www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider II

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-12-17, 05:04   #61
Arsunt
Student
 
Arsunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahPilko View Post
Looks great, Arsunt! Fantastic job!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardoc View Post
These scalable health/air bars and pickup notifiers rock!
Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahPilko View Post
Not a fan of the automatic FOV though, I do prefer playing with default Maybe because I have widescreen patch, but I only adjusted the resolution to 16:9 - no FOV or camera distance adjustment made.
Original behaviour is obviously the bug. But may be I'll add FOV correction option. Anyway FOV must be based on vertical sreen size, not on horizontal like in the original version.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahPilko View Post
Loving the scaled health and oxygen bars!
There will come option to make them PlayStation gradient style! It looks even cooler.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahPilko View Post
Screenshots works and saves to folder, but all screens just show a plain pink box.
Hmm, what Windows version? What display mode? Do you use dgVoodoo or other wrappers? If yes, try to disable them and try to make screenshot again. Could you make PCX screenshot with Software renderer (8 bit graphics) option too please?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardoc View Post
The music solution I have uses flac files. Were you planning to support these? Just curious, because I can see mp3 support is coming.
Yeah, but mp3 first, because of Steam native audio support (the Steam just stealed PaulD audio solution with no credits to him)
__________________
To seek. To learn. To do. (C) Quest for Glory
Arsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-17, 07:38   #62
SLAYER
Archaeologist
 
SLAYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jordan
Posts: 2,158
Default

I'm getting this error:

Render init failed with "createzbuffer"

Disabling z buffer fixes it, but I'd rather not have the glitches. This doesn't happen with the Steam version.
__________________
Right now, I'm losing patience
SLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-17, 09:43   #63
SarahPilko
Historian
 
SarahPilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Area 51
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsunt View Post
Thanks!

Original behaviour is obviously the bug. But may be I'll add FOV correction option. Anyway FOV must be based on vertical sreen size, not on horizontal like in the original version.

There will come option to make them PlayStation gradient style! It looks even cooler.

Hmm, what Windows version? What display mode? Do you use dgVoodoo or other wrappers? If yes, try to disable them and try to make screenshot again. Could you make PCX screenshot with Software renderer (8 bit graphics) option too please?
Oh I didn't know that, it is just that I am used to the default FOV on PS and PC

I know, I can't wait! Any plans for other effects like the PS gun flare and underwater effect in the future?

I use Windows 10 64 bit. I don't use any wrappers. I tried modified (removed low ceiling bug and music) and default Steam versions.

I changed the graphics to Software renderer and PCX format works! Shame no windowed mode though and the game screen gets stuck and flickers like crazy when I minimise the game haha. Hope this helps!
SarahPilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-17, 17:45   #64
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,567
Default

Seems like I won't be able to test it with my version of the game. I have a peculiar TR2+Gold version that works without CD and has its own executable.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/90buo4...4u/Tomb2gt.exe

This is the exe I have. I'll check if I don't have another TR2 disc but I think that's the only one I've got.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-17, 21:26   #65
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 9,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLAYER View Post
I'm getting this error:

Render init failed with "createzbuffer"

Disabling z buffer fixes it, but I'd rather not have the glitches. This doesn't happen with the Steam version.
I have the same problem, when I click Test in Setup window, it already says there was a problem with the Z Buffer, then when I try to run nevertheless, I get the error Render init failed with "CreateZBuffer".


Also, it's worth noting the patched version is a no-CD version exe.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-17, 22:04   #66
VictorXD
Relic Hunter
 
VictorXD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ♓︎ Venus ♓︎
Posts: 9,126
Default

Everything seems to be working perfectly for me I even used Peixoto's patch with the exe for HD textures.

Thanks so much for this Arsunt
__________________
Persecution to all non Luds Gate believers may God's wrath fall upon you sinners
VictorXD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-17, 13:44   #67
annl
Archaeologist
 
annl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: In my bedroom (most likely).
Posts: 1,392
Default

Works great for me Arsunt! I'm using Peixoto's injector with DgVoodoo2 and Reshade.

Edit: Oh and my resolution is 1360 x 768 (720p), because I use a 32 inch TV.
__________________
Mods: TR1 Sound Overhaul, TR2 Remixed, TR3 Transformed and TR4 HD.

Last edited by annl; 30-12-17 at 13:45.
annl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-17, 17:48   #68
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,505
Thumbs up

I have tried this patch with my released TR2 levelset! To get it working i also had to disable z-buffer in the options.

It is working great, though i didn't fully play it, just for a while. I really like the scaling and aspect ratio, looks gorgeous in 1080p, which i haven't used in the past because of the tiny health/oxigen bars and the pickup sprites. But you fixed that! The music is working fine with the winmm.dll and .wma files method, also the low ceiling collision works perfect afaik.
One thing i don't like much is that the camera seems a bit too far away from Lara's back, specially when drawing weapons.

Here's two images in native 1080p resolution, one to see how good it looks with the scaled health bar and the other for the secret sprites in the statistics which are wonderfully scaled now: https://imgur.com/a/WeTa7

One strange thing is that when exiting the game, Windows 7 throws a tomb2.exe crash related to "ntdll.dll".
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-17, 21:27   #69
Kirishima
Explorer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
The music is working fine with the winmm.dll and .wma files method
That's funny, I can't get that part working. I'm on Windows 10, however...(EDIT: NEVERMIND, patch below seems to have fixed this)

Also, is Mipmapping/Anisotropic Filtering unfinished? The game looks like it's trying to do that with various textures becoming unfiltered/pixelated when looking at surfaces from certain angles.

Last edited by Kirishima; 30-12-17 at 22:05.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-17, 21:38   #70
Arsunt
Student
 
Arsunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 183
Default

Patch is updated, there are bugfixes mainly. You can download here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLAYER View Post
Render init failed with "createzbuffer"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustie View Post
I have the same problem, when I click Test in Setup window, it already says there was a problem with the Z Buffer, then when I try to run nevertheless, I get the error Render init failed with "CreateZBuffer".
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
I have tried this patch with my released TR2 levelset! To get it working i also had to disable z-buffer in the options.
The original code had the following priority of the Z-buffer depth: 16/24/32/8 bit. Game used 16 bit ZBuffer if it is available. I'd tried to change the priority to 32/24/16/8 bit, but it seems that this gives DX5 error on newer systems. So I reverted the priority to original one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustie View Post
Also, it's worth noting the patched version is a no-CD version exe.
In fact, it is not entirely true that the EXE is NoCD patched. Technically, the logic of NoCD using/unusing is controlled by DLL (CD_Init / GetFullPath), and can be disabled when building a DLL (comment/delete FEATURE_NOCD_DATA). 99.9% of the things that the patch does actually contained in the DLL. EXE itself contains only changes that give the DLL the permission to make any changes of the whole game code at launch. But thanks, I'll note that default patch behavior is NoCD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahPilko View Post
Oh I didn't know that, it is just that I am used to the default FOV on PS and PC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
One thing i don't like much is that the camera seems a bit too far away from Lara's back, specially when drawing weapons.
The formula works as expected, expanding the areas to the left and right, but not changing the vertical viewing angle. But I'll add the ability to adjust the view ratio. For example, you could do fov the same as on the PS. There is a basic screen resolution of 320x224 (not 320x240), so the values are slightly different. By the way, there is original game resolution (640x480) fov and ultra wide resoltion (1280x480) fov on screenshots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahPilko View Post
Any plans for other effects like the PS gun flare and underwater effect in the future?
Yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesum View Post
Seems like I won't be able to test it with my version of the game. I have a peculiar TR2+Gold version that works without CD and has its own executable.
You have "original" and "gold" directories there. Just copy my DLL+EXE and all DLL files from your root game directory there and launch. Though CD tracks won't work for you OOB, this version has no support of .vag files. But try this audio pack. Also both Steam/Gog versions should work fine with tracks now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VictorXD View Post
I even used Peixoto's patch with the exe for HD textures.
Quote:
Originally Posted by annl View Post
I'm using Peixoto's injector with DgVoodoo2 and Reshade.
In 2018 all those features will be supported out of the box without need of other patchers/wrappers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
One strange thing is that when exiting the game, Windows 7 throws a tomb2.exe crash related to "ntdll.dll".
Just tried to fix it in the last patch. Very strange floating bug with MCI_CLOSE command.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirishima View Post
Also, is Mipmapping/Anisotropic Filtering unfinished? The game looks like it's trying to do that with various textures becoming unfiltered/pixelated when looking at surfaces from certain angles.
Not yet. But will be. I want to test original DirectX5 functionality first. After that I'll port the game to DX9.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VictorXD View Post
Thanks so much for this Arsunt
Quote:
Originally Posted by annl View Post
Works great for me Arsunt!
You're welcome!

Thank you everyone for your feedback. This is very important! Together we can make this game flawless!

What's new:
  • Fixed original game bug with conflicting default/custom keyboard layouts. For example if you set Space to jump, then relaunch the game, you get draw weapons at jump until you visit controls settings. This was fixed.
  • My bug with ZBuffer fixed.
  • In-game screenshot key is set to Backspace now (not PrintScreen anymore because of some issues). Now windowed screenshot captures window client area, not whole screen. Though windowed screenshots don't work properly on newer systems. This will be fixed, also I will change legacy PCX/TGA format to PNG. I will make Date/Time filename instead of sequence number.
  • Few bugs with CD Audio fixed
  • Implemented PaulD CD Audio solution, used now by Steam (cdaudio.mp3)
__________________
To seek. To learn. To do. (C) Quest for Glory

Last edited by Arsunt; 31-12-17 at 08:47.
Arsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.