www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-22, 17:58   #1
Avalon SARL
Relic Hunter
 
Avalon SARL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 5,609
Default Tomb Raider 2 Textures Win 10

I have Win-10 home version

The game runs perfectly (installed through steam)l but the textures in the game are of lower quality.

How to fix them; I tried looking online, but I didn't find anything that easily explains what t do.

Any help
__________________
YEAH YEAH WHATEVER...
Avalon SARL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-22, 02:19   #2
perryloo
Explorer
 
perryloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Sunny UK
Posts: 578
Default

I have never dealt with steam, but on PC you can go to settings, and adjust resolution to suit your screen. I bet you are on a low resolution.

I assume on steam you can do the same, the path is... core design...setup tomb raider II, and you get the following window shown below to setup, set it up and hit OK.

perryloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-22, 18:38   #3
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 3,625
Default

^ Adding up on this, select Hardware instead of Software.
Software is completely done on the processor and will always be limited graphically, whereas hardware lets you have additional graphical features and more performance.

Additional features include Bilinear filtering, which smooths out the textures (so they don't look pixelated, which might be what you're describing).
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-22, 12:40   #4
Jathom95
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 1,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey79100 View Post
^ Adding up on this, select Hardware instead of Software.
Software is completely done on the processor and will always be limited graphically, whereas hardware lets you have additional graphical features and more performance.

Additional features include Bilinear filtering, which smooths out the textures (so they don't look pixelated, which might be what you're describing).
Yup, adding on to that - there's absolutely no reason to be using Software for any of the games nowadays. Back in the day the whole purpose of it was so you could run the game if you didn't have the best setup. Anything nowadays will run them decently, and Hardware is the way the game is intended to be played.
__________________
"Rodents, I wouldn't wonder. *Big* rodents."
Jathom95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-22, 18:09   #5
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jathom95 View Post
Yup, adding on to that - there's absolutely no reason to be using Software for any of the games nowadays. Back in the day the whole purpose of it was so you could run the game if you didn't have the best setup. Anything nowadays will run them decently, and Hardware is the way the game is intended to be played.
What can one do in instances where you cannot select Hardware mode? I've spoke with 3 people recently who are locked out from selecting Hardware mode in TR2. I've never had this issue myself (neither have I had to use dgVoodoo which they're using or had used) so I'm unsure what to advise. Any ideas?
__________________
IronFistLaw75
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-22, 10:36   #6
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,626
Default

first of all to circumvent that
I'd suggest they run setup at the command prompt
setting the parameter as
Quote:
tomb2.exe -setup
if the executable isn't called tomb2 change it to reflect the local name of the .exe
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-22, 12:19   #7
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gidierre View Post
first of all to circumvent that
I'd suggest they run setup at the command prompt
setting the parameter as tomb2.exe -setup
Are you referring to the usual Tomb2 setup dialog as shown above? If so, this was the first thing I advised them to do (adding -setup parameter via shortcut) but they cannot select hardware mode for whatever reason.

I've read that if you don't have a secondary (integrated) graphics card to choose from in the setup, it could potentially disable the hardware mode option due to modern graphics cards being to "new" for classic TR. Is there any truth to this?

I've suggested TR2Main (without dgVoodoo) to those with this issue, but I'm not sure if they've set things up correctly. One of them mentions having Intel UHD Graphics 620, yet they can only select dgVoodoo from the Tomb2 setup...
__________________
IronFistLaw75
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-22, 13:18   #8
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laravision View Post
Are you referring to the usual Tomb2 setup dialog as shown above? If so, this was the first thing I advised them to do
that's exactly what I was talking about

Quote:
Originally Posted by laravision View Post
I've read that if you don't have a secondary (integrated) graphics card to choose from in the setup, it could potentially disable the hardware mode option due to modern graphics cards being to "new" for classic TR. Is there any truth to this?
not sure, but certainly it does sound like something unreasonably reasonable for the 1997 setup to come up with
like soundblaster soundcard emulation is in order (at least for TRI) the moment your soundcard is anything but soundblasterlike...
and that's just when conjuring up a wrapper entity comes in handy

dgVoodoo is one and supposedly will do the trick, insofar as one's card real vs. virtual type doesn't even matter anymore

I have never used that around TRII myself though

I guess their best option would be to ask directly from Dege (dgVoodoo's maker) whose advice usually comes fast and pretty useful.
Judging by
http://dege.freeweb.hu/Galleries/DXGamesGallery.html
it would seem 100% compatible.
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.

Last edited by gidierre; 19-05-22 at 13:24.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.