
Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-20, 18:04   #19665
LaraCablara
Professor
 
LaraCablara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
It usually attaches itself to a specific object id. Delete Lara from your map and place her again later to get a different object ID for Lara. This way the flame will attach itself to a different object (with some trial and error you can make it attach to a moveable that is not visible to the player).
I sure wish I knew this before I went on a redesign spree
LaraCablara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-20, 21:28   #19666
Songe
Hobbyist
 
Songe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkyV View Post
With flipeffect "Sound (CD)" triggers to play simply choose "loop" in the trigger parameters.
Using old CD trigger in TRNG - you can't.
Thank you! There was an old dll in the TRNG folder that needed to be updated, but now I think I got it right.
__________________
Lara Croft: No house in prospect but the tomb.
Songe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-20, 03:36   #19667
SebCroc
Historian
 
SebCroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 393
Default

Does the engine do some kind of coarse unit-rounding when it comes to animations? I'm trying to fix a subtle issue: where Lara's feet/hands are supposed to be planted on a surface, they "jiggle" a tiny bit. This appeared to be a problem in the animations themselves, so I've been trying to fix it there.

I noticed that when I significantly reduced the jiggle to be practically indiscernible to the eye (in preview), in-game it was magnified to the point where it appeared as though nothing had been done. I was kind of on my way until I noticed this. Assumption: are the tiny movements straddling a unit-rounding edge? Is the reason behind this linked to why the camera wobbles during cutscenes?

Getting the feet perfectly stationary doesn't actually improve anything. Would I have to counter the root bone's movement (pelvis) with an impossible level of precision?
__________________
Braids please :)
SebCroc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-20, 04:06   #19668
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,074
Default

The reason behind that is Core almost universally used integer arithmetics in TR4 engine, including bone rotations and translations. The jiggle you see is rounding errors. Unfortunately, there's no way to fix that.

Problem was fixed in TR5 engine by introducing floating-point values for rotation and translation, and subsequently it will be fixed as well in forthcoming TR5Main engine.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-20, 04:40   #19669
SebCroc
Historian
 
SebCroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwmte View Post
subsequently it will be fixed as well in forthcoming TR5Main engine.
TR5Main, our saving grace. My adjustments won't be going to waste after all. I shall continue with confidence.

Interesting points, thank you for the explanation.
__________________
Braids please :)
SebCroc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-20, 22:12   #19670
GabrielCroft
Archaeologist
 
GabrielCroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,278
Default

Is underwater switch capable of timed triggers? Because I'm trying to add two timed trapdoors: I added their respective triggers along with the timed switch trigger, but I tested it and Lara can only activate the switch twice, no more after that.
__________________
Team Classic: We want our classic Lara Croft back!
GabrielCroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.