www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-20, 22:17   #18861
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 7,432
Default

New transitions.. new textures for the Bridge exterior cavern.
Now featuring the correct colour to match the orange metal on the outside (instead of reusing the interior windows again)
Had to make some new sand and rust/rock transitions to match the change in geometry to some areas to avoid cracks in the game world.

EDIT : Altered some textures and made some more transitions to fix issues - this is as good as I can get it using the original TGA set.
Think you'll all agree its miles ahead of the original TR2 version which had some awful stretched textures and mismatched ones..
Feels more organic now I feel - metal eroding into the rock etc




This is the original TR2 so you guys can reference it:


As much as I wanted to keep it exactly like TR2, I had to take some creative liberties in order to avoid glitches.. and once I made one transition, it meant I needed some more to make it all fit together nicely (TR3 and 4 did this)
Mainly corner transitions and some straight edge ones too..
I feel that are in keeping with the original level though and TBF when playing the game, most players won't even notice

Originally I did fix the 'wonky' sloped window, but due to room geometry and not being able to split solid portals - I had to leave it as it was.

Last edited by dcw123; 07-05-20 at 18:26.
dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-20, 22:42   #18862
LCEF (CA)
Archaeologist
 
LCEF (CA)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France - Marseille
Posts: 1,030
Default

It's really faithful

the bridge is nice, but the upper part is maybe too repetitif where in TR2 it was less because the texture is more "flat". Maybe with the lighting you will see if some changes are needed or not
LCEF (CA) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-20, 00:09   #18863
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,425
Default

I've altered the lighting a little and this is the result.


The yellow may be too bright though
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-20, 11:27   #18864
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 7,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opaque79 View Post
I've altered the lighting a little and this is the result.
[img]https://i.imgur.com/IZUw20Q.png[img]

The yellow may be too bright though
Nahh.. I'd say thats perfect!
This is how TR3 was.. since the lighting is man made (actual lightbulbs in the building) they can be a lot brighter than say.. sunlight or beams of light rays etc

You could have areas with different colours too like TR3?
Reds, blues, purple etc etc

Last edited by AkyV; 08-05-20 at 11:32. Reason: Please, why do I need to tell many times that don't quote an image on the same page?
dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-20, 12:32   #18865
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,425
Default

I actually removed the green after and replaced it with blue
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-20, 15:45   #18866
egypt_gypsie
Professor
 
egypt_gypsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Staring directly into the sun.
Posts: 3,005
Default

I actually think the atmosphere in the first screen is much stronger with the green lighting
__________________
“Anderson, don’t talk out loud. You lower the IQ of the whole street.”
egypt_gypsie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-20, 23:02   #18867
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,425
Default

Tried altering it back but couldn't get the initial result I had but it's no big deal
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-20, 10:22   #18868
_TombExplorer_
Student
 
_TombExplorer_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 169
Default

I decided to get back to level building
Finally I managed to reach the end of my first level, just have to fix some bugs

Last edited by _TombExplorer_; 09-05-20 at 10:23.
_TombExplorer_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-20, 12:19   #18869
CheshireBitch
Archaeologist
 
CheshireBitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,627
Default

it's been a long time since I shared a screenshot, I've been working since november on a level set using TR5 Rome assets.
So here's a screenshot of a room inside the catacombs of Rome:



There's still a lot of work to do !!
CheshireBitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-20, 14:27   #18870
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 7,432
Default

Great work everyone..
Rome doesn't see a lot of levels from what I remember, so thats nice to see

More progress.. Might need to alter the camera so its higher

dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 00:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.